Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Feature Requests

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-18-2017, 06:11 AM   #41
MRMJP
Human being with feelings
 
MRMJP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Posts: 1,339
Default

SWS is thankfully updated but I think REAPER could natively add LUFS and RMS normalization for items.

Especially for setting up new mastering projects, it would be so useful to normalize each item in a project to a certain LUFS or RMS level so all the songs are at an even starting point.
__________________
MacOS 10.12.6 - iMac 3.5GHz Quad i7 - 32GB RAM - SSD for OS and audio
http://www.mysteryroommastering.com/ - http://www.justincarlperkins.com/
MRMJP is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2017, 06:35 AM   #42
Vagalume
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 226
Default

I don't really find this urgent or "a priority".
Vagalume is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2017, 10:07 AM   #43
Luster
Human being with feelings
 
Luster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 364
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vagalume View Post
I don't really find this urgent or "a priority".
Yeah, well. That's you. Others find it important. Me too. You know - the more advanced normalize features brought with the SWS extension are kind of buggy/unreliable.
Luster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2017, 10:21 AM   #44
MRMJP
Human being with feelings
 
MRMJP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Posts: 1,339
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luster View Post
the more advanced normalize features brought with the SWS extension are kind of buggy/unreliable.
True. I haven't spent that much time with the recent SWS update or the 2.9.0.0 beta but I would regularly get a seemingly random items that would normalize to an insanely loud level while the other dozen or so similar items normalize correctly.

I don't know if it's been resolved but native REAPER LUFS item normalize would be so nice to see.

I give ZERO shits about MIDI and (most) automation improvements which we've seen a lot of lately but I'm not out there telling them it's not important.
__________________
MacOS 10.12.6 - iMac 3.5GHz Quad i7 - 32GB RAM - SSD for OS and audio
http://www.mysteryroommastering.com/ - http://www.justincarlperkins.com/
MRMJP is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 04:11 PM   #45
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: City
Posts: 9,755
Default

How long were those items that you normalized ?

And nice to hear there's a new beta.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 04:54 PM   #46
MRMJP
Human being with feelings
 
MRMJP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Posts: 1,339
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by airon View Post
How long were those items that you normalized ?

And nice to hear there's a new beta.
A great question. Next time it happens I'll make note of all the file attributes and see if there is a noticeable reason why.
__________________
MacOS 10.12.6 - iMac 3.5GHz Quad i7 - 32GB RAM - SSD for OS and audio
http://www.mysteryroommastering.com/ - http://www.justincarlperkins.com/
MRMJP is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 02:31 AM   #47
Travesty
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 201
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MRMJP View Post
Here's a screen shot of where the SWS normalize option decided to boost one item by +71dB.

As you can see it's a big blob, and I can't detect anything weird about the file that would trigger such a false analysis and cause a 71dB boost.

I really think that if REAPER natively had some loudness normalization for items it would be HUGE deal.
I see this bug probably once a day.

It stops me from being confident in batching lots of files. It's great having this functionality in reaper, but it needs to be as reliable as something like soundforge or rx5.
Travesty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 02:32 AM   #48
Travesty
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 201
Default

Usually happens with files less than 400ms.
Travesty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2017, 04:52 AM   #49
MRMJP
Human being with feelings
 
MRMJP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Posts: 1,339
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Travesty View Post
I see this bug probably once a day.

It stops me from being confident in batching lots of files. It's great having this functionality in reaper, but it needs to be as reliable as something like soundforge or rx5.
Thanks for the reminder that I posted this screen shot. I can see there being a problem with files less than 400ms maybe but all my files are at least a couple minutes. I never have a file less than 1 second ever as I'm always working with full songs for mastering.

It does look like the file in my screen shot might be the longest of the bunch but it's hard to say just how long it is...4 or 5 minutes roughly I'd imaging.

Sure would be nice if REAPER natively added LUFS normalization for selected items and it was more reliable than the SWS RMS normalization
__________________
MacOS 10.12.6 - iMac 3.5GHz Quad i7 - 32GB RAM - SSD for OS and audio
http://www.mysteryroommastering.com/ - http://www.justincarlperkins.com/
MRMJP is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2017, 10:01 AM   #50
MRMJP
Human being with feelings
 
MRMJP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Posts: 1,339
Default

Thanks to nofish, this is no longer needed and now available in ReaPack.
__________________
MacOS 10.12.6 - iMac 3.5GHz Quad i7 - 32GB RAM - SSD for OS and audio
http://www.mysteryroommastering.com/ - http://www.justincarlperkins.com/
MRMJP is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2017, 01:47 PM   #51
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 411
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MRMJP View Post
Thanks to nofish, this is no longer needed and now available in ReaPack.
I cant seem to find it? Does it differ from the SWS functionality wise at all?
mlprod is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2017, 02:18 PM   #52
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 7,303
Default

My repository isn't enabled by default in ReaPack, so it must be imported first.

https://github.com/cfillion/reapack/...t-a-repository

(the import URL is linked in my sig.)

It differs from SWS functionality in that my scripts normalize to LUFS short term max, as opposed to the SWS actions which normalize to LUFS integrated.

Last edited by nofish; 09-10-2017 at 02:26 PM.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2017, 02:40 PM   #53
MRMJP
Human being with feelings
 
MRMJP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Posts: 1,339
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post

It differs from SWS functionality in that my scripts normalize to LUFS short term max, as opposed to the SWS actions which normalize to LUFS integrated.
Yeah. The beauty of this script is that it helps get the loudest sections of each song to be the same level BEFORE any mastering processing. Lots of the normalizing stuff is focused on normalizing for final delivery to broadcast spec etc., but I have been using the SWS RMS short term normalize and now this Short Term Max LUFS to set up mastering sessions before my processing.

It's a quick way to get all songs on the same page, or close to it and then fine tune by ear. This way the songs hit my analog gear at an optimal level and it makes the mastering process easier overall.

In these cases, I don't want the integrated LUFS of the entire item, I want the Max Short Term sections to be all the same. It's a bit more natural to the ear, especially when you have some songs with wide dynamic range and some not.
__________________
MacOS 10.12.6 - iMac 3.5GHz Quad i7 - 32GB RAM - SSD for OS and audio
http://www.mysteryroommastering.com/ - http://www.justincarlperkins.com/
MRMJP is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2017, 02:48 PM   #54
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 411
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
My repository isn't enabled by default in ReaPack, so it must be imported first.

https://github.com/cfillion/reapack/...t-a-repository

(the import URL is linked in my sig.)

It differs from SWS functionality in that my scripts normalize to LUFS short term max, as opposed to the SWS actions which normalize to LUFS integrated.
Ok thanks!
mlprod is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2017, 06:44 AM   #55
SubbaseDnB
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 87
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
My repository isn't enabled by default in ReaPack, so it must be imported first.

https://github.com/cfillion/reapack/...t-a-repository

(the import URL is linked in my sig.)

It differs from SWS functionality in that my scripts normalize to LUFS short term max, as opposed to the SWS actions which normalize to LUFS integrated.
just tried this script on some drum loops ,but it seems the channels gets automuted when applying this scrpt?


NO WORRIES

Found out it only does that with very short samples,i just tried it on a single drum loop,just to see how it works.and it automuted.it works fine with full mixies(as Intended)

Last edited by SubbaseDnB; 09-11-2017 at 07:17 AM.
SubbaseDnB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2017, 08:43 AM   #56
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 7,303
Default

Yeah, that's written in the 'About' of this script in ReaPack.

Quote:
Note: 'Short term loudness' uses a time window of 3 sec. for analysis, so items shorter than this can't be analyzed / normalized correctly.
Besides, particularly spikey material (such as drum loops) might lead to unexpected results, it's more suited for full mixes indeed as you say.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2017, 06:03 AM   #57
Travesty
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 201
Default

@nofish

Can your script be modified to normalise to max momentary without too much bother?

We find that max momentary is the only one that can be used for individual sound effects
Travesty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2017, 07:40 AM   #58
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 7,303
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Travesty View Post
@nofish

Can your script be modified to normalise to max momentary without too much bother?

We find that max momentary is the only one that can be used for individual sound effects
Yes, will upload a version that normalizes to max momentary to ReaPack soon.

edit:
Now added.

Last edited by nofish; 09-13-2017 at 02:27 PM.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2017, 04:15 AM   #59
Travesty
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 201
Default

Wow, thanks! I look forward to checking that out
Travesty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2017, 06:48 AM   #60
Travesty
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 201
Default

@Nofish

Works great for samples longer than 400ms

Below 400ms you get crazy results, as with most other tools.

One method I have see before (Alto does this to get an integrated value) is to loop the files beyond 400ms, do the analysis, restore the length and then apply the gain change. So maybe something like that could help.

In any case, this will save us a lot of time even as it is. Thanks
Travesty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2017, 07:13 AM   #61
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 7,303
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Travesty View Post
@Nofish

Works great for samples longer than 400ms

Below 400ms you get crazy results, as with most other tools.
Yes, to be expected as max momentary uses a time window of 400 ms for analysis.

Quote:
One method I have see before (Alto does this to get an integrated value) is to loop the files beyond 400ms, do the analysis, restore the length and then apply the gain change. So maybe something like that could help.
Nice idea, but as it's something I don't need personally I'd leave this to other scripters, sorry.

Glad though it's of some help as is also.

edit:
This reminds me, I've written in the About section in ReaPack already that analyzing of files shorter than 400 ms (in case of max momentary) is not possible but I should also handle this in the script itself that crazy results like applying +100 dB gain (ouch !) don't happen.
Update will come...

edit2:
updated in ReaPack.

Last edited by nofish; 09-14-2017 at 08:39 AM.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2017, 09:58 AM   #62
RJHollins
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,124
Default

hopefully not off topic ...

but would it be possible [or is it], to do level measurement/adjustment of just a 'selection' section of a waveform [item] ?
RJHollins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2017, 08:24 AM   #63
Travesty
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 201
Default

Thanks nofish, I can probably write a macro that extends them by 400ms first, you've done the hard part.
Travesty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2017, 08:42 AM   #64
Travesty
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 201
Default

Is there a way to auto exit the console output at the end?
Travesty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2017, 09:11 AM   #65
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 7,303
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Travesty View Post
Is there a way to auto exit the console output at the end?
You mean close the console automatically when done ?
If yes, doesn't seem so
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=48449

You can disable the console output completely directly in the script though if that helps.

Code:
-- USER CONFIG AREA -----------------------------------------------------------

showInfo = true -- true/false: display info / progress in cosole

------------------------------------------------------- END OF USER CONFIG AREA
Look for this section and replace 'true' with 'false' there. Then save the script (Ctrl + S while the ReaScript IDE is in focus).

edit:
Spotted a typo there uh.

Last edited by nofish; 09-18-2017 at 10:35 AM.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2017, 02:59 AM   #66
Travesty
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 201
Default

Yeah that should be sufficient, thanks!
Travesty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2017, 03:09 AM   #67
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 4,303
Default

Hi guys,

Based on Nofish SWS Loudness ReaScript function, I create few scripts that you may also like. Here is thread :P

Cockos Incorporated Forums - View Single Post - Scripts: Items Properties (various)

Cheers !
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2017, 11:16 AM   #68
skippertag
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 194
Default Normalize to TruePeak minus TruePeak minus 1 (and/or X)

Hey Y'all. Hey nofish!

First of all thank you very much for your great scripts.

If I could I would script on my own but I'm way too less experienced to make such scripts.

That is why I want to ask if you could change a copy of your scripts to get the TruePeak Level on an item/a track/a selection of items from the SWS Normalization script and let me then change the item volume to the opposite value plus 1dB/XdB so that the newly created loudness analyzer would show exactly -1db/-XdB in the console message?

Many thanks in advance if you could do that for us!!
skippertag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2017, 12:59 PM   #69
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 7,303
Default

Hi,

making sure I understand correctly, so you want "Normalize selected items to X db true peak" with a user prompt to set the true peak target value ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by skippertag View Post
Hey Y'all. Hey nofish!

First of all thank you very much for your great scripts.

If I could I would script on my own but I'm way too less experienced to make such scripts.

That is why I want to ask if you could change a copy of your scripts to get the TruePeak Level on an item/a track/a selection of items from the SWS Normalization script and let me then change the item volume to the opposite value plus 1dB/XdB so that the newly created loudness analyzer would show exactly -1db/-XdB in the console message?

Many thanks in advance if you could do that for us!!
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2017, 01:49 PM   #70
skippertag
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 194
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
Hi,

making sure I understand correctly, so you want "Normalize selected items to X db true peak" with a user prompt to set the true peak target value ?
I think, yes! I just don't want to be >= -1 dB TP as Ian Shepherd recommends it and when it's easy to have a prompt with a default value of -1 where you possibly can change the default, I think that's even better.
skippertag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2017, 02:32 PM   #71
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 7,303
Default

Ok, will add to ReaPack shortly.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2017, 02:54 PM   #72
skippertag
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 194
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
Ok, will add to ReaPack shortly.
You're amazing and very kind!!

Thank you so much!!

I really appreciate that!
skippertag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2017, 03:19 PM   #73
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 7,303
Default

It's up.
"nofish_Normalize selected items active take to X dBFS true peak"

(Too see it you need to enable my repository manually in ReaPack if you haven't done yet. Link is in my signature.)

If you find problems let me know (but rather per PM please instead of bumping this thread. )
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2017, 04:21 PM   #74
skippertag
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 194
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
It's up.
"nofish_Normalize selected items active take to X dBFS true peak"

(Too see it you need to enable my repository manually in ReaPack if you haven't done yet. Link is in my signature.)

If you find problems let me know (but rather per PM please instead of bumping this thread. )
hahaha...oki doki...

That was fast! Thanks man!!!
skippertag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2017, 04:59 PM   #75
skippertag
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 194
Default

checked it on the track that I was working on today and works perfectly!!

Thank you, dude!!
skippertag is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.