Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Pre-Release Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-15-2017, 07:57 AM   #161
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by osxmidi View Post
It's detailed in https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=85588&page=45

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=85588&page=49

Maybe an i7 with 8 threads can get over it, but a dual core can't.
Both those links go to page 22 for me (as I've reconfigured my views of the forum) But no matter I read all the posts, and none tells me if you have 2 or 4 threads... I guess I'll just set my system to 2 cpus (2 threads) once I get around to testing, that ought to be even worse than your system if it actually has 4 threads. Who knows that might be the problem too, as I remember Spark doing something really weird. But it's difficult to reproduce problems without getting accurate information..

The only thing I can take away from that thread is that I'll have to test with Spark, Ezdrummer and possibly FM8.
__________________
Software: Archlinux/KDE, Komplete8, IK Multimedia, Toontrack, Schwa/Stillwell and various other plugs. Gear: i7-2600k, 16gb ram, RME Multiface, RME Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040, and too much more :)
Jack Winter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2017, 06:12 PM   #162
nosucherror
Human being with feelings
 
nosucherror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: London, Perfidious Albion
Posts: 40
Default

Hi OSXMIDI,
I'm using the latest REAPER, LinVst and Wine. I can't close plug-in windows. Even if I shut down REAPER they're still there until I kill them. This is with Ephonic Drumatic4, Toneboosters Barricade4 and Melda MPowerSynth.
__________________
Ubuntu Studio 16.04 | M-Audio Fast Track Ultra & M-Audio Delta 1010 | AMD FX-8320 | 16Gib RAM
nosucherror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2017, 08:46 PM   #163
osxmidi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nosucherror View Post
Hi OSXMIDI,
I'm using the latest REAPER, LinVst and Wine. I can't close plug-in windows. Even if I shut down REAPER they're still there until I kill them. This is with Ephonic Drumatic4, Toneboosters Barricade4 and Melda MPowerSynth.
I've updated LinVst, see if that helps.

Last edited by osxmidi; 09-18-2017 at 04:10 AM.
osxmidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2017, 09:32 AM   #164
nosucherror
Human being with feelings
 
nosucherror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: London, Perfidious Albion
Posts: 40
Default

Thanks OSXMIDI,
it's a bit better, plugins still wont close if I 'x' their window but will if I 'x' the REAPER plugin window. Melda MPowerSynth, however, still wont close and requires killing.
Also plugins always open behind REAPER which is a bit annoying.

On another note, I recently updated Ubuntu Studio to 17.04 and am about to go back to 16.04 because the native U-he synths' menus don't work. Do you think this has any bearing on LinVSt, as in are you developing it on any particular distro or kernel version?
__________________
Ubuntu Studio 16.04 | M-Audio Fast Track Ultra & M-Audio Delta 1010 | AMD FX-8320 | 16Gib RAM
nosucherror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2017, 12:54 PM   #165
David Else
Human being with feelings
 
David Else's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Near London, UK
Posts: 429
Default

hello osxmidi,

what does it really mean for my system that you are now compiling with wine-staging 2.16 and I am running the stable 2.02? could this be bad news for my stability, or should it not make any difference?

I can't quite get my head around what part of my system will be using the installed wine, and what part the staging 2.16.

cheers.
__________________
----------> Fedora Linux Distribution = Computing Joy & Freedom <----------
Learn Digital Audio Home | 'Nebula Explained' Course Out Now! | YouTube Channel | Facebook | Twitter
David Else is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2017, 09:02 PM   #166
osxmidi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nosucherror View Post
Thanks OSXMIDI,
it's a bit better, plugins still wont close if I 'x' their window but will if I 'x' the REAPER plugin window. Melda MPowerSynth, however, still wont close and requires killing.
Also plugins always open behind REAPER which is a bit annoying.

On another note, I recently updated Ubuntu Studio to 17.04 and am about to go back to 16.04 because the native U-he synths' menus don't work. Do you think this has any bearing on LinVSt, as in are you developing it on any particular distro or kernel version?
With the new version, the closing of the window was disabled, so that's why it didn't work.

I've enabled window closing and also the window appearing as the top most window in the LinVst code at github (I havn't updated the binary releases yet).

But when the plugin is first loaded, it appears behind reaper, but if the plugin ui is closed and then opened then it appears in front of reaper as it should, so I'm looking into it.

Last edited by osxmidi; 09-18-2017 at 10:54 PM.
osxmidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2017, 09:06 PM   #167
osxmidi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Else View Post
hello osxmidi,

what does it really mean for my system that you are now compiling with wine-staging 2.16 and I am running the stable 2.02? could this be bad news for my stability, or should it not make any difference?

I can't quite get my head around what part of my system will be using the installed wine, and what part the staging 2.16.

cheers.
I don't think it means too much.

I've had to go back to Wine 1.8 for Ubuntu 14.04 and if I make LinVst using Wine 1.8 then it still works ok on Debian 9 or Ubuntu 16.10 with Wine staging 2.16
osxmidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2017, 12:10 AM   #168
osxmidi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by osxmidi View Post
With the new version, the closing of the window was disabled, so that's why it didn't work.

I've enabled window closing and also the window appearing as the top most window in the LinVst code at github (I havn't updated the binary releases yet).

But when the plugin is first loaded, it appears behind reaper, but if the plugin ui is closed and then opened then it appears in front of reaper as it should, so I'm looking into it.
I can make the plugin window be always on top, so if that's what you want then save any of the makefiles ending in ontop to Makefile and then enter make.
osxmidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 12:46 PM   #169
nosucherror
Human being with feelings
 
nosucherror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: London, Perfidious Albion
Posts: 40
Default

I just did a fresh install of Ubuntu Studio 16.04 as 17.04 doesn't work with U-He synths. One of the first things I did was install Development Branch WINE to test LinVst but I ran into a problem. I tried installing Melda's plugin .exe and, after the Mono and Gecko warnings, threw up this error:

Could not initialize the GUI subsystem.
Error:No styles available. Please reinstall the software.

Does anyone know what I'm doing wrong? Jack?
__________________
Ubuntu Studio 16.04 | M-Audio Fast Track Ultra & M-Audio Delta 1010 | AMD FX-8320 | 16Gib RAM
nosucherror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 01:16 PM   #170
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nosucherror View Post
I just did a fresh install of Ubuntu Studio 16.04 as 17.04 doesn't work with U-He synths. One of the first things I did was install Development Branch WINE to test LinVst but I ran into a problem. I tried installing Melda's plugin .exe and, after the Mono and Gecko warnings, threw up this error:

Could not initialize the GUI subsystem.
Error:No styles available. Please reinstall the software.

Does anyone know what I'm doing wrong? Jack?
The mono and gecko warnings are normal, imo when that happens just install them. For the rest I don't know and don't have time right now to play with plugins
__________________
Software: Archlinux/KDE, Komplete8, IK Multimedia, Toontrack, Schwa/Stillwell and various other plugs. Gear: i7-2600k, 16gb ram, RME Multiface, RME Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040, and too much more :)
Jack Winter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2017, 09:32 AM   #171
nosucherror
Human being with feelings
 
nosucherror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: London, Perfidious Albion
Posts: 40
Default

I managed to fix it (I wont say "figure it out"!).
I was going through osxmidi's advice on GitHub regarding Wine prefixes and DLL overrides which is pretty new to me. I knew that it couldn't be anything too drastic as I have installed all the Melda 11.05 plugs on a Ubuntu 17.04 machine. So I started trying older bundles of the Melda plugs starting with MDrummerLarge6.07 and Melda 10.07 which installed fine, after that I kept iterating and ended up at the latest versions which (so far) are working.
So I'm guessing there is some redistributable library in the older installers that isn't in the new ones.
Is there any way of telling if libraries are missing when Wine wont install an app? Or is it just trial and error?
__________________
Ubuntu Studio 16.04 | M-Audio Fast Track Ultra & M-Audio Delta 1010 | AMD FX-8320 | 16Gib RAM
nosucherror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2017, 04:28 AM   #172
4duhwinnn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 172
Default

lib64freetype6 V 2.81

apparently has a bug
that prevents a lot of wine functionality,
winecfg won't open, windows reaper and standalone
apps needing wine won't launch.

I reverted to the 2.71 release of the lib64freetype6,
and all was well again.


Some bug reports were from wine-staging 2.17 users,
I confirm also in 2.15, so it's not wine at fault, at least
on the surface, where us non-coders lurk.

Now the good news, I have IK Multimedia's free version of
Syntronik working in Reaper550RC23, the mouse cursor
needs a quick drag out of, and back into, the preset selector panel,
everything else seems to be working fine so far. It has 50 sounds,
a lot of fine effects, and 4 layers, so a wide range of vintage synth sounds are awaiting. It's a 1 gig download,
and the gui holds a lot of functions in what amounts to
a tabbed interface. Well worth setting up an account.

Docking and undocking the gui may help the cursor oddities a bit.
Cheers
4duhwinnn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2017, 02:21 AM   #173
David Else
Human being with feelings
 
David Else's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Near London, UK
Posts: 429
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4duhwinnn View Post
lib64freetype6 V 2.81

apparently has a bug
that prevents a lot of wine functionality,
winecfg won't open, windows reaper and standalone
apps needing wine won't launch.

I reverted to the 2.71 release of the lib64freetype6,
and all was well again.


Some bug reports were from wine-staging 2.17 users,
I confirm also in 2.15, so it's not wine at fault, at least
on the surface, where us non-coders lurk.

Now the good news, I have IK Multimedia's free version of
Syntronik working in Reaper550RC23, the mouse cursor
needs a quick drag out of, and back into, the preset selector panel,
everything else seems to be working fine so far. It has 50 sounds,
a lot of fine effects, and 4 layers, so a wide range of vintage synth sounds are awaiting. It's a 1 gig download,
and the gui holds a lot of functions in what amounts to
a tabbed interface. Well worth setting up an account.

Docking and undocking the gui may help the cursor oddities a bit.
Cheers
Thanks for the heads up! I checked Fedora 26 with
Code:
dnf info freetype*
and its using 2.71, phew! 2.86 is coming as it's in the Rawhide repo... maybe they fixed it by that version?
__________________
----------> Fedora Linux Distribution = Computing Joy & Freedom <----------
Learn Digital Audio Home | 'Nebula Explained' Course Out Now! | YouTube Channel | Facebook | Twitter
David Else is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2017, 12:51 PM   #174
4duhwinnn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 172
Default

SampleTank 3 CS and Syntonik standalones works OK
in wine-staging with over-rides, Syntonik plugin
works in linux reaper using airwave, but the SampleTank plugin
does not.

Both windows versions plugins work in windows reaper
with wine-staging.

Maybe someone can try LinVst on the SampleTank plugin?
It is a 400+ meg download, with a separate download
of a 400+ meg soundset. (plus a standard Syntronik install
will make the Syntronik 1gig soundset available in SampleTank)

An IK account actually works very well, I have 8 products,
and reauthorizing is simple using their software.
Cheers
(SampleTank is 16 part multi-tymbral, a bit like a zynaddsubfx
for samples)

www.ikmultimedia.com

EDIT the versions I mentioned are free, with lots of
helpful youtubes out there.
Cheers

Last edited by 4duhwinnn; 10-01-2017 at 12:38 PM.
4duhwinnn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2017, 07:55 PM   #175
osxmidi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kytdkut View Post
I've always had this issue with the embedded version of linvst. It happens with Voxengo's, ValhallaDSP's, Surreal Machine's Diffuse (this one also has a problem when dragging knobs, mouse goes crazy), Xpand!2, and some other VST I'm unable to recall now. In standalone window version all plugin windows works as intended. Airwave did not have this issue but any attempt to resize a window would crash Airwave and host. It was a pain
I think I've worked it out in LinVst 1.7 (hopefully).

I've had to add tracking and syncing of events for the embedded window for the mouse and menus to work normally with some Windows vst plugins.

Airwave uses XEMBED and that can lead to display issues but the mouse and menus will work normally, but the downside is that sometimes the vst appears partially drawn and other issues like instability can happen as well.

Abique's vst bridge (which Airwave is based on) didn't use XEMBED and I'm not using it either, so the mouse and menus for some plugins were out of sync but I've added sync event tracking in LinVst 1.7.

Last edited by osxmidi; 10-01-2017 at 08:04 PM.
osxmidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2017, 02:44 PM   #176
kytdkut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by osxmidi View Post
I think I've worked it out in LinVst 1.7 (hopefully).

I've had to add tracking and syncing of events for the embedded window for the mouse and menus to work normally with some Windows vst plugins.

Airwave uses XEMBED and that can lead to display issues but the mouse and menus will work normally, but the downside is that sometimes the vst appears partially drawn and other issues like instability can happen as well.

Abique's vst bridge (which Airwave is based on) didn't use XEMBED and I'm not using it either, so the mouse and menus for some plugins were out of sync but I've added sync event tracking in LinVst 1.7.
IT WORKS! I'm amazed. What you've been doing here is great and very important to me. Thanks!
kytdkut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2017, 04:45 AM   #177
osxmidi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 300
Default

I've managed to get drag and drop working with the embedded version in LinVst 1.75.

It's useful for dragging sfz files onto sforzando and for drag and drop with other plugins.

Might not always work, because it depends on Wines drag and drop but sforzando's drag and drop seems to work ok at least on my setups.
osxmidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2017, 10:12 PM   #178
osxmidi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 300
Default

Dragging and dropping grooves into the composer works now for MT Power Drumkit 2 with the LinVst 1.76 embedded (drag) version.

MT Power Drumkit 2 might/probably needs d2d1 to be disabled in the winecfg Libraries dll list.

The new Wine staging 2.18 has some new d2d1 routines added, but I don't know if that is going to help some plugins that use d2d1.dll.

Last edited by osxmidi; 10-05-2017 at 10:20 PM.
osxmidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2017, 01:57 AM   #179
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default

There's been a lot of work being done on d2d1 lately, I suggest anyone having d2d1 issues with plugins to regularly update wine and to test troublesome plugins again. Chances are that at some point more plugins will start working correctly
__________________
Software: Archlinux/KDE, Komplete8, IK Multimedia, Toontrack, Schwa/Stillwell and various other plugs. Gear: i7-2600k, 16gb ram, RME Multiface, RME Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040, and too much more :)
Jack Winter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2017, 09:33 PM   #180
4duhwinnn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 172
Default

Peavey Revalver 4 is working in linux 550rc23
edit: (5.60rc10 reaper's menus would
flash for a flash, then vanish, so I rolled back)
Revalver also works in wine 2.17/2.18 with d2d1,
and the typical wine over-rides.

And it has a '3rd party vst' option among it's
module loading menu, and after it scanned for vsts,
I chose to load Amplitube 4, to have a powerhouse ampsim
inside a powerhouse ampsim....yyyaaaaawwwnnnnnn,
just another linux doodad to fool around with.
(well there's a poorly set-up attempt at droll humour)

Those new to Peavey Revalver, it offers a free limited version,
and loading modules with a pricetag (they are $7.99 or less!!!)
invokes a silly cartoonish sound effect that miight make you giggle.

Revalver is just under 240 meg download, and the installer went on and on and on,
me thinking some weird loop occurred. It finally finished. Lots of little files to place.

I ran the standalone first, it appeared to work, sound visible in meters, but not audible.
So I moved to the plugin in Reaper which seems fine.

Workflow is simple, click to select either stomps, amps, or effects
on the main gui, then click the modules button to see
a visual list of what's available to populate the given slot
in the pedalboard gui.
Cheers

edit: for this I was using wine-staging 2.18, and Mono and Gecko both got installed
while I was sleeping, and Airwave wrapped the Revalver/Amplitube plugins.

Last edited by 4duhwinnn; 10-14-2017 at 12:50 AM. Reason: clarity
4duhwinnn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.