Old 12-16-2013, 09:25 PM   #1
Mike in BC
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 7
Default new to daw's question

Ok be gentle to an old analog sound guy. When I insert a track in a new Reaper project and I choose the track to be input stereo - left-right does that mean that the one track carries both left and right as a true stereo track? In other words does that mean I don't have to use two seperate tracks and designate them left and right? I know this is likely basic stuff but I'm just trying to learn.
Mike
Mike in BC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 09:35 PM   #2
stinky634
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 63
Default

Yes that makes it stereo!

If you're OCD you could make 2 channels mono but either way works.

I actually think by default even mono signals are made stereo by reaper.
stinky634 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 09:44 PM   #3
Mike in BC
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 7
Default

I should clarify by saying I am recording a stereo analog signal and if I use one track as I explained will it stay stereo?
Mike in BC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 09:46 PM   #4
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 25,448
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike in BC View Post
I should clarify by saying I am recording a stereo analog signal and if I use one track as I explained will it stay stereo?
It will work just as you want to if recording and the inputs are set to stereo inputs of the sound card. IE: 1/2 instead of 1 for example. Unlike an analog board you'll get stereo on a single track in Reaper if you bring it in as such. This will also be reflected in the item that is created, if stereo by default you'll see two separate waveforms.
__________________
Clever is not the same as good, clever is from the head, good is from the heart. -Benmont Tench
karbomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 09:51 PM   #5
Mike in BC
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
It will work just as you want to if recording and the inputs are set to stereo inputs of the sound card. IE: 1/2 instead of 1 for example. Unlike an analog board you'll get stereo on a single track in Reaper if you bring it in as such. This will also be reflected in the item that is created, if stereo by default you'll see two separate waveforms.
Thanks, I was seeing it as two sep waveforms but it just seemed too easy lol. Is there any place on this forum where a person can post a wav file to be crtiqued?
Mike in BC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 09:52 PM   #6
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 25,448
Default

But of course!

http://forum.cockos.com/forumdisplay.php?f=24

If it's more technical in nature, tech and techniques (aka right here) is likely fine as well.
__________________
Clever is not the same as good, clever is from the head, good is from the heart. -Benmont Tench
karbomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.