Old 08-23-2011, 12:23 AM   #1
geoslake
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 349
Default A new freeware sampler !!!

Hi dont know if you have noticed :

http://tx16wx.blogspot.com/

looks nice, and not synthedit/synthmaker it seems
not quite yet a shortcircuit replacement though...
geoslake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 12:59 AM   #2
Lucian
Human being with feelings
 
Lucian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Island of Misfit Toys
Posts: 617
Default

Just downloaded and this really cool. I never had a sampler before.
__________________
Give me back my Loc-Nar ! No, It's my Loc-Nar !
Lucian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 01:02 AM   #3
3dmus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 452
Default

Thanks easymode - will check it out. I do have Kontakt 4, but have to shamefully admit that I do find the user interface incredibly complex for casual "sampling" stuff.
3dmus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 01:06 AM   #4
3dmus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 452
Default

Just downloaded it - looks nice. Quick question; does anyone know if it supports drag & dropping wave files from Reaper? The usual method (with ctrl+alt) doesn't seem to work?
3dmus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 03:31 AM   #5
SoulOne82
Human being with feelings
 
SoulOne82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Illville - Germany
Posts: 943
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by easymode View Post
Hi dont know if you have noticed :

http://tx16wx.blogspot.com/

looks nice, and not synthedit/synthmaker it seems
not quite yet a shortcircuit replacement though...
thanks for the heads-up!
SoulOne82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 03:39 AM   #6
R4AN
Human being with feelings
 
R4AN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 4
Default

thanks, been looking for one
R4AN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 03:48 AM   #7
bilsner
Human being with feelings
 
bilsner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: croydon UK
Posts: 253
Default

Nice.... GUI reminds me of days gone by... in a good way
bilsner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 04:48 AM   #8
Bassman1
Human being with feelings
 
Bassman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 472
Default

Thanks for the heads up. It looks nice. How is it in REAPER, OK?
__________________
Bought REAPER V1.5 and still going strong today with V5.
Thanks Justin & Co !
Bassman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 07:19 AM   #9
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 5,229
Default

I've become cynical of any software claiming to be a sampler, so this little piece was a really nice surprise actually being one. Just that fact alone makes me want to try it. Another big plus for the non-proprietary file format.

Needs few more features and some fine-tuning, but a promising start anyway. Thanks for the heads up.
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 08:00 AM   #10
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 12,789
Default

Huumm, I wonder if this could replace ShortCircut?

I looked it over pretty closely but couldn't determine if it streams from disc or not, anybody know?

Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 08:18 AM   #11
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 5,229
Default

No disk streaming at least as of now. The developer has never used such (with samplers), but is willing to listen to new ideas. This app is not meant to replace sample players streaming huge libraries.

No drag & drop, but I gather it will come later.

So far I've found few bugs which will crash the host and some features which don't work at all, but this is beta anyways.
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 08:26 AM   #12
grayter1
Human being with feelings
 
grayter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Posts: 466
Default

No Mac version? Damn... *sigh*
__________________
Win 10 Pro | i7-6700K 4.00GHz | GA-Z170X-UD5 | 32 GB | nVIDIA GTX 1050ti | Audient iD22 | NI Komplete S49 | Reaper 5 | Pro Tools 2018.12 | Studio One 4 | Komplete 10 | Omnisphere 2
grayter1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 12:03 PM   #13
merdave
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 708
Default

Vista x64 Reaper x64 v4.02 TX16Wx x64. Hung Reaper the 1st time only. Working now.

Is there a free sample bank available (in XML?) to load for testing and learning this sampler?
merdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 12:19 PM   #14
ObiK
Human being with feelings
 
ObiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 1,095
Default

Looks cool
__________________
IKMultimedia.com
Musicians first. Follow us on Facebook, Twitter & Tumblr!
ObiK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 07:45 PM   #15
AtmanActive
Human being with feelings
 
AtmanActive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Malta
Posts: 315
Default

This version 0.9.01 (I tested x64) is still half baked and doesn't work well with Reaper.
I've just spent an hour testing it, loading various samples and sequencing them in Reaper, and then a simple test: File->Save, Exit Reaper, Start Reaper again, File->Load, it failed. It throws me a bunch of nebulous errors and none of the samples is loaded back.

It looks promising, but it still needs more work. And, for me, the lack of the built-in sample browser is a big deal breaker.

Hope it grows...
AtmanActive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 09:54 PM   #16
bennisixx
Human being with feelings
 
bennisixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: the woods, Arkansas
Posts: 1,063
Default

grabbed this off the site


"For anyone interested: .9.01 will be available soon (1-2 days).
This will fix the bugs reported so far, and add drag-and-drop (most requested feature).
Stay tuned."
bennisixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 11:34 PM   #17
3dmus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 452
Default

ah - good news! Especially the drag & drop thing b/c that's the way I would typically work.
3dmus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 11:41 PM   #18
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 7,273
Default

Thanks! Looking very good
It's not supporting Round Robin is it?
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
My music on Bandcamp
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 01:16 AM   #19
Rome
Human being with feelings
 
Rome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Stavromula Beta
Posts: 154
Default

The name TX16W brings back a lot of memories - good and bad.

I don't need more samplers but I really like that it has a unique and highly sophisticated feature that none of the big samplers have: It can sample audio.
Rome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 08:00 AM   #20
Jim Roseberry
Human being with feelings
 
Jim Roseberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rome View Post
The name TX16W brings back a lot of memories - good and bad.

I don't need more samplers but I really like that it has a unique and highly sophisticated feature that none of the big samplers have: It can sample audio.
FWIW, If the sampler has automatic mapping (when finished sampling - like Emulator X)... I get the point.

Otherwise I just don't see the advantage of integrated sampling (within the plugin). You've got that capability in any DAW application... with 100 times the options/flexibility. Plus, you can typically drag/drop samples directly into the plugin...

IMO, Kontakt (for better or worse) is so far ahead of the competition... there literally is no competition. HALion 4 and Indy Pro have some nice features... but they're not even close (especially considering Kontakt's custom script capabilities). Some serious competition would be good (for us and in the long run for Native Instruments)... but from who/where is it going to come? Who can afford the massive ~10 year developement that it'll take to equal/surpass Kontakt? About as bad a strangle-hold as Microsoft has on the OS market.
__________________
Jim Roseberry
www.studiocat.com
jim@studiocat.com
Jim Roseberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 09:19 AM   #21
Rome
Human being with feelings
 
Rome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Stavromula Beta
Posts: 154
Default

Sure, Kontakt and it's competitors are great ROMplers with fantastic sample mapping and sample managing functions but you are forced to a very bureaucratic workflow when you want to feed them with new content. Like you already said: record in DAW, cut away superfluous material, apply effects, transfer the result over to the plugin, define loop points, map the sample to zones etc.

This is great if you want to create exact reproduction of the input material or when you are dealing with lots of samples. But there is almost no place for creative sampling in this highly bureaucratic concept.

I mean: Just record what ever comes along and instantly play it on the keyboard. Of course this often will result in garbage but it can be a really good source for new song ideas and new sounds too.
Rome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 10:35 AM   #22
AtmanActive
Human being with feelings
 
AtmanActive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Malta
Posts: 315
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Roseberry View Post
IMO, Kontakt (for better or worse) is so far ahead of the competition... there literally is no competition.
IMO, Kontakt is a bloatware I would never use.
AtmanActive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 10:52 AM   #23
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 12,789
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AtmanActive View Post
IMO, Kontakt is a bloatware I would never use.
Huummm, not sure what you mean, I've got K2 and K4, works flawlessly. Up to 3 instances (48 separate instruments) on my old XP, I haven't tried going beyond that with the Win7 comp yet. Use it on almost 100% of my projects and couldn't live without it.
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 02:18 AM   #24
geoslake
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 349
Default

Afaik, it stores shit everywhere (modern os stupid guidelines), registry, appdata, mydocuments etc

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tod View Post
Huummm, not sure what you mean, I've got K2 and K4, works flawlessly. Up to 3 instances (48 separate instruments) on my old XP, I haven't tried going beyond that with the Win7 comp yet. Use it on almost 100% of my projects and couldn't live without it.
geoslake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 03:13 AM   #25
suleiman
Human being with feelings
 
suleiman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 5,618
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by easymode View Post
Afaik, it stores shit everywhere (modern os stupid guidelines), registry, appdata, mydocuments etc
agreed, plus there IS such a thing s too many features.....

for serious pro hit-makers , maybe kontact is cool...but for people who wanna have fun, even something like noisebud catchdad is pure exhilarating awesomeness.....

so gimme sfz + editor anyday over this feature overkill
suleiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 03:24 AM   #26
Evan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Greece
Posts: 3,533
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Roseberry View Post
IMO, Kontakt (for better or worse) is so far ahead of the competition... there literally is no competition. HALion 4 and Indy Pro have some nice features... but they're not even close (especially considering Kontakt's custom script capabilities). Some serious competition would be good (for us and in the long run for Native Instruments)... but from who/where is it going to come? Who can afford the massive ~10 year developement that it'll take to equal/surpass Kontakt? About as bad a strangle-hold as Microsoft has on the OS market.
I remember a time when the reference sampler was gigasampler/gigastudio, and the OS was Windows 98. Gigasampler popularized the concept of disk streaming, hence the huge libraries we have until today. But it was close to a nightmare to get it to work, stable. And often you had to dedicate a separate PC just to run gigasampler.

I think we have it pretty good nowdays!
Evan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 07:14 AM   #27
AtmanActive
Human being with feelings
 
AtmanActive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Malta
Posts: 315
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tod View Post
Huummm, not sure what you mean, I've got K2 and K4, works flawlessly.
Bloatware definition is here.

With Kontakt I spend too much time fiddling with it trying to make it work, instead of having fun and making music. Plus, it acts on my machine like it owns the damn place.

My personal top 3:
- ReaSamplomatic5000
- Samplelord
- Phenome
AtmanActive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 07:40 AM   #28
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 12,789
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AtmanActive View Post
Bloatware definition is here.

With Kontakt I spend too much time fiddling with it trying to make it work, instead of having fun and making music. Plus, it acts on my machine like it owns the damn place.

My personal top 3:
- ReaSamplomatic5000
- Samplelord
- Phenome
Heh heh, well we all speak for ourselves. I'll admit, I spent a great deal of time fiddling around when I first got K2 but it's paid off in spades. It's like any other great piece of software, it takes a little dedication and time to get to know it intimately but eventually it gets pretty simple.

As far as it takeing over like it owns the place, it's just a simple dll file like any other VSTi.
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 11:56 AM   #29
Jim Roseberry
Human being with feelings
 
Jim Roseberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AtmanActive View Post
With Kontakt I spend too much time fiddling with it trying to make it work, instead of having fun and making music. Plus, it acts on my machine like it owns the damn place.

My personal top 3:
- ReaSamplomatic5000
- Samplelord
- Phenome
Beauty (or bloat) is in the eye of the beholder. ;-)
__________________
Jim Roseberry
www.studiocat.com
jim@studiocat.com
Jim Roseberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 12:04 PM   #30
Jim Roseberry
Human being with feelings
 
Jim Roseberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evan View Post
I remember a time when the reference sampler was gigasampler/gigastudio, and the OS was Windows 98. Gigasampler popularized the concept of disk streaming, hence the huge libraries we have until today. But it was close to a nightmare to get it to work, stable. And often you had to dedicate a separate PC just to run gigasampler.

I think we have it pretty good nowdays!
Hi Evan,

Yes, I gravitated to Giga (from Akai hardware samplers) very early on.
We did the first (large) drum sample library for Gigasampler. :-)
Didn't like the Kontakt GUI when I first switched (quite a change)... but I grew to accept and jibe with it.
And yes, we do have it pretty good. The things you can do with Kontakt are amazing.
__________________
Jim Roseberry
www.studiocat.com
jim@studiocat.com
Jim Roseberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 01:09 PM   #31
plamuk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3,221
Default

kontakt is indispensable but i never ever enjoy working with it.
plamuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 01:38 PM   #32
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 12,789
Default

How many other samplers besides Kontakt can you easily have drums set with 16 + Velo-Layers and 8 Round Robins? Or have ahdsr envelopes on almost every parameter? And then "Scripts", at least 60% to 70% of my patches have them and I've programed most of them myself to add my own flexability to the instrument?

The list could go on, like I said I can't live with out it.

I have no need for another sampler myself except I have a lot of friends that don't have Kontakt and I'd like to be able to program another free/cheap sampler so I can share my own personal libraries that I created myself with them. Heh heh, right now I'm just trying to talk them all into getting Kontakt.
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 02:47 PM   #33
mabian
Human being with feelings
 
mabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 3,613
Default

Updated! 0.9.01.

- Mario
__________________
My DAW: Intel i7700k @4.2GHz / 16GB RAM / RME Fireface UC / 250GB SSD / 2x2TB HD / Win10x64
My Music: http://www.reverbnation.com/errepici - http://www.errepici.it/web/contents.asp?sec=4
mabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 04:28 PM   #34
BenK-msx
Human being with feelings
 
BenK-msx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Whales, UK
Posts: 5,746
Default

blue screened my xp pc twice, both versions. couldnt for life of me get a sample into the keyzone area. (possible rare numptiness - ok i dragndropped onto it with new version, still not sure how you did it prior to that tho.. )
waiting till it works...
BenK-msx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 05:31 AM   #35
Marah Mag
Human being with feelings
 
Marah Mag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Here
Posts: 3,000
Default

I see an instrument like Kontakt's ability to record samples similar to how I see the digital zoom on a camera: a superfluous function that I'd prefer to do elsewhere.

But yeah, Kontakt has an interface only its developer could love.

Once upon a time I used (or tried to use) VSampler. Oh the humanity!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rome View Post

I mean: Just record what ever comes along and instantly play it on the keyboard.
I don't understand. Except for the need to drag it from the DAW into the sampler before being able to play it on the keyboard, how does that differ from using the DAW to record whatever comes along?

Last edited by Marah Mag; 08-26-2011 at 05:37 AM.
Marah Mag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 11:46 AM   #36
jens
Human being with feelings
 
jens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Basel, Switzerland
Posts: 4,662
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marah Mag View Post
VSampler

Ouch! My head hurts from reading that name!
__________________
http://handmademusic.ch
jens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 12:05 PM   #37
Sambo Rouge
Human being with feelings
 
Sambo Rouge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posts: 1,934
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Roseberry View Post
Beauty (or bloat) is in the eye of the beholder. ;-)
Yeah, whatever floats your bloat.
Sambo Rouge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 12:42 PM   #38
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 5,229
Default

All my tries to report some bugs are bounced back. I can understand Calle being busy anyway and the old accounts being closed, but this will stop my attempts at getting this thing going. Oh well.
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 05:50 PM   #39
slops
Human being with feelings
 
slops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 619
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nym View Post
kontakt is indispensable but i never ever enjoy working with it.
pretty much sums up how i feel.
slops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 12:06 AM   #40
AtmanActive
Human being with feelings
 
AtmanActive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Malta
Posts: 315
Default 0.9.02 available

Quote:
0.9.02 available
Another update. More usability features:
Added indicators to groups in keymap editor on noteon trigger
Added quick select mode. When holding any mode selector key depressed and playing Midi notes, the matching groups and splits will be selected in a rotating fashion.
Reworked sample auto-layout to give better results
Fixed "wave start" group attribute not saved correctly in programs
A note for those having trouble in various hosts or environments: TX16Wx is almost selfcontained, however it requires the MSXML6 library installed. This is preinstalled on Vista/Win7, and should be installed with SP3 on WinXP. If your machines misses this update however (or others installing the library), the instrument will not load. Sorry about that.
http://tx16wx.blogspot.com/

Last edited by AtmanActive; 08-30-2011 at 12:07 AM. Reason: typos
AtmanActive is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.