Old 05-13-2018, 07:41 AM   #1
Liquid Fusion
Human being with feelings
 
Liquid Fusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 488
Default Scheps Omni Channel - 29.00

www.waves.com/plugins/scheps-omni-channel
Scheps Omni Channel
Regular $149
ON SALE $29
Liquid Fusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2018, 08:14 AM   #2
sostenuto
Human being with feelings
 
sostenuto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: St George, UT _ USA
Posts: 2,518
Default

Many thanks !!! Been hoping for this price drop for some time! Preset junkie as well Ö..
sostenuto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2018, 11:03 AM   #3
Dex
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 85
Default

Maybe I'm missing something but what's the innovation here?
Dex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2018, 11:54 AM   #4
sostenuto
Human being with feelings
 
sostenuto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: St George, UT _ USA
Posts: 2,518
Default

For me, it is all about Andrew Scheps. For others, maybe no big deal.
He did a solid video in support of this Channel Strip as well. I found it instructive in addition to his many Presets to get me somewhat close to decent 'working area' for several instruments.
sostenuto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2018, 11:55 AM   #5
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 6,903
Default

Jumped on this one.
Here's 10% coupon for you:
https://www.waves.com/r/9syir3
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
G-Sun.no - Music Blog - My music
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2018, 12:53 AM   #6
bladerunner
Human being with feelings
 
bladerunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 4,223
Default

Oh god.. could this drag me back to Waves? lol. Killer that it has Mid Side AND a dynamic eq AND a limiter. Bit of a dream plugin actually.

Had no idea each section has a more detailed interface! Wow, this is a pretty incredible channel strip.

Last edited by bladerunner; 05-14-2018 at 01:05 AM.
bladerunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2018, 02:03 AM   #7
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 6,903
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bladerunner View Post
Oh god.. could this drag me back to Waves? lol. Killer that it has Mid Side AND a dynamic eq AND a limiter. Bit of a dream plugin actually.

Had no idea each section has a more detailed interface! Wow, this is a pretty incredible channel strip.
With these prices it's hard to resist
First time I'll be checking out the presets thoroughly for a plugin.
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
G-Sun.no - Music Blog - My music
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2018, 03:52 AM   #8
Skijumptoes
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 195
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dex View Post
Maybe I'm missing something but what's the innovation here?
$29 makes it less about innovation, and puts it into a 'must have' territory surely?

The innovation, of course, comes from Scheps experience into making the plugin, and it's also got a great interface with a lot of tools on a single screen. And another big factor is that it's classed as zero latency so you can whack it where you want, put some shortcuts from that to the Reaper mix channels and it's real handy plugin.
Skijumptoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2018, 04:19 AM   #9
bladerunner
Human being with feelings
 
bladerunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 4,223
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Sun View Post
With these prices it's hard to resist
First time I'll be checking out the presets thoroughly for a plugin.
Waves presets are the best, most useful out there I've found.
bladerunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2018, 12:57 PM   #10
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 6,903
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skijumptoes View Post
The innovation, of course, comes from Scheps experience into making the plugin, and it's also got a great interface with a lot of tools on a single screen. And another big factor is that it's classed as zero latency so you can whack it where you want, put some shortcuts from that to the Reaper mix channels and it's real handy plugin.
Just seems like a very thoughtfully crafted plugin.
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
G-Sun.no - Music Blog - My music
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2018, 01:01 PM   #11
Winfield
Human being with feelings
 
Winfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: The Underground Bunker
Posts: 438
Default

Hell, I could not resist - The mid/side processing pushed me over.
Hoping to get to play with it soon enough.

-W
__________________
"if DAWs are religions, REAPER is atheism" - The big J
Winfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2018, 01:51 PM   #12
RDBOIS
Human being with feelings
 
RDBOIS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: It changes
Posts: 986
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Sun View Post
Jumped on this one.
Here's 10% coupon for you:
https://www.waves.com/r/9syir3
Ohhh why are doing this to me?

I was like "ohhh a channel strip with all these functions on special, not sure if I should..." Then, you go and add a 10% off...

Pffff... How to resist?

Must of been a fish in my former life? LOL
__________________
Some songs made with REAPER --->
http://keepingintheflow.com/index.ph...cious-grooves/
RDBOIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2018, 01:53 PM   #13
Skijumptoes
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 195
Default

I use audiodeluxe for all my plugins, and it's $25.89 there (They pretty much always add a code on when you go to checkout), not much, but even more saving.
Skijumptoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2018, 01:55 PM   #14
crootnik
Human being with feelings
 
crootnik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 129
Default

just watched all the video. Quite impressive. Good price, and amazing value for that price.
__________________
I am a nobody, and nobody is perfect, therefore, I am perfect.------------www.artinamericamusic.com
www.facebook.com/artinamerica.music
crootnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2018, 02:09 PM   #15
adXok
Human being with feelings
 
adXok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 970
Default

Can I uninstall this Wave Central platform after I have transfered my license from the cloud to my PC?
adXok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2018, 02:17 PM   #16
Calaban
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 127
Default

Iíve been looking at this plugin since it came out and finally pulled the trigger.

$25.89 at everyplugin.com

Iím not a good mixer and I probably donít need it, but I thought it was cool couldnít resist!
This recording hobby is expensive but fun....
Calaban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2018, 03:30 PM   #17
RDBOIS
Human being with feelings
 
RDBOIS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: It changes
Posts: 986
Default

Eeehhhh... How big is the download file?

I tried downloading but got error after error, and once no error but very very little progress...

My Internet provider is Satan, no Lucifer, oups, I mean HughesNet... They throttle me down to 1 Mgbit/s during the day. I guess I'll have to wait to 2 am - when the dark forces give me a short respite.

Seriously, how big is package?
__________________
Some songs made with REAPER --->
http://keepingintheflow.com/index.ph...cious-grooves/
RDBOIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2018, 04:38 PM   #18
chip mcdonald
Human being with feelings
 
chip mcdonald's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NA - North Augusta South Carolina
Posts: 3,471
Default

Frak.

"This is the LAST plugin I buy.

I don't need ANY MORE ... well, I need that one."







...........
__________________
]]]>- guitar lessons - www.chipmcdonald.com-<[[[
Experiencing Guitar: Essays from Teaching by Chip McDonald https://www.amazon.com/dp/1521877823..._QZJxAbA4GVDC1

Last edited by chip mcdonald; 05-14-2018 at 04:47 PM.
chip mcdonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 05:12 AM   #19
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 6,903
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RDBOIS View Post
Ohhh why are doing this to me?
Sorry, born evil :mohaaa:
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
G-Sun.no - Music Blog - My music
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 05:24 AM   #20
bobtom1
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: France
Posts: 185
Default

Why do you all make me keep buying stuff!

Every time I say no more Waves stuff I keep getting sucked back in.
Watched the videos,especially the one with Mr Scheps, demo'd it on a few things and pulled the trigger quickly like a cowboy gunslinger!

Love the workflow and flexibility which is the main thing after the ease of finding good sounds. Now I can replace a few plugin chains with just this one. Great stuff!
__________________
Win 10 64bit : Reaper 5.xx : Akai DPS24 : Izotope RX Editor
bobtom1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 07:37 AM   #21
richie43
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,539
Default

It is now $69 on the Waves site.
__________________
http://soundyaudio.com/ The Sounds of the Hear and Now
richie43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 07:50 AM   #22
fetidus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 546
Default

It is indeed a great plugin overall, when you factor in the complete feature set and how it works together as an integrated tool, especially for that sale price. I bought it for $49, very happy with it at that price. Amazing at $29. Instant no-brainer. Very thoughtfully designed, sounds great, excellent (and very usable) features, CPU-friendly, zero latency, very good workflow, very flexible. From the subtle to the creative, it's a very useful tool in a crowded market... and while you can achieve the same (or similar) thing with a bunch of other plugins that individually subjectively sound better than the modules inside this plugin, you will be very hard pressed to match the workflow and effectiveness of getting results quickly. At $29? Good grief. Has to be a record of the sheer value of a plugin.
fetidus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 08:05 AM   #23
fetidus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 546
Default

And BTW, you have a built-in insert point as I'm sure you know, so you can add any other Waves plugin, wherever you need in the chain, while still inside the Omni Channel. I've found myself using Waves F6 in that slot (F6 is a floating band dynamic EQ) to give me some extra EQ functionality (plus F6 has a spectrum analyzer in it now).

Scheps Omni Channel + F6 is a really superb combo... and still zero-latency and CPU friendly BTW. It has basically replaced almost all of my channel strips... with the exception of Neutron 2, which I'm still seeing how it fits into my workflow. I actually find myself wanting to use Scheps Omni Channel + F6 more than Neutron 2 in many cases, which surprises me.

When I just need a channel strip that is flexible, light and sounds good, I am now reaching for Scheps Omni Channel + F6 more and more often. I get the track in good shape there, and then add on other plugins if needed... such as a FabFilter plugin for surgical tweaks.

It has been a really good workflow improvement for certain kinds of tracks.

The only thing that would possibly improve on this for my workflow now would be if FabFilter were to ever do a channel strip.
fetidus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 08:08 AM   #24
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 21,914
Default

Yea, it's good stuff. My only complaint is it was released and I purchased it at the very, very end of my last project so I didn't get to use it very much, but I plan on using it regularly moving forward.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 08:44 AM   #25
fetidus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 546
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by richie43 View Post
It is now $69 on the Waves site.
$69 is still a very good value TBH, but if you can wait, then hold off until it hits $49 again, which I'm sure it will in a few months. The $29 deal was just a quick, limited lightning deal probably for their marketing department to test the waters. And I wouldn't expect to see it hit that low very often, until a year or two from now. It's still a new plugin. Older plugins more frequently hover at $29 with Waves' current marketing approach... but new ones rarely hit $29 for more than a day or two.
fetidus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 08:53 AM   #26
uncleswede
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 652
Default

Now back to $69...
uncleswede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 09:01 AM   #27
serstickman
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 77
Default

Bought this excellent plugin at $29.00.

I absolutely love it!
__________________
Mac Pro 2.93ghz 8-core, 20GB RAM Reaper, Studio One, Logic, Cubase, Pro Tools, Slate Bundle, SSL Duende Native Essentials, numerous sample libraries
serstickman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 09:07 AM   #28
Skijumptoes
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 195
Default

I still think it's easily worth $69 after using it considerably.

I've now set it as a default plugin for my Aux/Bus template tracks with shortcuts to the mixer channels. I really like the reduced/focused controls for EQ, it lends itself to shortcuts on the mixer lanes really well. I have the compression, pre-amp and EQ all on there. Love being able to use that pre-amp creatively, and move it around the plugin chain.

It's like having a really efficient integrated channel strip/ssl now, and the overhead is negligible and it's adding no noticeable latency so far! woo!

I too was done with Waves, damn! lol
Skijumptoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 09:12 AM   #29
fetidus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 546
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skijumptoes View Post
... and it's adding no noticeable latency so far!
It's zero latency. :-) Yep, it's a great tool indeed.
fetidus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 07:49 AM   #30
ReaDave
Human being with feelings
 
ReaDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Adelaide, South Australia (originally from Geelong)
Posts: 5,253
Default

I purchased this when it was first released and it has now become one of my most used (of all developers) plugins. I even went back to previous mixes of songs on my new album that I'd considered finished and remixed them with this plugin. The preamp saturation section is worth the price alone!

F6 EQ has also become one of my most used Waves plugins.

Omni Channel is one Waves plugin I'd even have been happy to purchase at full price if it never want on sale.
ReaDave is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 08:06 AM   #31
mjfruth
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 4
Default Quick Question....

....is it normal for the F6 EQ to only be visible in the Waves "Rack"? I can add it to the empty slot, but it does not appear as a standalone VST on my system.

If it should appear as a standalone I probably need to add another path for VST scan....
mjfruth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 08:16 AM   #32
fetidus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 546
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjfruth View Post
....is it normal for the F6 EQ to only be visible in the Waves "Rack"? I can add it to the empty slot, but it does not appear as a standalone VST on my system.

If it should appear as a standalone I probably need to add another path for VST scan....
Yes, this is possible if Reaper hasn't detected the plugin yet, since Waves will internally detect its own plugins. Reaper and Waves occasionally have plugin discovery issues when you update or install new Waves plugins, due to the way Waves uses plugin shells. There's a thread around here somewhere about troubleshooting Waves plugins not showing up in Reaper. Typically I just "Clear cache/re-scan" (in the VST settings preferences screen), and that does the trick. But if your Waves installation gets messed up for Reaper, there's a folder or two you need to delete which will force all the Waves plugins to be hard refreshed. Just can't recall what directories needed to be cleared. Hope that helps a little.
fetidus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 09:21 AM   #33
RDBOIS
Human being with feelings
 
RDBOIS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: It changes
Posts: 986
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReaDave View Post
I purchased this when it was first released and it has now become one of my most used (of all developers) plugins. I even went back to previous mixes of songs on my new album that I'd considered finished and remixed them with this plugin. The preamp saturation section is worth the price alone!
I just tried the preamp sat on the drum bus and heard the difference immediately. Made the highend (e.g. cymbals) take a step forward in the mix without necessarily being that much louder - if that makes sense. This was a good thing.
__________________
Some songs made with REAPER --->
http://keepingintheflow.com/index.ph...cious-grooves/
RDBOIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 10:11 AM   #34
vassaux
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 88
Default

I got in for $29, and already like the sound of it. I LOVED his description of the "THUMP" feature.
vassaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 11:05 AM   #35
Skijumptoes
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 195
Default

There's few ideas in this vid on how to use it creatively, which is what sold me on it before it went on offer:-

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o3sXnByfapM
Skijumptoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 11:12 AM   #36
ReaDave
Human being with feelings
 
ReaDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Adelaide, South Australia (originally from Geelong)
Posts: 5,253
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RDBOIS View Post
I just tried the preamp sat on the drum bus and heard the difference immediately. Made the highend (e.g. cymbals) take a step forward in the mix without necessarily being that much louder - if that makes sense. This was a good thing.
Yep. That totally makes sense. The saturation is basically adding varying amounts of odd and/or even harmonics. Plenty of other saturation plugins do similar things but the way the Omni Channel preamp does it sounds the closest to vintage Neve gear to my ears.

Using it on every channel adds a depth and fullness to a mix that is a huge step closer to owning a vintage Neve console. I'm not likely to have the budget for 72 channels of 8000 series hardware in my immediate future!
ReaDave is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 04:44 PM   #37
RDBOIS
Human being with feelings
 
RDBOIS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: It changes
Posts: 986
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReaDave View Post
Yep. That totally makes sense. The saturation is basically adding varying amounts of odd and/or even harmonics. Plenty of other saturation plugins do similar things but the way the Omni Channel preamp does it sounds the closest to vintage Neve gear to my ears.

Using it on every channel adds a depth and fullness to a mix that is a huge step closer to owning a vintage Neve console. I'm not likely to have the budget for 72 channels of 8000 series hardware in my immediate future!
What about the odd vs even? I was under the impression that saturation was related to harmonics - which are dependent on the frequency of the fundamental root note & whatever the instrument resonance is producing (the body and wood of the acoustic guitar for example). And therefore, the extra sounds are additions of a series for example root= 440 ---> harmonics are 880, 1320, 1760, etc. Hmmm, wait... Unless even would be 440 x 2 ; 440 x 4 ; 440 x 6 ... and odd 440 x 3; 440 x 5; 440 -x 7, etc.

Did I just answer my own question?

It this is correct, then when would I choose Odd vs Even? Let's see here... Nope I have no rational for when to choose O vs E.
__________________
Some songs made with REAPER --->
http://keepingintheflow.com/index.ph...cious-grooves/
RDBOIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 05:04 PM   #38
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 21,914
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RDBOIS View Post
It this is correct, then when would I choose Odd vs Even? Let's see here... Nope I have no rational for when to choose O vs E.
Lot easier if you use an easy number to answer the initial question.

1k, 2k, 3k, 4k, 5k

1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th

root, even, odd, even, odd

But I wouldn't get myself caught up in odd vs even beyond the first harmonic or so personally because the higher order the harmonic is, the lower it's amplitude (typically). For example, the strong 2nd harmonic that one might find in a distorting tube amp is one octave above the fundamental, so if you listen closely you can hear that slight octave in the sound of a single guitar note - but once we get into higher orders and sounds more complex than a single note, plus the sheer subtlety of saturation, things get complicated and more elusive, so just use it and forget about the numbers.

People will disagree with me on that but I spent a year or two distorting/saturating/evaluating signals and this is where I ended up.

Last edited by karbomusic; 05-16-2018 at 05:15 PM.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 05:25 PM   #39
Judders
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 6,151
Default

I think it's easier to think of overtone harmonic partials as musical intervals.

Do you want octaves? Go for even.

Want fifths? Go for odd.

Want fourths? Do both.

It is the fifths added by odd harmonic partials that make some chords sound disgusting when played through distorted guitar; because dissonant overtones (in relation to the chord) are being amplified and clashing with the fundamental pitches of the chord.
Judders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 06:00 PM   #40
mjfruth
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fetidus View Post
Yes, this is possible if Reaper hasn't detected the plugin yet, since Waves will internally detect its own plugins. Reaper and Waves occasionally have plugin discovery issues when you update or install new Waves plugins, due to the way Waves uses plugin shells. There's a thread around here somewhere about troubleshooting Waves plugins not showing up in Reaper. Typically I just "Clear cache/re-scan" (in the VST settings preferences screen), and that does the trick. But if your Waves installation gets messed up for Reaper, there's a folder or two you need to delete which will force all the Waves plugins to be hard refreshed. Just can't recall what directories needed to be cleared. Hope that helps a little.
That did it.....thanks!
mjfruth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.