Old 02-21-2017, 02:26 PM   #1
zacki
Human being with feelings
 
zacki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: TBB - Germany
Posts: 100
Default Paint straight line of notes - broken? (FIXED)

Hi.

I tried to paint MIDI notes with CTRL+ALT left drag. Measure was set to 3/4 and grid was set to full note. Notes are not painted on every beat (kind of random) Is someone able to confirm this?

REAPER 5.33x86 Win7x64

__________________
Some of my favourite posts: 1 2 3 --- to be continued...
zacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2017, 02:50 PM   #2
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 19,563
Default

Might wanna check what's happening in regular (rectangular) mode first. You probably don't need note length set to Grid, for starters... although I can't seem to replicate what you're showing here with the same settings...
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2017, 03:15 PM   #3
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,252
Default

I can confirm this behavior. (Using rectangular notes, 3/4 time sig, and grid = 1 or 2, REAPER v5.33)

One of the recent REAPER versions included an update in the snap-to-grid behavior when grid = 1 or longer, which is probably when this behavior sneaked in.

BTW, if I am not mistaken, grid=1 refers to one measure, not one whole note.

EDIT:
Perhaps try the latest v5.34 pre-release version:
v5.33: "+ MIDI: interpret grid lengths longer than the current measure length as a number of bars"
v5.34pre7: "+ MIDI editor: fix quantize when grid is a full measure or greater"

EDIT 2:
I quickly tested the new v5.34rc, and this has not been fixed.

Last edited by juliansader; 02-21-2017 at 03:31 PM.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2017, 03:18 PM   #4
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 19,563
Default

Yeah, it refers to the whole measure (see rectangle drawing mode, it doesn't draw 4 beats, it draws 3, when timesig is 3/4).


EDIT: I can confirm it, too. I was using the wrong modifier (paint notes, instead of paint a straight line of notes).
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2017, 01:11 AM   #5
zacki
Human being with feelings
 
zacki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: TBB - Germany
Posts: 100
Default

Thank you ED and Julian for checking this. What do you think, shall I post it in the Casa De Nitpicks or are the Devs aware of posts like this one?
__________________
Some of my favourite posts: 1 2 3 --- to be continued...
zacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2017, 01:54 AM   #6
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,252
Default

I have posted a short comment in the v5.34rc1 pre-release thread. If you want, we can perhaps move this entire thread to the Casa de Nitpicks or Bug Reports?

EDIT: Moved to bug reports.

EDIT 2: Fixed in v5.40!

Last edited by juliansader; 03-23-2017 at 06:22 PM.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.