Old 05-11-2011, 01:31 PM   #1
keykeeper
Human being with feelings

Default REAPER MIDI Item tempo change

I am fairly new to midi in REAPER but I have one question. When I have a midi item that is e.g 4 bars and a quarter note for each bar and BPM is 120. If I then change the BPM to 80 the midi item will be disformed.. I would expect it to remain 4 bars but the playback to be slower. Assume there is a setting for this behaviour somwhere??
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 01.jpg (10.8 KB, 1755 views)
File Type: jpg 02.jpg (12.8 KB, 1429 views)
keykeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 04:36 PM   #2
V'ger

Right-click track and in the menu: 'Set track timebease' choose 'beats (position, length, rate).

This can also be set in project settings (alt-enter) as default for tracks.
V'ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2011, 04:07 AM   #3
keykeeper

Fantastic - many thanks for the advise. It would be great if you have a chance to very briefly explain the difference between the different timebases?? I searched through the user guide but there is no good explanation there.
Old 05-13-2011, 05:37 AM   #4
musicbynumbers

Quote:
Originally Posted by keykeeper View Post
Fantastic - many thanks for the advise. It would be great if you have a chance to very briefly explain the difference between the different timebases?? I searched through the user guide but there is no good explanation there.
Time based will mean the item will not change position or length when you change tempo. (Needed for sound and dialogue in film, where later on you want to put music underneath of varying tempo)

Beat based will change jut the start of the item but keep the length the same (useful for musical sound effects or short audio samples like snares where you want them to stay locked to the tempo bit not stretch)

Beat with length based will tinestretch the item as you change tempo and keep start positioned locked to beats and bars (good for things like drum loops)