COCKOS
CONFEDERATED FORUMS
Cockos : REAPER : NINJAM : Forums
Forum Home : Register : FAQ : Members List : Search :
Old 07-30-2017, 12:36 PM   #1
pipelineaudio
Mortal
 
pipelineaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wickenburg, Arizona
Posts: 11,432
Default Following Martin's How to Blog - gitÉ?

What does this mean?

"Once you've put the SDK files in place, you should discard changes in these two files via gitÉ"

It is from the C:\wdl-ol\VST3_SDK
__________________
REAPER Shirts are Back! - https://shop.spreadshirt.com/pipelineaudio/
pipelineaudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2017, 02:29 PM   #2
pipelineaudio
Mortal
 
pipelineaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wickenburg, Arizona
Posts: 11,432
Default

I tried to build, the first page example on the blog and I'm getting this:

C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\2017\Community\Common7\IDE\VC\VCTargets\Pla tforms\Win32\PlatformToolsets\v141_xp\Toolset.targ ets(36,5): warning MSB8003: Could not find WindowsSdkDir_71A variable from the registry. TargetFrameworkVersion or PlatformToolset may be set to an invalid version number.
__________________
REAPER Shirts are Back! - https://shop.spreadshirt.com/pipelineaudio/
pipelineaudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2017, 04:41 AM   #3
random_id
Human being with feelings
 
random_id's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 306
Default

There might be a problem with the installation of Visual Studio 2017. Although I like VS 2017, I think it is a little harder to setup properly than previous versions.

Right-click on the project file in the Solutions Explorer (e.g., myplugin-VST) and check the platform toolset. You might need to change this to V141. The dropdown should also show if you have the toolset installed.

You could also try IPlug-Youlean in place of WDL-OL. I can't remember if Oli has updated everything for VS 2017, but I am pretty sure that Youlean's examples are setup for VS 2017.
__________________
Website: LVC-Audio
random_id is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2017, 11:58 AM   #4
pipelineaudio
Mortal
 
pipelineaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wickenburg, Arizona
Posts: 11,432
Default

If I target it for v141 it gives the error above
__________________
REAPER Shirts are Back! - https://shop.spreadshirt.com/pipelineaudio/
pipelineaudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2017, 12:09 PM   #5
pipelineaudio
Mortal
 
pipelineaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wickenburg, Arizona
Posts: 11,432
Default

If I do v1.41 this is what I get, just a small sampling of the errors

6>c:\wdl-ol\wdl\mutex.h(37): fatal error C1083: Cannot open include file: 'windows.h': No such file or directory
6>app_main.cpp
6>c:\wdl-ol\iplugexamples\myfirstplugin\app_wrapper\app_mai n.h(22): fatal error C1083: Cannot open include file: 'windows.h': No such file or directory
6>app_dialog.cpp
6>c:\wdl-ol\iplugexamples\myfirstplugin\app_wrapper\app_mai n.h(22): fatal error C1083: Cannot open include file: 'windows.h': No such file or directory
6>RtMidi.cpp
7>c:\wdl-ol\wdl\iplug\iplugstructs.h(223): warning C4244: 'initializing': conversion from 'float' to 'int', possible loss of data
8>c:\wdl-ol\wdl\iplug\iplugstructs.h(223): warning C4244: 'initializing': conversion from 'float' to 'int', possible loss of data
8>c:\wdl-ol\wdl\iplug\iplugstructs.h(225): warning C4244: 'argument': conversion from 'float' to 'int', possible loss of data
8>c:\wdl-ol\wdl\iplug\iplugstructs.h(231): warning C4244: 'initializing': conversion from 'float' to 'int', possible loss of data
8>c:\wdl-ol\wdl\iplug\iplugstructs.h(233): warning C4244: 'argument': conversion from 'float' to 'int', possible loss of data
7>c:\wdl-ol\wdl\iplug\iplugstructs.h(225): warning C4244: 'argument': conversion from 'float' to 'int', possible loss of data
7>c:\wdl-ol\wdl\iplug\iplugstructs.h(231): warning C4244: 'initializing': conversion from 'float' to 'int', possible loss of data
7>c:\wdl-ol\wdl\iplug\iplugstructs.h(233): warning C4244: 'argument': conversion from 'float' to 'int', possible loss of data
7>IPlugVST.cpp
__________________
REAPER Shirts are Back! - https://shop.spreadshirt.com/pipelineaudio/
pipelineaudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2017, 12:20 PM   #6
pipelineaudio
Mortal
 
pipelineaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wickenburg, Arizona
Posts: 11,432
Default

According to the JUCE forum, a lot of those missing files come up as being a problem with the newest vst sdk
__________________
REAPER Shirts are Back! - https://shop.spreadshirt.com/pipelineaudio/
pipelineaudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2017, 02:05 PM   #7
random_id
Human being with feelings
 
random_id's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 306
Default

Right-click on the project again and find out what the 'Windows SDK Version' is. Then look under C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits. Under the correct 'Include' folder should be a folder called 'um'. Make sure the windows.h file is there.

If it is not there, I think you need to launch the VS installer and add the SDK. Look under "Individual Components" in the installer. Under "SDKs, libraries, and frameworks" are the Windows 10 or 8.1 SDK. I am using 8.1 and it is working with that as the SDK version for each project.

I know I had these same issue when switching to VS 2017. I wish I would have documented what I did. I think it is an issue with the installer and correctly selecting the right SDK. I hope that does the trick.
__________________
Website: LVC-Audio
random_id is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2017, 01:36 AM   #8
pipelineaudio
Mortal
 
pipelineaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wickenburg, Arizona
Posts: 11,432
Default

trying this now...when I open the solution it asks if I want to retarget projects
__________________
REAPER Shirts are Back! - https://shop.spreadshirt.com/pipelineaudio/
pipelineaudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2017, 01:44 AM   #9
pipelineaudio
Mortal
 
pipelineaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wickenburg, Arizona
Posts: 11,432
Default

whoa! It let me build the vst 2 project, wont let me build the solution, stuck the x86 vst in reaper and it worked though!
__________________
REAPER Shirts are Back! - https://shop.spreadshirt.com/pipelineaudio/
pipelineaudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2017, 01:45 AM   #10
pipelineaudio
Mortal
 
pipelineaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wickenburg, Arizona
Posts: 11,432
Default

Built the 64 bit too! I cant get it to launch the gui inside the c++ file like in the blog, but it works fine inside reaper!
__________________
REAPER Shirts are Back! - https://shop.spreadshirt.com/pipelineaudio/
pipelineaudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2017, 01:51 AM   #11
pipelineaudio
Mortal
 
pipelineaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wickenburg, Arizona
Posts: 11,432
Default

"base" is still failing to build

1>------ Rebuild All started: Project: base, Configuration: Debug x64 ------
1>baseiids.cpp
1>classfactory.cpp
1>c1xx : fatal error C1083: Cannot open source file: '..\source\classfactory.cpp': No such file or directory
1>fatomic.cpp
1>c1xx : fatal error C1083: Cannot open source file: '..\source\fatomic.cpp': No such file or directory
1>fbitset.cpp
1>c1xx : fatal error C1083: Cannot open source file: '..\source\fbitset.cpp': No such file or directory
1>fbuffer.cpp
1>fcpu.cpp
1>c1xx : fatal error C1083: Cannot open source file: '..\source\fcpu.cpp': No such file or directory
1>fdebug.cpp
1>fdynlib.cpp
1>finitializer.cpp
1>c1xx : fatal error C1083: Cannot open source file: '..\source\finitializer.cpp': No such file or directory
1>fmemory.cpp
1>c1xx : fatal error C1083: Cannot open source file: '..\source\fmemory.cpp': No such file or directory
1>fobject.cpp
1>fpoint.cpp
1>c1xx : fatal error C1083: Cannot open source file: '..\source\fpoint.cpp': No such file or directory
1>frect.cpp
1>c1xx : fatal error C1083: Cannot open source file: '..\source\frect.cpp': No such file or directory
1>fstreamer.cpp
1>fstring.cpp
1>fthread.cpp
1>c1xx : fatal error C1083: Cannot open source file: '..\source\fthread.cpp': No such file or directory
1>timer.cpp
1>updatehandler.cpp
1>conststringtable.cpp
1>funknown.cpp
1>Generating Code...
1>Done building project "base.vcxproj" -- FAILED.
========== Rebuild All: 0 succeeded, 1 failed, 0 skipped ==========
__________________
REAPER Shirts are Back! - https://shop.spreadshirt.com/pipelineaudio/
pipelineaudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2017, 09:37 AM   #12
olilarkin
Human being with feelings
 
olilarkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: York, UK
Posts: 977
Default

Going to update wdl ol to vs2017 in the next few weeks
__________________
VirtualCZ | pMix | Endless Series | WDL-OL | Linkedin | Patreon
Available for Audio Dev tuition via Skype (IPlug/JUCE/C++)
olilarkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.