Old 07-05-2021, 07:33 AM   #1
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,415
Default v6.30+dev0705 - July 5 2021

v6.30+dev0705 - July 5 2021
  • * Includes feature branch: MIDI editor note reordering
  • * Includes feature branch: media item lanes
  • + ReaScript: fix SetEnvelopePointEx when used with automation items [p=2459830]
  • # VST3: fix possible bridging over-release of objects [p=2459810]
This thread is for pre-release features discussion. Use the Feature Requests forum for other requests.

Changelog - Pre-Releases

Generated by X-Raym's REAPER ChangeLog to BBCode
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2021, 07:45 AM   #2
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,415
Default

Thanks for fixing those VST3 bridging crashes. Those plugins aren't crashing anymore!

I guess Melodyne not working as a ARA plugin when it's bridged will be a "live with it" thing?
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2021, 08:08 AM   #3
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 13,435
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercado_Negro View Post
Thanks for fixing those VST3 bridging crashes. Those plugins aren't crashing anymore!

I guess Melodyne not working as a ARA plugin when it's bridged will be a "live with it" thing?
Yeah ARA and bridging are not yet supported (and might not ever be).
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2021, 09:06 AM   #4
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,415
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Yeah ARA and bridging are not yet supported (and might not ever be).
No problem, thanks Justin!
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2021, 12:27 PM   #5
mplay
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Curaçao
Posts: 372
Default

Hopefully it's not out of place, but if we can reorder the midi rows, I'd love to be able to color the rows individually.
mplay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2021, 01:57 PM   #6
MrTsonts
Human being with feelings
 
MrTsonts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Ukraine, Kyiv
Posts: 71
Default

In this version, I observe the same -
https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...8&postcount=47
MrTsonts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2021, 02:22 PM   #7
daniellumertz
Human being with feelings
 
daniellumertz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Brazil
Posts: 1,192
Default

Just now I have seen the "offset overlapping media items vertically". Thanks a lot Schwa and Justin for keeping the old behaiviour with the new lanes! I really think they don't kill each other purpose.

I will be testing and will tell here if I find anything.

Just a question putting the offset as 100% in options the items still a little overlapping I am ok with that, Just wonder if we still can "go above that" and make like before with the "item header"(where is the volume, item name fx etc etc) not overlapping. I am ok if not, really good for my workflow.

Thanks thanks thanks!
daniellumertz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2021, 02:29 PM   #8
Dimson
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 185
Default

If I use a new analysis loudness meter in the project, the action "FX: Show / hide track envelope for last touched FX parameter" does not work.
Dimson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2021, 04:18 PM   #9
Funkybot
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,716
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercado_Negro View Post
v6.30+dev0705 - July 5 2021
[list][*] * Includes feature branch: MIDI editor note reordering
Getting back to the Note Editor Reordering for a moment. There are a lot of awkward aspects to the Note Editor view that may be worth looking at in relation to note names. Things like:

1. Double Right-Click to rename. Why not just double left-click? Single right-click auditions the note the same as single left-click, so it's not to prevent note-audition when that's enabled.

2. Once the right-click, gets cleared up, I think it would make a let of sense to create a Note Name Editor Right-Click Context Menu. Could have features listed like:
  • Load Note/CC names from file
  • Save Note/CC names from file
  • Clear Note/CC names
  • Separator
  • Rename current note
  • Clear current note name [Note #: Note Name]
  • Hide note [#] from view
  • Show all note rows
  • Restore original note order

...I think from a UI/ease of use Perspective, that is a much tidier way of managing this over the current approach.

3. I would love the ability to make the name name area wider in order to make more text visible.

4. After changing the note order, saving Custom Note names to file should save and restore the note order on load. Maybe we even need two Load actions: A) "Load note/CC names from file," and B) "Load note/CC names and note order from "file.

Since the files are basic .txt files, I'd hope that it would be relatively simple to append a note order # field to the end of each row that Reaper could read. If not present on a legacy file, no change. If present, and the user choses to load with note order, that's what gets loaded.

Last edited by Funkybot; 07-05-2021 at 04:27 PM.
Funkybot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2021, 04:21 PM   #10
Funkybot
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,716
Default

MIDI Note re-order bug: enabling "Hide unused and unnamed note rows" or "Hide unused note rows" changes note order.

To Reproduce:

1. Change MIDI Note order to something you like
2. Enable "Hide unused and unnamed rows" or "Hide unused note rows"

Result: either action resets the note order.

Expected Result: custom note order should be retained, but unused and/or unnamed notes should otherwise be hidden as per action.
Funkybot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2021, 07:05 AM   #11
thommazk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 12
Default

Can someone explain to me how to test media item lanes? I can't understand how to access it.
thommazk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2021, 01:04 PM   #12
javiramallo
Human being with feelings
 
javiramallo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Merida, Spain
Posts: 331
Default

Hi.

Is someone experimenting this Issue with 6.30?
https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...8&postcount=56

thanks in advanced.
javiramallo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2021, 02:15 PM   #13
daniellumertz
Human being with feelings
 
daniellumertz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Brazil
Posts: 1,192
Default

on 0705 I am getting the strange character in a dry run
daniellumertz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2021, 02:31 PM   #14
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 2,479
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thommazk View Post
Can someone explain to me how to test media item lanes? I can't understand how to access it.
Open track context menu and enable 'Fixed item lanes' option, Or to always enable for new tracks, go to Preferences > Track/Send defaults and enable 'Fixed item lanes' there, you can then drag items onto the bar that appears at bottom of track media lane to add them to lane or something, haven't actually used it yet.
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2021, 02:48 PM   #15
dug dog
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,463
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Funkybot View Post
MIDI Note re-order bug: enabling "Hide unused and unnamed note rows" or "Hide unused note rows" changes note order.

I suspect this feature branch is still pretty much in the early stages and is not, yet, developed this far.
dug dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2021, 03:31 PM   #16
Funkybot
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,716
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dug dog View Post
I suspect this feature branch is still pretty much in the early stages and is not, yet, developed this far.
Yep, that's exactly why I'm trying it out and reporting issues/providing feedback.
Funkybot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2021, 05:06 AM   #17
thommazk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
Open track context menu and enable 'Fixed item lanes' option, Or to always enable for new tracks, go to Preferences > Track/Send defaults and enable 'Fixed item lanes' there, you can then drag items onto the bar that appears at bottom of track media lane to add them to lane or something, haven't actually used it yet.
Weird. I didn't find in this release:
https://imgur.com/2ndXLkC
thommazk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2021, 05:45 AM   #18
mozart999uk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 825
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Funkybot View Post
Getting back to the Note Editor Reordering for a moment. There are a lot of awkward aspects to the Note Editor view that may be worth looking at in relation to note names. Things like:

1. Double Right-Click to rename. Why not just double left-click? Single right-click auditions the note the same as single left-click, so it's not to prevent note-audition when that's enabled.

2. Once the right-click, gets cleared up, I think it would make a let of sense to create a Note Name Editor Right-Click Context Menu. Could have features listed like:
  • Load Note/CC names from file
  • Save Note/CC names from file
  • Clear Note/CC names
  • Separator
  • Rename current note
  • Clear current note name [Note #: Note Name]
  • Hide note [#] from view
  • Show all note rows
  • Restore original note order

...I think from a UI/ease of use Perspective, that is a much tidier way of managing this over the current approach.

3. I would love the ability to make the name name area wider in order to make more text visible.

4. After changing the note order, saving Custom Note names to file should save and restore the note order on load. Maybe we even need two Load actions: A) "Load note/CC names from file," and B) "Load note/CC names and note order from "file.

Since the files are basic .txt files, I'd hope that it would be relatively simple to append a note order # field to the end of each row that Reaper could read. If not present on a legacy file, no change. If present, and the user choses to load with note order, that's what gets loaded.
Agreed. All excellent ideas!...although I notice that single right click on a note selects all notes on that row which is quite useful...... Doesn't make much difference to your idea though

Last edited by mozart999uk; 07-07-2021 at 06:33 AM. Reason: thought of something else
mozart999uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2021, 06:06 AM   #19
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 2,479
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thommazk View Post
Weird. I didn't find in this release:
https://imgur.com/2ndXLkC
Re-check the version of your REAPER, you're probably running a RC or release version.
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2021, 07:14 AM   #20
Funkybot
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,716
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mozart999uk View Post
Agreed. All excellent ideas!...although I notice that single right click on a note selects all notes on that row which is quite useful...... Doesn't make much difference to your idea though
Yeah, I was thinking about that too. It's definitely something that would need to be considered. I don't think it would be the worst thing in the world if that functionality stayed as is and opened a menu (particularly since hide actions rely on the selected note), but then if you just want to select all notes, having a menu pop up menu appear could be a pain.

Personally, I think something like Alt+left click [over a note] would be better suited to select all notes, but that would inevitably break someone's workflow and impact more than just the named notes view.

I kind of feel like the "MIDI Editor Notes Pane" almost warrants its own entry Preferences->Mouse Modifiers. For instance, if we could configure what Alt, Ctrl, Shift clicking on a note in that pane does, it would allow for greater flexibility by end users. You could implement a right-click menu or not (similar to CC lanes), and allow users to customize how Reaper behaves when clicking on note names.
Funkybot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2021, 07:38 AM   #21
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 10,162
Default TCP Master track pre-fader metering option ?

Does Reaper have a TCP Master track pre-fader metering option ? Otherwise I won't be able to use the new LUFS meter integration as I don't keep my Master at 0dB. hmmm
__________________
---> Checkout my latest Reaper album ! <---
Click Youtube Music to play the entire album.

www.chucktownband.com
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2021, 04:16 AM   #22
mozart999uk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 825
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Funkybot View Post
Yeah, I was thinking about that too. It's definitely something that would need to be considered. I don't think it would be the worst thing in the world if that functionality stayed as is and opened a menu (particularly since hide actions rely on the selected note), but then if you just want to select all notes, having a menu pop up menu appear could be a pain.

Personally, I think something like Alt+left click [over a note] would be better suited to select all notes, but that would inevitably break someone's workflow and impact more than just the named notes view.

I kind of feel like the "MIDI Editor Notes Pane" almost warrants its own entry Preferences->Mouse Modifiers. For instance, if we could configure what Alt, Ctrl, Shift clicking on a note in that pane does, it would allow for greater flexibility by end users. You could implement a right-click menu or not (similar to CC lanes), and allow users to customize how Reaper behaves when clicking on note names.
👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍
mozart999uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.