Old 08-27-2009, 06:17 AM   #1
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 9,201
Default tip o' the day

[edit] Link to user-editable tips list: here! Thanks nofish for starting it.[/edit]


Reaper isn't going to get one of those "tip of the day" windows that exists only in order to give you something extra to click before you can use the program.

But if there were a list of short+sweet Reaper tips, what would you put on it? Brief suggestions for how to use features that many users may not be aware of, etc? Here are a few:

- Alt+drag a media item to slip the content left or right without moving the item itself.

- Right-click on empty space near the main toolbar to customize the toolbar by assigning custom actions and icons to different buttons.

- Shift+drag over existing data in a MIDI CC lane to create linear ramps.

- Press "?" to open the actions menu and a world of possibilities.

... over to you ...

Last edited by schwa; 09-26-2009 at 10:09 PM.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 06:39 AM   #2
sonicbreeze
Human being with feelings
 
sonicbreeze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 159
Default

Great Start. First thing First..Should be a Sticky
sonicbreeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 06:40 AM   #3
dub3000
Human being with feelings
 
dub3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 3,801
Default

i think right-click drag [edit: to marquee select items] should be the first one. that took me a while to figure out and it's pretty fundamental.

Last edited by dub3000; 08-27-2009 at 07:52 AM.
dub3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 06:41 AM   #4
dub3000
Human being with feelings
 
dub3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 3,801
Default

the wet/dry fx mixer [edit: little thing in the top right of the fx list window] is a bit hidden [edit: and awesome].

maybe also the pin thing in the fx list [edit: the "2 in/2 out" button gives you options to do crazy routing within the fx list, including sidechaining, mono-to-stereo etc].

folder tracks seem to confuse some people - make sure people know they can nest them [edit: drag a folder into a folder into a folder...]

middle-click scrub [edit: middle click and drag to scrub audio].

so many things! dunno.

Last edited by dub3000; 08-27-2009 at 07:54 AM.
dub3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 07:02 AM   #5
sonicbreeze
Human being with feelings
 
sonicbreeze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 159
Default

Ctrl+LMB Click on any track FX 'ON/OFF' Button to Disable/Enable FX on all tracks at once.
sonicbreeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 07:03 AM   #6
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 19,077
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonicbreeze View Post
Ctrl+LMB Click on any track FX 'ON/OFF' Button to Disable/Enable FX on all tracks at once.
Same on Record arm button.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 07:25 AM   #7
Bubbagump
Human being with feelings
 
Bubbagump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 2,024
Default

The two biggest things I end up teaching noobs that isn't obvious is Ctl+L for lanes and S for spilt.
__________________
www.theslang.com
Bubbagump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 07:29 AM   #8
Kainer
Human being with feelings
 
Kainer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cologne/Bangkok
Posts: 1,257
Default

shift + s cuts both ends from timeselection.

alt + right mouse button + drag selects AND create time selection (from where u can copy parts of items for example)
__________________
Free Plugins, Free Samples, Free Promotion.... and if you need: mixing, music videos and artist/band webpages.
http://www.soundfactorywomb.com
Kainer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 07:39 AM   #9
Chris_P_Critter
Human being with feelings
 
Chris_P_Critter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In a van, down by the river
Posts: 3,574
Default

Definitely need some MIDI tips too.

...because I could use some.
__________________
The Freeze Tag Assassins
Chris_P_Critter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 07:43 AM   #10
sonicbreeze
Human being with feelings
 
sonicbreeze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 159
Default

Ctrl+Drag on a Item will create a copy of it and if there is a Time Selection, it will create a copy of only Time Selection (Instant Non-Destructive Bliss!).

Last edited by sonicbreeze; 08-27-2009 at 07:49 AM.
sonicbreeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 07:46 AM   #11
mabian
Human being with feelings
 
mabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 3,458
Default

Part 1 by me:

- Shift is your friend when wanting to bypass snap
- Use Ctrl on faders and knobs for finer control
- Drag IO buttons to other tracks to create sends
- Drag sends to tracks in mixer to create sends
- Use Alt + click to delete envelope nodes, sends, plugins
- Copy FX between FX chains by dragging them
- Move FX between FX chains by ALT-Dragging them
- You can unlink time selection and loop points
- Ctrl-Shift-Alt drag envelope points to constraint them to only one direction
- Double click FX on fx chain to float it

Probably part 2 coming soon

- Mario
__________________
My DAW: Intel Q9550 @2.8GHz + 4GB RAM + RME Fireface UC + 1TB HD + Win10x64
My Music: http://www.reverbnation.com/errepici - http://www.errepici.it/web/contents.asp?sec=4

Last edited by mabian; 08-27-2009 at 08:24 AM.
mabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 08:32 AM   #12
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 7,032
Default

Really nice thread, may it live long...

my addition:

toggle zoom with sws extensions

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=36125

(not quite sure if we're supposed to post stuff related to extensions here also)
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 08:45 AM   #13
mabian
Human being with feelings
 
mabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 3,458
Default

Part 2 by me:

- Ctrl-drag in a track to create on the fly a new empty MIDI item
- Double click empty space in the left side of arrange view to quickly create a new track
- Track folders are submix of child tracks
- You can nest folders at any level
- If you want folders only group tracks without submix, disable master/parent option in child tracks routing properties
- You can double click the folder icon of a folder track to switch among three different view modes
- Change playrate slider to try slowing down or accelerate the whole arrangement in a moment
- Tracks can contain both audio and MIDI items
- Enable "Free item positioning" option on tracks to freely position items
- You can send MIDI data beside audio from one track to another
- You can easily stack soft synths by creating sends from the same MIDI track to multiple soft synth tracks

Part 3? Who knows...

- Mario
__________________
My DAW: Intel Q9550 @2.8GHz + 4GB RAM + RME Fireface UC + 1TB HD + Win10x64
My Music: http://www.reverbnation.com/errepici - http://www.errepici.it/web/contents.asp?sec=4
mabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 12:32 PM   #14
zappsunzorn
Human being with feelings
 
zappsunzorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Virginia Beach VA
Posts: 2,249
Default

-If you have buttons like mute linked (both Master and Slave) and you hold shift to take one, or more, out of sync with the others, you then toggle the states of all the buttons by clicking just one

-In the group matrix you do not need to click in the box 3 times until the s for slave shows. For example, to make tracks 2-5 the slave tracks click once in any box for tracks 2-5 and then right click that group enable box and select slave for the elements you want to be slave. You can then select the master the normal way.

-Right click the mono button on the master section to select L+R,R,L, and most interestingly L-R

-The filter (f) makes a great navigation tool

-Use (+)(-) in the jump window to move the cursor forward or back by that amount

-Instead of using the defult ctrl+j for the jump to time window use the numpad zero key

-Under options\preferences\mouse you can select what happens when you double click on an item to set the time selection or loop to that item instead of opening the external editor.

-Use keypad num 7 and 9 to move the item while keeping the time the same (Looks like you are just moving the window)

-When both items on either side of a split are selected you can use click+alt to simultaneously shrink one side and stretch the other

-If you have 2 items cross faded you can move the fade location by holding shift+click and drag where you see the fade cursor
zappsunzorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 04:04 PM   #15
manning1
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,959
Default

schwa
not at start up.
but why not have a tips button a user could click at any time
while useing reaper ??
would help new folks i feel.
sorta a library of tips to be added to over time ??
manning1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 04:18 PM   #16
stratman
Human being with feelings
 
stratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Woking, England
Posts: 2,657
Default

Ctrl + Alt then click on Solo button. This selects Solo and Un-Solos (if that's a valid word) all other tracks.

btw. I know it's called Solo track exclusively.

Also works on the Mute button.

Pete
stratman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 08:05 PM   #17
BeatPsychic
Human being with feelings
 
BeatPsychic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Near Chicago
Posts: 396
Default

Or they could code them as subliminal messages that flash for something like 1/100th of a second... you couldn't visually see them, but you would be a Reaper guru after a few sessions with subliminals!!
BeatPsychic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 08:08 PM   #18
setvice
Human being with feelings
 
setvice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Perth WA
Posts: 417
Default

This should be a chapter in the manual updated at every version. Ive just learned more in 5 minutes than i've learned in a month!

My one is probably obvious to most but i forgot about it for a while...
Shift/ middle mouse button to hi-5 the arrange page!!
setvice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 08:20 PM   #19
nfpotter
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Posts: 994
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonicbreeze View Post
Ctrl+LMB Click on any track FX 'ON/OFF' Button to Disable/Enable FX on all tracks at once.
Doesn't do that on mine, 3.102.

Edit: never mind, I read too fast, yes it does.

Last edited by nfpotter; 08-27-2009 at 08:50 PM. Reason: beer
nfpotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 08:21 PM   #20
zappsunzorn
Human being with feelings
 
zappsunzorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Virginia Beach VA
Posts: 2,249
Default

I don't think a tip of the day window will be good to have in the software itself, but it would be cool to have on the website for both regular users and a passerby.
zappsunzorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 09:13 PM   #21
nfpotter
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Posts: 994
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonicbreeze View Post
Great Start. First thing First..Should be a Sticky
Definitely sticky material, but perhaps someone (a guru) should organize a bit 1st?
__________________
"A fly was very close to being called a land, 'cause that's what they do half the time."

-Mitch Hedberg
nfpotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 11:43 PM   #22
OrenS
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 197
Default

BEST THREAD EVER!!!
I already learned a few things that will make my life a lot easier...
OrenS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 11:49 PM   #23
daal
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: France
Posts: 397
Default

Maybe it's already said here but I haven't seen it with a quick look :

Right button drag = lasso selection

The most important for me, and it took me months to figure it out ^^
__________________
"you need to be comfortable with your tools" - RobRokken
daal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 12:37 AM   #24
Kainer
Human being with feelings
 
Kainer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cologne/Bangkok
Posts: 1,257
Default

To get two mono files from one stereo file:

Duplicate your stereoitem containing track and right click on the item.
Choose "Item properties: Set items channel mode to mono (left)"

Now go to the duplicated track and choose: "Item properties: Set items channel mode to mono (right)"

Now you´ve two mono tracks and the left and the right signal apart.
__________________
Free Plugins, Free Samples, Free Promotion.... and if you need: mixing, music videos and artist/band webpages.
http://www.soundfactorywomb.com
Kainer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 12:43 AM   #25
With an E
Human being with feelings
 
With an E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: In perpetual hope
Posts: 265
Default

I don't want to give Nicholas a heart attack, but wouldn't it be superb to be able to click on the 'tip of the day' and arrive at the relevant place in the Reaper instruction manual?
With an E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 01:05 AM   #26
zappsunzorn
Human being with feelings
 
zappsunzorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Virginia Beach VA
Posts: 2,249
Default

-Double click on the track number in the TCP to select all the item on that track.

-Move a loop selection with the mouse left or right by holding shift then holding down the left mouse button in the ruler area

-Move a time selection area left or right by holding shift while holding down the left mouse button in the label area (if above and not inside the wave) or the area between the tracks
zappsunzorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 01:23 AM   #27
mabian
Human being with feelings
 
mabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 3,458
Default

Part 3 by me:

- Shift-Drag an empty area of arrange view in the time selection to move it without changing its size; pressing ctrl while dragging allows bypassing snap
- Shift-Alt-Drag an empty area of arrange view in the loop region to move it without changing its size; pressing ctrl while dragging allows bypassing snap
- Ctrl-drag time selection boundaries to move them bypassing snap
- Ctrl-drag loop region boundaries to move them bypassing snap

...Mario
__________________
My DAW: Intel Q9550 @2.8GHz + 4GB RAM + RME Fireface UC + 1TB HD + Win10x64
My Music: http://www.reverbnation.com/errepici - http://www.errepici.it/web/contents.asp?sec=4

Last edited by mabian; 08-28-2009 at 01:28 AM.
mabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 03:20 AM   #28
yhertogh
Human being with feelings
 
yhertogh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,461
Default my tip of the day

Do a timeselection
Right click on the env button, select e.g. volume
Drag the envelope up and down within the time selection by the automation lane fader.

Yves
yhertogh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 05:13 AM   #29
henge
Human being with feelings
 
henge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2,153
Default

Place your cursor at the top of the Timeline. When the cursor turns into a hand you can then "Grab" the whole screen and move left or right.
It's going to get harder and harder to get new tips at this rate!!;-)
__________________
Registered Reaper user.
http://www.villageworkscanada.com/landingpad.cfm
henge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 05:32 AM   #30
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 9,201
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by henge View Post
Place your cursor at the top of the Timeline. When the cursor turns into a hand you can then "Grab" the whole screen and move left or right.
Shift+middle mouse button does that everywhere, by default.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 02:11 AM   #31
daverich
Human being with feelings
 
daverich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,583
Default

CTRL-left click - drag on a region you can copy the whole piece of the song.

Right clicking to bring up a menu gives you no clue as to this time saver.

Discovered it yesterday.

Kind regards

Dave Rich
__________________
Get access to all my original music as well as videos and free gigs at:-
Patreon.com/daverich
http://www.daverichband.com
daverich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 03:25 AM   #32
thormes
Human being with feelings
 
thormes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 82
Default

DoubleClick on any slider to reset it to ZERO (volume/pan etc.)

kickass thread +666
__________________
-= hoy brujerizmo pa ti satanizmo =-
thormes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 04:50 AM   #33
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,329
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daverich View Post
CTRL-left click - drag on a region you can copy the whole piece of the song.

Right clicking to bring up a menu gives you no clue as to this time saver.

Discovered it yesterday.

Kind regards

Dave Rich
Luckily i think alt disables this but great feature.

What would be cool is if you could get regions to drag only the markers around then you could extract a groove to markers using dynamic splitting and then drag the markers (using the region) to somewhere else in the track for groove guides.

This would be even cooler when combined with sws marker list's ability to save markers as it could be used to save grooves and feels
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 05:47 AM   #34
Mr. Data
Human being with feelings
 
Mr. Data's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Location
Posts: 5,211
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daverich View Post
CTRL-left click - drag on a region you can copy the whole piece of the song.

Right clicking to bring up a menu gives you no clue as to this time saver.

Discovered it yesterday.

Kind regards

Dave Rich
Didn't know this, Dave.

Thanks.




-Data
Mr. Data is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 05:46 PM   #35
Guod3
Human being with feelings
 
Guod3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 419
Default

The individual tips can be pretty random and particular (but great when needed).

If the tips where carefully sorted into categories and by context, it would make browsing them in a list more meaningful.

Also there would be the possibility of Reaper presenting the user with tips that relate to the current activity.

Say there is an optional context tips window that when activated produces tips
relating to the what the user is doing.

There could be a button beside the tip that says "I know this one.." that would hide or put the tip in a "learned tip" category somewhere. Not gone but put aside to make layout space for more new tips.
Guod3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 08:02 PM   #36
Kundalinguist
Human being with feelings
 
Kundalinguist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,575
Default

How about a warning for Mac users to not get too complacent with their sacred shortcuts?

ie. no option drag to copy or click drag to highlight [sniff].

As for really useful ones (on Mac, anyway):

1. zoom to selection = command / pageup
2. zoom track height to full window = shift / tilde (~)
3. go to start of project = home
4. Spacebar = play. (just kidding)
Kundalinguist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 08:42 AM   #37
bardo
Human being with feelings
 
bardo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San diego
Posts: 1,106
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by henge View Post
Place your cursor at the top of the Timeline. When the cursor turns into a hand you can then "Grab" the whole screen and move left or right.
It's going to get harder and harder to get new tips at this rate!!;-)
I found that one accidently!
Had to check my "Undo history"to make sure I was not moving items

Bardo
__________________
POD PRO XT,Roland TD-20 E-kit,Fender Telecaster,Rickenbacher,Framis 12-String,Ibanaz Bass,CAD GXL3000 Pro Studio Mic,E-Bow and my "ol' best friend "REAPER"Since 2006
My songs here...[url]
http://www.mixposure.com/bardo/
bardo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2009, 04:13 AM   #38
Hitch
Human being with feelings
 
Hitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 238
Default

I shall have to write a list of these excellent tips so that I don't forget them. What with working out how to link up Jamstix and a racked ReaDrums, and now these tips, Reaper is finally revealing itself to be the beast I always suspected it to be.

My tip? You're asking me? Erm...right-click everything.

1. Right-click the FX button in a track panel and you'll get a list of "My Folders" from your main FX folder, including "Recently Used". It makes it much quicker to find, choose and insert an FX or VSTi.

2. If you have an FX or VSTi already loaded in a track, right-click on the ENV button in the track panel. Select "FX Parameters" and you'll be given a list of your FX/VSTi's parameters. Choose one and an envelope will appear below your track. Another time-saver.

Thank you to Justin, Schwa, Christophe and everyone else for making Reaper such fun to use.
Hitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2009, 05:24 AM   #39
shemp
Human being with feelings
 
shemp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,156
Default

ALT-leftclick drag end of item to timestretch
shemp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2009, 09:24 AM   #40
Kundalinguist
Human being with feelings
 
Kundalinguist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,575
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hitch View Post
I shall have to write a list of these excellent tips so that I don't forget them.
At Motunation.com, the unofficial Digital Performer board, a DP Tips sheet was created and edited by one of the members. This became quite a document and revealed a lot of useful stuff that would otherwise not have been learned or discovered in general workflow.

How about a Reaper Tips Sheet? (not just an entire, meandering section of the forum, but an actual document, edited to trim off all but the facts).

Yes, someone please take the ball and run with it. Look, I see a scout in the stands!
Kundalinguist is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.