Old 03-23-2018, 09:18 PM   #1
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 14,686
Default Render to multiple files at a time

Is there a way to render multiple audio channels to multiple files instead of to a single multi-channel file ?


Alternatively:

Does anybody know a command-line tool (at best as source code), that is able to split a multi-channel FLAC file in multiple single channel FLAC files ?


Alternatively:

Can WDL functions help do do this ?


Thanks,
-Michael

Last edited by mschnell; 03-24-2018 at 01:21 AM.
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2018, 02:06 AM   #2
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 14,686
Default

I D/Lded the FLAC sources and supposedly this can be used to create such a command line tool. But this does not seem like very handy ,,,,

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2018, 05:14 AM   #3
azslow3
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Heidelberg, Germany
Posts: 797
Default

You can render selected stems (selected tracks) or stems + master.

You just need tracks with subsets of output channels you want.
azslow3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2018, 06:01 AM   #4
Xenakios
Human being with feelings
 
Xenakios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 8,062
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
Does anybody know a command-line tool
SOX will probably be able to do it. (You need to ensure it is installed/built with FLAC, though. On OS-X, Homebrew does not install it with FLAC support by default. I don't remember about the Windows binaries.)

edit : yeah, SOX seems to be able to do it.

Code:
sox infile.flac outfile.chan0.flac remix 1
sox infile.flac outfile.chan1.flac remix 2
__________________
I am no longer part of the REAPER community. Please don't contact me with any REAPER-related issues.

Last edited by Xenakios; 03-24-2018 at 06:07 AM.
Xenakios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2018, 06:10 AM   #5
Xenakios
Human being with feelings
 
Xenakios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 8,062
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
Is there a way to render multiple audio channels to multiple files instead of to a single multi-channel file ?
You could implement your own PCM_sink with a C++ extension plugin. ("Sink" is Reaper's terminology for an audio file writer.) In your use case it wouldn't even be too complicated to implement because you could just reuse Reaper's existing FLAC format sink.
__________________
I am no longer part of the REAPER community. Please don't contact me with any REAPER-related issues.

Last edited by Xenakios; 03-24-2018 at 06:15 AM.
Xenakios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2018, 11:12 AM   #6
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 14,686
Default

Thanks a lot for your comments !
All options seem at least doable !

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2018, 11:23 PM   #7
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 14,686
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xenakios View Post
("Sink" is Reaper's terminology for an audio file writer.)
As discussed in the other thread in this subforum, Reaper out of the box seems to lack the ability to write Midi files instead of or to go long with rendered audio files. Do you think it's possible to create a "Midi Sink" by doing a C++ extension plugin ?

Thanks,
-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2018, 04:53 AM   #8
Xenakios
Human being with feelings
 
Xenakios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 8,062
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
As discussed in the other thread in this subforum, Reaper out of the box seems to lack the ability to write Midi files instead of or to go long with rendered audio files. Do you think it's possible to create a "Midi Sink" by doing a C++ extension plugin ?

Thanks,
-Michael
Yes, the PCM_sink despite its name also does have methods that deal with MIDI. You might need to write tons of code yourself to deal with that, though...If you need to write MIDI files, it might be easier to use some library that can write standard MIDI files. (Or you may be able to create a working MIDI PCM_sink with the Reaper API directly, but I haven't tested that.)
__________________
I am no longer part of the REAPER community. Please don't contact me with any REAPER-related issues.

Last edited by Xenakios; 03-25-2018 at 05:08 AM.
Xenakios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2018, 08:07 AM   #9
azslow3
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Heidelberg, Germany
Posts: 797
Default

Do you think MIDI will get there on Rendering?
At least on stems rendering... I doubt MIDI will be transferred for Master Mix.

Well, I have to test. Writing MIDI files is not a big problem.
azslow3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2018, 10:30 AM   #10
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 14,686
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xenakios View Post
the PCM_sink despite its name also does have methods that deal with MIDI.
Great to know !

Thanks !
-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2018, 11:28 AM   #11
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 14,686
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by azslow3 View Post
Do you think MIDI will get there on Rendering?
As midi streams flow within and between tracks while rendering, the Reaper API functions should be able to see them, even if it seems grated, that the master track is not fed by any Midi stream (out of the box). I suppose the "sink" API is not only used for creating usual final ("rendered") output audio files, but also the files for recorded audio (and maybe Midi) streams.

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2018, 10:07 AM   #12
azslow3
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Heidelberg, Germany
Posts: 797
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xenakios View Post
Yes, the PCM_sink despite its name also does have methods that deal with MIDI. You might need to write tons of code yourself to deal with that, though...If you need to write MIDI files, it might be easier to use some library that can write standard MIDI files. (Or you may be able to create a working MIDI PCM_sink with the Reaper API directly, but I haven't tested that.)
Unfortunately no luck...

PCM_sink can deal with MIDI, but when registered and called from "Render", these methods are not used. I have tried just with one Stem which has MIDI. Nothing. I mean "WantMIDI" is never called (during rendering)

azslow3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.