Old 04-24-2017, 11:31 AM   #1
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 392
Default Online render regions messes up beginning

When doing an analog mix bus chain with rea insert and using the render region matrix, the first region rendered is ok, but the following ones are getting dropouts (stuttering buffer issue) in the beginning of the render as if reaper has to catch up with the processing.

This does not happen when rendering regions one by one is a render que.

Maybe not a bug per se, but it would be great if this can be solved to work as intended.
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2017, 10:37 PM   #2
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 392
Default

A little update on this.
Even when ReaInsert is bypassed, meaning a completely ITB mix this still happens. Its as if the reaper doesnt buffer the start of the render properly from Region #2 and onwards. Again during ONLINE rendering.
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 01:53 PM   #3
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 392
Default

Would be GREAT if this would be fixed.
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 05:37 PM   #4
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 10,833
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlprod View Post
A little update on this.
Even when ReaInsert is bypassed, meaning a completely ITB mix this still happens. Its as if the reaper doesnt buffer the start of the render properly from Region #2 and onwards. Again during ONLINE rendering.
What are you rendering mlprod? Midi, audio?
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums
Elk Videos->Opening / Snooze / Bull Fight / End Credits
Tod's Music->1st Recording (1965) / My Daughter / A Little Country
Tod is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2017, 12:58 AM   #5
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 392
Default

Audio!
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2017, 01:44 PM   #6
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 392
Default

bump on this!
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2017, 10:32 AM   #7
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 392
Default

Bump for devs to check this for 5.60.
Again the first region is always fine, 2nd and onwards not.
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 06:12 AM   #8
masterlab
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 2
Default

I just encountered this as well ;-(
masterlab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 06:17 AM   #9
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19,669
Default

Any samples involved? In the render dialog there is..

"Delay queued render to allow samples to load"

Maybe make sure that is checked.
__________________
Choosing to play the simpler part instead of the fancier one, takes a lot of courage
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2017, 11:26 AM   #10
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 392
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
Any samples involved? In the render dialog there is..

"Delay queued render to allow samples to load"

Maybe make sure that is checked.
This doesnt help since it's not a queued render that's the issue, but region renders. The current work around for me is actually to cue up the regions one by one, which does work ok, but is tedious and a time waster.
I guess this is some sort of bug because if the first region works fine, the rest should work equally well.
I should add that this is a bigger problem for me when having big mix projects, AND reainserts for hardware running live. (hence the online render)
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2017, 11:29 AM   #11
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19,669
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlprod View Post
This doesnt help since it's not a queued render that's the issue, but region renders.
Looks like I misread this part...

Quote:
This does not happen when rendering regions one by one is a render que.
I do remember an issue I intermittently have with regions where one region will drop part of the render but I forget the details - however, I'm almost sure in my case it was a queued render.
__________________
Choosing to play the simpler part instead of the fancier one, takes a lot of courage
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 02:03 PM   #12
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 392
Default

Bump for an 5.60 fix for this!=)
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2017, 01:20 PM   #13
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 392
Default

bump on this.
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2017, 04:18 AM   #14
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 392
Default

Another update. This happens whenever I have a quite big project with lots of plugins. I have tried almost all types of settings int he buffering prefs, nothing helps.

Might be a PDC issue?

When reaper jumps to region #2 to be rendered it starts immediately, this to me seems weird and maybe the reason why this is happning. It seems like reaper doesn't buffer what it needs before starting playback/render, which happens when just playing normally in the project.

Maybe time for a sort of pre-roll delay option for online renders to prevent this from happning?
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.