Old 09-12-2017, 03:00 AM   #1
Indirect
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 108
Default Chord track/s ?

Any possibility to create "chord track" in reaper? I mean super simple functionality of display the chord name regardless of zoom level, arranger/editor/notator etc. Notation view somewhat has thos function, but what if it could be overlayed with 50% opacity ON ANY track, not just the one where text (chord name) been input.
Right now I use markers, but its really painful as editing names is hover mouse / click+click/ type > do again, as with native function it could be as simple as type / tab (½ note forward)> do again
Using Markers means transport is messed up (was chorus/ verse, now ½ of the bar.).
Again, all this is just for visual reference. Right now I either use pencil and paper (and fkn eraser all over the place) or markers... Would be invaluable for writing parts. I mean scenario, where memory not really works as everything changes with one or two playthroughs/overdubs.
This and scrolling notation (as in arrange view) would mean a world to me
Indirect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2017, 04:58 AM   #2
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 21,113
Default

You can use empty items and item notes to do that.

https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...2&postcount=12
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2017, 12:39 PM   #3
Masi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 396
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
You can use empty items and item notes to do that.
Nice idea.

But a dedicated chord lane above/below the marke lane would be nice. The benefit of a chord lane is that it won't disappear when you start vertical scrolling the tracks.

Masi
Masi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2017, 01:41 PM   #4
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 21,113
Default

Might as well use regions for that, then.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2017, 04:24 AM   #5
ivan.lt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 436
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Masi View Post
The benefit of a chord lane is that it won't disappear when you start vertical scrolling the tracks.
I think there has been a request for spreadsheet-style screen splitting so that you could scroll one part while the other remains fixed. Better yet, there could be a "scroll pin" on a track which would prevent it from moving off the screen. In fact, I like this idea so much that I'll probably make a separate request for it now.
ivan.lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2017, 11:41 AM   #6
Ozman
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 339
Default

I currently use a "Progressions" Track with the chords and the midi editor (layered midi editing) to fix notes to flow with the chords.
Ozman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2017, 03:28 PM   #7
naythinjuromeh
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 84
Default

+1 please add a chord track or plugin like the one in cubase
naythinjuromeh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2017, 06:28 AM   #8
Masi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 396
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivan.lt View Post
Better yet, there could be a "scroll pin" on a track which would prevent it from moving off the screen.
Ah yes, that sounds cool.

Masi
Masi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2017, 06:34 AM   #9
Masi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 396
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Might as well use regions for that, then.
Actually I like it that you provide suggestions for workaraounds, but both markers and regions have disadvantages if used for chords. Both feature an id which is not needed and clutters up the lane.

And if you use regions for chords then you'll end up with ugly overlapping regions. That is until Reaper gets multiple region lanes

Masi
Masi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2017, 08:41 AM   #10
Indirect
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 108
Default

Update:

I use HeDa scripts now. Note reader is fine for my needs, though paid version allows "karaoke notes" But for displaying chord and anticipating next one - its great! I just dock it under the arranger, and when I don't need it , just close it, perfect!
Indirect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2018, 08:09 AM   #11
Michael AD
Human being with feelings
 
Michael AD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Hackensack
Posts: 87
Default

I would love to see a track for chord names similar to the rows used for markers/regions.

I tried using Empty Items w/note names... I experimented creating a track of them set to a quarter note grid and it was fine for the track view, but they do not appear in the midi view - which for me is essential.

I then created Regions, also set to the quarter note grid, but as someone pointed out, each Region has a number, but at least the Regions do appear in the midi view.

It would seem to me that a chord row (with an on/off view option) would be a wonderful addition to Reaper. Ideally, it would have a grid setting that you can choose so the chords would move/match to the other tracks as you zoom in/out.
Michael AD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2018, 08:29 AM   #12
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,240
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael AD View Post
I would love to see a track for chord names similar to the rows used for markers/regions.
this request might be related:
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....t=chord+marker
deeb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2018, 01:09 PM   #13
Michael AD
Human being with feelings
 
Michael AD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Hackensack
Posts: 87
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deeb View Post
I think you want a bit more than I am needing.

I only need to write chord names with simple text - CMaj7, dm9, G13, etc.

Of course, if the chord name can provide harmonic influence for actions such as inputting notes, then that would be an added bonus.
But I would think that would be a far more involved task to implement than simple text.
Michael AD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2018, 01:33 PM   #14
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,240
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael AD View Post
I think you want a bit more than I am needing.

I only need to write chord names with simple text - CMaj7, dm9, G13, etc.

Of course, if the chord name can provide harmonic influence for actions such as inputting notes, then that would be an added bonus.
But I would think that would be a far more involved task to implement than simple text.
that is the 1st feature requested! which is not dependent of the rest.

Last edited by deeb; 01-08-2018 at 01:54 PM.
deeb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2018, 10:39 PM   #15
LIL_Pay_Pay
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Might as well use regions for that, then.
Or a chord track.
LIL_Pay_Pay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2018, 05:44 AM   #16
munkleby
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ozman View Post
I currently use a "Progressions" Track with the chords and the midi editor (layered midi editing) to fix notes to flow with the chords.
Any chance you could share your set up please? This sounds exactly like what I am hoping to achieve
munkleby is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.