Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Old 06-14-2014, 04:19 AM   #1
KeithC
Human being with feelings

Default Total Newbie, the more I learn, the less I know

I have a powerful PC, decent monitors, a great keyboard as my current interface, but purchasing the 18i20 today, Reaper 64 bit installed, and have no earthly idea about whether I need to download all dynamic processing tools, ie Compression, EQ, Delays, yada yada, and FX, or if any of those are in Reaper already. I downloaded the User's Guide, and plan to order some tutorials from Kenny Giola, but every time I read the forums, I see so much I don't understand at all. I do have a background in old knob, fader, and Tape recording, but most of that I learned from recording five records, but also ran sound for many years. It's all the computer related stuff, and VSTs, VSTis, plugins, what I do, and don't need to do basic Classic rock style recording that I'm at a loss about. Is there an end all, newbie video, or literature that explains it all in layman's term? I struggle a bit time wise with all my musical projects because I am a business owner, but because of health issues, I may have a great deal of time. I just haven't got a clue where to start, as even searching the forum is hit or miss as to the search terms I should use for a given subject.