Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > Dstruct's Casa De Nitpicks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-14-2011, 07:36 AM   #1
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 7,891
Default warning message when trying to undo "multiple changes"

A follow up from these threads:

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=76496

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=76484

I think Reaper should display a warning message when the undo history contains "multiple changes" entries (when the specified amount of RAM usuable for the undo history is filled up) and the user invokes a "undo" for this.

When this happened to me the first time (not noticing that the undo history was full) and it took me quite some time to figure out what was going on.

I can imagine no case where a user would want to do a "undo multiple changes" as this leads to unpredictable and unexpected behaviour.

Last edited by nofish; 03-14-2011 at 07:42 AM.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2014, 02:37 AM   #2
PitchSlap
Human being with feelings
 
PitchSlap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 3,176
Default

I totally agree with all of this.

If you hadn't told me what the issue was, I'd still be scratching my head.

The current behaviour is not desirable in any case I can imagine and truly has the potential for the user to lose a lot of work.

There is no notice or warning anything is amiss. You either catch that multiple things have been undone (when you only requested the most recent change be undone), or you continue working thinking the the undo has functioned as it should and lose all your unsaved work after your next edit. What is even worse, is that if you've run out of undo memory, it means you've make a lot of edits which is not the time for the program to decide to undo them all and not tell you.


When modern systems have many gigs of RAM, I don't see why this should ever be an issue. Can't the undo memory size be dynamic? If there needs to be a fixed maximum the default should be something most will never reach. Having the potential to blow up your project because undo has used 30mb of your 12gb of RAM doesn't seem sensible to me.
__________________
FRs: v5 Media Explorer Requests, Global Quantization, Session View
Win10 64-bit, Reaper 5(x64), Core i7-5700HQ, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX 960M, SSD
PitchSlap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2014, 04:00 PM   #3
bladerunner
Human being with feelings
 
bladerunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 4,226
Default

Is this really the case? There's been a few times where things have seemed amiss in the past but I couldn't trace it to anything. This is not good.
bladerunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2014, 04:10 PM   #4
PitchSlap
Human being with feelings
 
PitchSlap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 3,176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bladerunner View Post
Is this really the case? There's been a few times where things have seemed amiss in the past but I couldn't trace it to anything. This is not good.
It seems to be. I think you can mostly avoid it by changing the undo memory setting in the preferences. The default is only 30mb, which is apparently too little (especially if you are saving multiple undo paths). I set it to 120MB and will raise it to 500MB if I ever encounter this again.
__________________
FRs: v5 Media Explorer Requests, Global Quantization, Session View
Win10 64-bit, Reaper 5(x64), Core i7-5700HQ, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX 960M, SSD
PitchSlap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2018, 08:34 AM   #5
urednik
Human being with feelings
 
urednik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,155
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
A follow up from these threads:

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=76496

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=76484

I think Reaper should display a warning message when the undo history contains "multiple changes" entries (when the specified amount of RAM usuable for the undo history is filled up) and the user invokes a "undo" for this.
At least a Pop-up warning should be, because it happens to many people that a lot of work goes lost without knowing. It is a must.
__________________
W10 (64) Lenovo E540 - SSD; Lenovo B590; W7 (32), Compaq 610 (2.1Ghz core 2 duo, L2 cache, 2GB RAM); Neumann mk184 (pair), AEA Ribbon 88mk, AKG SolidTUBE; Focusrite Scarlett 18i20, M-Audio Fast Track Ultra; SWS; Python Playlists; recording merely live acoustic music.
urednik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.