Old 09-12-2017, 12:50 PM   #1
ReaDave
Human being with feelings
 
ReaDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Adelaide, South Australia (originally from Geelong)
Posts: 4,870
Default Forum Timezone Incorrect.

I've just noticed that the timezone settings in my UserCP aren't working correctly here. I'm in Adelaide which is GMT +9:30 which I have set but the time is showing GMT +9. As a result, the forum time is displayed half an hour behind.

It isn't a big deal but it was working correctly previously. I don't know if this is anything to do with the https update or not. I can't recall exactly when this started.

On a similar note, I'm still having issues with read posts that disappear from the new posts list once they've been read. They used to show up in regular font with the unread ones in bold. Now I just get unread ones in bold. This is quite inconvenient when trying to find a previously read post I want to respond to.
ReaDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2017, 01:14 PM   #2
ReaDave
Human being with feelings
 
ReaDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Adelaide, South Australia (originally from Geelong)
Posts: 4,870
Default

I just tried changing the UserCP settings from GMT +9:30 to +10 figuring if things were out by half an hour, I could temporarily fix the times shown. This didn't work though. GMT +10 shows correctly. It seems something isn't allowing 1/2 hour offsets.
ReaDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2017, 01:17 PM   #3
ReaDave
Human being with feelings
 
ReaDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Adelaide, South Australia (originally from Geelong)
Posts: 4,870
Default

The display at the bottom of the forum shows "All times are GMT +9" even though I have it set to 9:30. If I set it to a whole hour, it shows correctly.
ReaDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 09:04 AM   #4
ReaDave
Human being with feelings
 
ReaDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Adelaide, South Australia (originally from Geelong)
Posts: 4,870
Default

Nobody else noticed this?
Perhaps I'm the only one here living in a time zone with a half hour offset.
ReaDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 09:35 AM   #5
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19,677
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReaDave View Post
Perhaps I'm the only one here living in a time zone with a half hour offset.
My guess is it is ^this combined with the number of users who would notice?
__________________
Choosing to play the simpler part instead of the fancier one, takes a lot of courage
karbomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 10:04 AM   #6
ReaDave
Human being with feelings
 
ReaDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Adelaide, South Australia (originally from Geelong)
Posts: 4,870
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
My guess is it is ^this combined with the number of users who would notice?
No doubt you're right Karbo.
ReaDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 11:20 AM   #7
Ollie
Super Moderator (no feelings)
 
Ollie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: On or near a dike
Posts: 9,664
Default

Are you absolutely sure it worked before?

After googling this it looks like there is no mention of it in the vBulletin user forums, but it is in a couple of other forums. So even updating to a newer version may not fix the issue. It seems your only option is moving to the nearest "full" time zone. OK, living with it or switching to GMT/UTC (nice mental math exercise, a daily chore for people in the international broadcaster scene and aviation) or just adding/subtracting 30 minutes may work too.

Sorry 'bout that!
Ollie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 11:26 AM   #8
ReaDave
Human being with feelings
 
ReaDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Adelaide, South Australia (originally from Geelong)
Posts: 4,870
Default

No probs Ollie. It isn't a big deal really. I'm just being OCD I guess. The only reason I really raised it is that it is a recent thing. It was working fine so I assumed it might have had something to do with the move to https.

Again, it isn't a big deal if it isn't a simple fix.
ReaDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.