Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-01-2009, 10:29 AM   #1
KillrBuckeye
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 22
Default Can I use instrument cable to connect my powered studio monitor speakers?

I have a pair of KRK Rokit 5 powered studio monitor speakers. When I purchased the speakers, I got a set of 14-gauge speaker cables with 1/4" connectors. These have worked perfectly fine so far, but one of the cables is a bit too short and I can't tuck it away neatly behind my desk. I want to get something longer, but I'm finding that a 20' run of speaker cable is $20+, which is a bit more than I want to spend for improved aesthetics of my recording desk.

Thinking about this some more, I'm questioning whether I really need a thick speaker cable for this run. Aren't heavy-duty speaker cables really intended to transmit the output of amplifiers to passive speaker systems? Since I'm just sending a line-level signal to a powered speaker, couldn't I just get by with an instrument cable? Thanks in advance for any input you can provide.
KillrBuckeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 02:52 PM   #2
Milt
Human being with feelings
 
Milt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 343
Default

It would seem to me that an instrument cable would be the best thing to use. That's what I use on my powered Behringers, thats what my manual said to use.
Milt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 06:35 PM   #3
pw3
Human being with feelings
 
pw3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 354
Default

I agree - shielded (instrument) cables into powered speakers.
pw3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 06:45 AM   #4
yhertogh
Human being with feelings
 
yhertogh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,461
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KillrBuckeye View Post
I have a pair of KRK Rokit 5 powered studio monitor speakers. When I purchased the speakers, I got a set of 14-gauge speaker cables with 1/4" connectors. These have worked perfectly fine so far, but one of the cables is a bit too short and I can't tuck it away neatly behind my desk. I want to get something longer, but I'm finding that a 20' run of speaker cable is $20+, which is a bit more than I want to spend for improved aesthetics of my recording desk.

Thinking about this some more, I'm questioning whether I really need a thick speaker cable for this run. Aren't heavy-duty speaker cables really intended to transmit the output of amplifiers to passive speaker systems? Since I'm just sending a line-level signal to a powered speaker, couldn't I just get by with an instrument cable? Thanks in advance for any input you can provide.
You're right..instrument cable should do fine

Yves
yhertogh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 07:02 AM   #5
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,305
Default

Balanced cables would be better.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 10:23 AM   #6
Bezmotivnik
Human being with feelings
 
Bezmotivnik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: California
Posts: 1,436
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dstruct View Post
Balanced cables would be better.
Depends on length of run.

With, say, 3'-4' runs to desk nearfields from a DAW or rack unit, there's zero (0) real advantage to using balanced cables.

25'? Yeah, go balanced.
Bezmotivnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 02:01 PM   #7
KillrBuckeye
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bezmotivnik View Post
Depends on length of run.

With, say, 3'-4' runs to desk nearfields from a DAW or rack unit, there's zero (0) real advantage to using balanced cables.

25'? Yeah, go balanced.
Thanks for all the responses. Hmmm, I'm probably looking at 15-20 foot runs, so maybe I should stick with balanced cables. I guess it's still going to cost me a bit more than I wanted, because I'll have to buy two. (I read somewhere that you don't want cables of different length going to your two monitor speakers, because it can cause timing issues).
KillrBuckeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 08:50 PM   #8
Graeme
Human being with feelings
 
Graeme's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Spain
Posts: 99
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KillrBuckeye View Post
I read somewhere that you don't want cables of different length going to your two monitor speakers, because it can cause timing issues.
Nonsense. If that was true, all your mic cable runs would have to be exactly the same .

Electricity travels at the speed of light, I think you'd find it hard to hear any delays introduced by a few extra feet of cabling.
Graeme is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.