Old 02-04-2017, 06:35 AM   #1
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 7,032
Default arangement view jumps when selecting items

edit, better licecap:
https://i.imgur.com/w3vOj6A.gif

Seems to be triggered here when:

- have an (MIDI) item covered full arangement length (zoomed in)
- select with right drag (default here is: Marquee select items)

edit:
I've figured now what's happening:
When the edit cursor is not into view when marquee selecting, edit cursor is brought into view automatically.
Hm...is this intended ?

R5.33RC2

edit2:
Seems MIDI editor has to be open and display at least one item for it to happen.

Test project attached.

- double click an item to open MIDI editor
- place cursor somewhere so it's not visible in current view (important step)
- marquee select an unselected item
- arrangement view should jump to cursor


edit3:
Actually I can trigger it also by single left-clicking, not just marquee select.

https://i.imgur.com/KL9b9mr.gifv
Attached Files
File Type: rpp arr jmp test.RPP (7.2 KB, 16 views)

Last edited by nofish; 02-04-2017 at 07:46 AM.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2017, 02:11 PM   #2
Ulf3000
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 336
Default

bump very annoying basically makes working with midi and using one midi-editor for the whole project ALMOST impossible or very tedious at least , this should really be fixed
Ulf3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2017, 04:01 PM   #3
FnA
Human being with feelings
 
FnA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,623
Default

I use "project sync," where the annoyance is auto zooming to length of the item being opened. I use SWS:Undo Zoom hundreds of times per project.

Can't reproduce with that setting. I can with "Beats:Project."

I think option to have "Active MIDI item follows selection changes in arrange view" has to be on too.
FnA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2017, 03:14 AM   #4
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,121
Default

The project seems to work fine on my system, v5.50rc18, and I don't get any jumps in the arrange view.

Have you perhaps checked the mouse modifiers for inadvertent changes? The behaviour in the GIF seems reminiscent of the "Restore previous zoom/scroll" action, which may have been assigned to the default left-click mouse modifier.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.