Old 03-21-2018, 09:13 AM   #1
fatharock
Human being with feelings
 
fatharock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 98
Default JS Hard Limiter

Hey All,

I really love the JS Hard Limiter but I can't find it after installing ver.5.7.7

Anyone know if it's available somewhere?

Thanx,

FR
fatharock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2018, 09:38 AM   #2
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 7,154
Default

Is showing up for me,
but, here it is:
Code:
// This effect Copyright (C) 2004 and later Cockos Incorporated
// License: GPL - http://www.gnu.org/licenses/gpl.html
desc: hard limiter
slider1:0<-120,60,1>max vol (dB)

@slider
mv=2 ^ (slider1/6);

@sample

  spl0=min(max(spl0,-mv),mv);
  spl1=min(max(spl1,-mv),mv);
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
G-Sun.no - Music Blog - My music
G-Sun is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2018, 10:06 AM   #3
ashcat_lt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3,538
Default

There are now two threads on this topic. When/why was it removed/renamed so that it breaks old projects?

OTOH - JS Volume Adjustment does the same thing but also allows you to adjust the gain before the clipper, so if you just want it for a new project, maybe try that. Most times, though, there are much better ways to do this.
ashcat_lt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2018, 10:51 AM   #4
uncleswede
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 687
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ashcat_lt View Post
There are now two threads on this topic. When/why was it removed/renamed so that it breaks old projects?

OTOH - JS Volume Adjustment does the same thing but also allows you to adjust the gain before the clipper, so if you just want it for a new project, maybe try that. Most times, though, there are much better ways to do this.
Strange - I've upgraded both my studio PCs and mobile laptop rig to v5.77 and this JSFX is still there... These are all Windows machines (various OS versions). by the way.

So I suspect it is not the 5.77 install at fault.

I never install any pre-release versions - could this be a factor in your case?
uncleswede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2018, 11:01 AM   #5
ashcat_lt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3,538
Default

It's not an issue in my case because I've never once used that plugin. I haven't checked my own installs cause I don't care.

I think, though, that Reaper is really good about not removing JS FX when upgrading. If it was in your Effects folder before, I'd expect it to still be there. I get the impression that the folks above are doing fresh installs.
ashcat_lt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2018, 09:53 PM   #6
morgon
Human being with feelings
 
morgon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: 'straya
Posts: 7,967
Default

OT but I sometimes use JS Hard Limiter to soften kick drums, e.g the kick of the free Kontakt player Funk kit.

Run at about -18 takes the attack out of it so it doesn't beat the speakers so hard, works great.
morgon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2018, 09:59 AM   #7
ashcat_lt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3,538
Default

I mean, if it works it works, but this really is about the harshest, nastiest possible way to do it. It's called a "limiter", and actually is one of very few JS plugs that really does set an absolute, predictable limit, but it's actually just a hard clipper. I will almost always reach for a curvy clipper for these kinds of tasks in hopes of getting a slightly more pleasant sounding distortion. It might not even be a noticeable difference on some material, but it makes me feel better.
ashcat_lt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 06:02 PM   #8
fatharock
Human being with feelings
 
fatharock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 98
Default

Thx guys,

I really appreciate everyone’s comments and advice.

For the kick drum I usually set it at - 6db and haven’t
discerned a significant amount of distortion (all my audio
peaks fall well within reasonable limits).

I should note that I don’t hire out my room, so it’s just for me.

Again, thx to everyone for helping.
fr.

P.s. I don’t code soooo.... if I did that would rock! : - )
fatharock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2018, 03:26 PM   #9
Philbo King
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,022
Default

There are much better ways to limit. For mastering I prefer Leveling Amps to limiters. JS: VOLA-EX is one included in Reaper, if you want to try it.

If you are determined to use a limiter, try to find one with True Peak detection. Limiter No6 is one.

http://freevsts.com/listing/limiterno6/
__________________
Tangent Studio - Philbo King
www.soundclick.com/philboking - stream music
www.facebook.com/philboking - gigs and news

Last edited by Philbo King; 12-08-2018 at 03:33 PM.
Philbo King is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.