Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Feature Requests

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-03-2021, 06:17 AM   #1
Lynx_TWO
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: St Petersburg FL
Posts: 101
Default Monitoring FX - way to monitor only the selected channel(s) in a mix?

With the Monitor FX channel, it’s extremely useful for visual feedback. However, for a mix it might be useful to be able to monitor only one or multiple selected tracks visually (to adjust eq let’s say) while still hearing the whole mix. Not sure the best way to do this though-could maybe be a setting on the Monitor FX or maybe even a separate Track Monitor FX window that automatically switches to route only the track or tracks selected without soloing tracks or throwing the same monitor across all tracks

Just a thought…
Lynx_TWO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2021, 07:16 AM   #2
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,098
Default

Send those extra tracks to another channel pair (e.g. 3+4 if not already used in master, also make master 4channel instead 2channel). Then in MonitorFX chain add any visual plugin you need and set its In/Out pins to 3+4 only.

That way, in MonitorFX, you can have audio plugins on main channels 1+2 and visualizing plugins (for chosen tracks) on channels 3+4 which does not go to main audio output.
akademie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2021, 02:21 PM   #3
Lynx_TWO
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: St Petersburg FL
Posts: 101
Default Brilliant!

Quote:
Originally Posted by akademie View Post
Send those extra tracks to another channel pair (e.g. 3+4 if not already used in master, also make master 4channel instead 2channel). Then in MonitorFX chain add any visual plugin you need and set its In/Out pins to 3+4 only.

That way, in MonitorFX, you can have audio plugins on main channels 1+2 and visualizing plugins (for chosen tracks) on channels 3+4 which does not go to main audio output.
Brilliant! It's still a lot more time and effort though than doing it automatically by tracks selected, _but_ I'm thinking there might be a way to do that in a script...
Lynx_TWO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2021, 08:07 PM   #4
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2,861
Default

ReaPack/mpl_Monitor selected track with track 1 (background).lua

By clicking on any track it:
- clear all receives from track1
- add send from selected track to track 1

You can disable master/parent send in that track (so it doesn`t flow to master track).
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts discussion | ReaPack | Donate

Last edited by mpl; 04-12-2021 at 09:33 AM.
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2021, 08:30 AM   #5
Lynx_TWO
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: St Petersburg FL
Posts: 101
Default Outstanding!

Outstanding!
Lynx_TWO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.