Old 01-03-2020, 07:28 PM   #1
Rickyneg
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 55
Default Microsoft Visual C++Runtime Library Error

hello all.
I use windows 10 and all of a sudden my 5.99 version of Reaper won't load, says there is a runtime error.

Can anyone help with this?
Rickyneg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2020, 10:36 PM   #2
Philbo King
Human being with feelings
 
Philbo King's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,756
Default

This is usually due to a plugin whose installer neglected to download the C++ runtime library. Try downloading the version of the runtime (which is usually) specified in the error message.
__________________
Tangent Studio - Philbo King
www.soundclick.com/philboking - stream music
www.facebook.com/philboking - gigs and news
Philbo King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2020, 11:21 PM   #3
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 2,988
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rickyneg View Post
I use windows 10 and all of a sudden my 5.99 version of Reaper won't load, says there is a runtime error.
This means a C++ exception occurred and wasn't caught by the culprit module. REAPER itself doesn't use them I'm pretty sure, so it's probably a plugin. Do you have REAPER configured to load the previous project at startup? Try holding Ctrl+Shift down when starting REAPER to load a blank project.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Philbo King View Post
This is usually due to a plugin whose installer neglected to download the C++ runtime library.
The error message came from the runtime. The message would say "This program can't start because <some .dll> is missing from computer." if it was not found.

Last edited by cfillion; 01-03-2020 at 11:30 PM.
cfillion is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2020, 05:31 AM   #4
Rickyneg
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 55
Default

The first warning points to a song file (A Dream.RPP). The actual runtime error warning points to a Reaper.exe, for any version. No mention of any module.
Rickyneg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2020, 05:48 AM   #5
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 18,146
Default

OK, what plug-ins are used in that project?

Then, start a new project, load those plug-ins one at a time until you get a crash. That should identify the problematic plug-in.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2020, 08:41 AM   #6
Rickyneg
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 55
Default

How do I get the list if I can't open the project? Same thing happens with my backups. I can open a new project, but how does that help? With up to 14 channels, I can't remember the plug ins or effects.
Rickyneg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2020, 08:55 AM   #7
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 18,146
Default

^^^^
Find the project file on disk and open it in a text editor.

Or, open the project from the [File] > "Open project" dialogue, with the "Open with FX offline" check-box enabled. Then bring the FX online, one at a time until you find the problematic one.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2020, 01:44 PM   #8
Evertschut
Human being with feelings
 
Evertschut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 25
Default similar error

My problem is similar. when I open up Reaper I get the same error message:

"The program can't start because api-ms-win-crt-runtime-|1-1-0.dll is missing from your computer."

And by the way, I get it when trying to install certain plugins as well (I'm moving stuff to another desktop). In particular when trying to install Native Access!

Now I understood already it is a file that has something to do with Visual C++ which some plugins use. So I tried an update for Visual C++, but it did't help.

I have a suspicion where things are going wrong, more from experience with things going wrong with missing computer files than any understanding of what's going on.... Here's the story:I bought a rather old but quite functional desktop (second generation i5 running on 3.4 Ghz) with an even older RME setup. The previous owner left enough on the computer to test it before adding my own stuff and was running much better than my i7 (4th generation) which has been giving me trouble for years. No more latency issues! It's set up with windows 7 professional 64 bit, possibly running without even the service packs, because it was a stricktly off line
computer. I will run it that way too, except for when I need to be online to add a lisence code or whatever for a plugin. Some plugins just won't let you install offline....

So here 's my suspicion: I need a newer C++ api - whatever file which will only work with a later version of windows 7.
Is that a good guess?

Any advice appreciated!

Last edited by Evertschut; 01-21-2020 at 02:49 PM.
Evertschut is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.