Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-08-2017, 01:41 AM   #1
Azzar
Human being with feelings
 
Azzar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 20
Default Quantize to grid actions not working as intended

The "Quantize notes position to grid" action uses the "Strength" setting from the main Quantize window (for that we have the "Quantize ... last quantize dialog settings" actions). Hence, the strength has to be set at 100% for this action to work as intended.

These actions have the same problem:

Quantize events to grid
Quantize notes position and end to grid

Any one else noticed this?
Azzar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2017, 02:42 AM   #2
Azzar
Human being with feelings
 
Azzar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 20
Default

I've been racking my brain and combing through preferences to check if this was a configuration thing, but it really does seem to be a bug (and, I suppose, easily fixed).

Surely I can't be the only one who would like a hotkey for hard quantizing to grid and another for quantizing with lower strength from the quantize window?

So to recap:

1. "Quantize notes position to grid" does the exact same thing as
2. "Quantize notes using last quantize dialog settings"

Same goes for the "events" and "position and end" versions of 2.
Azzar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2017, 03:39 AM   #3
Azzar
Human being with feelings
 
Azzar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 20
Default

I did some additional tests, and tried the same thing - with the same results- in these versions:
5.40, 5.28, 5.00, 4.78, 4.00

So either it's a very old bug, or it's a misnamed duplicate action.

If someone would like to confirm that it's not major user error on my part, these are simple steps to reproduce:

1. Make new project
2. Add a track and an empty midi item.
3. Open piano roll, and draw some notes that are not on grid lines
4. Open Quantize window and set Strength to something around 50%. Press CANCEL.
5. Select the notes and run the action "Quantize notes position to grid"
Result: The notes only move the percentage specified in the Quantize window.

It would be lovely and save a lot if clicking and dragging to have this thing fixed.
Azzar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2017, 01:41 AM   #4
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,241
Default

I can confirm this bug.

(Added to the Bestiary.)
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2017, 02:05 AM   #5
midiman007
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: New York
Posts: 145
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juliansader View Post
I can confirm this bug.

(Added to the Bestiary.)
Thanks for your scripts Justin. They are totally awesome.
If you could look at my suggestion about the all the notes not being displayed
in the arranger window and try and do some sort of work around that would be great. It would be really nice to know in the arranger area that me ( a User ) is not seeing all of the notes that are displayed.

Have a nice day.
midiman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2017, 12:37 AM   #6
Azzar
Human being with feelings
 
Azzar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 20
Default

Thanks Julian!

Let's hope the 6.x cycle comes with the glorious updates to midi editing that we've been longing for.
Azzar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.