COCKOS
CONFEDERATED FORUMS
Cockos : REAPER : NINJAM : Forums
Forum Home : Register : FAQ : Members List : Search :
Old 04-15-2007, 08:11 PM   #1
sureshf
Human being with feelings

Default Scaleability of the Ninjam Platform

I am interested in organizing a Global Drum Circle. The grand idea is to, hold simultaneous drum circles in a number of different locations.

At this point I am researching potential technologies and due to the fact that I am a musician and not a programmer, I have no idea how scaleable the Ninjam platfor is.

Can anyone help me out with this.

Thanks,

Suresh Fernando
604-889-8167
sureshf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2007, 01:12 AM   #2
Justin
Administrator

How many people you thinking?

The general formula is N*(N-1)* ~60kbps of bandwidth being needed by the server...

so for example 3 people is 3*2*60 or 360kbps.. 10 people is 10*9*60 or 5.4mbps, 20 people is 22mbps, 30 people is 54mbps, etc...
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2007, 12:57 PM   #3
sureshf

Default Scaleability of Ninjam

Justin,

Sorry for the delayed response. the idea is to eventually (in due course) scale this globally to include as many participants as possible. Details for the idea can be found at

http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=2382062011, where I have formed a group.

I am searching for a platform at this time, and presumably Ninjan is a candidate.

If you have a moment, maybe you can check out what the Facebook description and give me some feedback as to whether Ninjam can solve this problem.

Regards,

Suresh Fernando
604-889-8167
sureshf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2007, 11:34 AM   #4
tbfx

One way to do this would be
where everone was both a server and a client.
Then you could link everyone up as a big circle in
time. First person plays by himself, second person adds
on maybe one interval later then eventually (maybe)
the result comes back 5 minutes later to the first drummer.
tbfx is offline   Reply With Quote