Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Old 02-20-2019, 10:06 AM   #1
Peterglass
Human being with feelings

Default Insert space at the beginning of a project

I'm very new to Reaper. Working on a project which I started right on the downbeat of the song. I've since added some virtual horns and need space before the first note is played in order to insert a keyswitch that controls the articulation.

I marked off a 1/16 note at the beginning of the tune and used the insert space command. OK, no problem. But, when I go to any track containing MIDI something bizarre happens when I try to stretch the track over the new space. The existing MIDI notes get all jumbled or vanish completely.

I'm certain that this must be pilot error, but I can't seem to figure out how to get that extra space at the beginning of the song without screwing up what's already there. Help!
Peterglass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 10:50 AM   #2
solger

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peterglass View Post
.. But, when I go to any track containing MIDI something bizarre happens when I try to stretch the track over the new space. The existing MIDI notes get all jumbled or vanish completely.!
How are you doing the 'track stretch' exactly? And can you maybe post a screenshot of the issue?

In general, is the Loop source option unchecked for the MIDI Item (Item > Item Properties )?
Old 02-20-2019, 04:30 PM   #3
Peterglass

Default Before and after images

Solger, Thanks for your reply. Reaper is somewhat arcane, so I'm glad there's an active community willing to help newbies like myself.