Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER General Discussion Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-26-2018, 12:12 PM   #1
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Black Forest
Posts: 5,067
Default Video machine: move edit cursor automatically to play cursor after "stop"

I know what you think: "why don't you use pause?"

The issue is: I use Reaper as video machine synced via MTC and no matter if I press stop or pause in my DAW, Reaper always returns to the edit cursor.

Is there a way to move the edit cursor to the play cursor, after the playback has stopped?
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub
If you like or use my scripts, please support the Ukraine: Ukraine Crisis Relief Fund | DirectRelief | Save The Children | Razom
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2018, 05:21 PM   #2
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 7,670
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
The issue is: I use Reaper as video machine synced via MTC and no matter if I press stop or pause in my DAW, Reaper always returns to the edit cursor.
Edit cursor should move to the play cursor when playback is paused. But if you want a stop command which will keep the play cursor at the position where the playback was stopped and move the edit cursor there, this simple custom action could do it:

Transport: Pause
Transport: Stop

There is also an action to move the edit cursor to play cursor;
View: Move edit cursor to play cursor.
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2018, 12:35 AM   #3
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 11,818
Default

The question is whether that can be done in response to MTC commands. Hmm.
__________________
Using Latch Preview (Video) - Faderport 16 setup for CSI 1.1 , CSI 3.10
Website
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2018, 02:30 AM   #4
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 7,670
Default

So MTC commands to/from the video machine? No idea about that, sorry about the misunderstanding. Reaper doesn't seem to handle MMC too well, according to old topics you both have been in?
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2018, 05:58 AM   #5
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Black Forest
Posts: 5,067
Default

@airon, exactly. The only way I could see is to check if the transport is stopped. But this would mean to run a script that constantly checks the transport. Of course, I would prefer a native solution.

@xpander, yes that's true. Video sync is way behind. But I'm absolutely certain that Justin and schwa could pull that off in no time.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub
If you like or use my scripts, please support the Ukraine: Ukraine Crisis Relief Fund | DirectRelief | Save The Children | Razom
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2018, 07:17 AM   #6
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Black Forest
Posts: 5,067
Default

Okay, I butchered something together. Not very professional, but it somehow works.

Code:
playstate =  reaper.GetPlayState();

loopcount=0

function runloop()
  
  loopcount=loopcount+1
  if loopcount >= 1 then
    loopcount=0
    if playstate ~= 1 then
    	reaper.Main_OnCommand(40434, 0);
    end
  end
  
  reaper.defer(runloop) 

end

reaper.defer(runloop)
This script runs in the background, so it's far from ideal but does the job.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub
If you like or use my scripts, please support the Ukraine: Ukraine Crisis Relief Fund | DirectRelief | Save The Children | Razom
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2018, 07:48 AM   #7
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7,592
Default

would this work?

Custom: Transport Stop and move cursor
View: Move edit cursor to play cursor
Transport: Stop (save all recorded media)

edit - was thinking reaper was the master project so this probably won't help
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog

Last edited by EpicSounds; 05-27-2018 at 07:55 AM.
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2018, 08:43 AM   #8
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Black Forest
Posts: 5,067
Default

Thanks man!

Quote:
edit - was thinking reaper was the master project so this probably won't help
Exactly, otherwise this would have worked.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub
If you like or use my scripts, please support the Ukraine: Ukraine Crisis Relief Fund | DirectRelief | Save The Children | Razom
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.