Old 03-28-2020, 02:35 AM   #1
BlessedOne72
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 315
Default USB Devices NOT working

I've got a Soundcraft 12 MTK and a IK Multimedia Stealthpedal .
Just last night both devices functioned as normal .

Now, both devices make REAPER freeze,
when I disconnect the USB-Audio Interface(s) REAPER responds as normal .

I re-installed REAPER (6.05) and uninstalled the drivers for the Audio Interfaces as well,
but nothing seems to work .

HELP ASAP,

- BOne -
BlessedOne72 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 06:25 AM   #2
georgemickel
Human being with feelings
 
georgemickel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Pewaukee,WI
Posts: 138
Default

Hi BlessedOne72,

I'm on Windows 10 Pro using two Motu usb 8pre's and have had some weird usb issues in recent months..
A few questions -

Are you using Windows or Mac and which version, plugging into a hub or direct into computer, have you updated your usb drivers?

Let us know what you've been doing.

G
georgemickel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 06:34 AM   #3
Nana
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 48
Default

Try to start Reaper with:
"REAPER (x64) (show audio configuration on startup)"
That calls
"C:\Program Files\REAPER (x64)\reaper.exe" -audiocfg
or wherever you installed it.

Reaper seems to loose the knowledge of audio and MIDI connections, if a driver gets reinstalled. I've found this on my laptop many times, if connecting a USB device on a different port, so creating a new install of the driver.

My way is to strictly connect everything everytime to the same ports before starting Reaper. If for some reason a Windows update or a driver update came up, I use the procedure above to make things work.
Nana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 07:02 AM   #4
BlessedOne72
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 315
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nana View Post
Try to start Reaper with:
"REAPER (x64) (show audio configuration on startup)"
That calls
"C:\Program Files\REAPER (x64)\reaper.exe" -audiocfg
or wherever you installed it.

Reaper seems to loose the knowledge of audio and MIDI connections, if a driver gets reinstalled. I've found this on my laptop many times, if connecting a USB device on a different port, so creating a new install of the driver.

My way is to strictly connect everything everytime to the same ports before starting Reaper. If for some reason a Windows update or a driver update came up, I use the procedure above to make things work.
Hi you all ;

User mistake as obvious ...
I had done some BIOS tweaks (disabled VT / Multi-processor) in order to install a Hackintosh distro . Reverted the BIOS - settings and all fine again (((:::

- BOne -
BlessedOne72 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.