Old 06-04-2014, 12:15 PM   #1
A4Flyers
Human being with feelings

Default Another MacBook thread

I've seen a few threads on this, which to choose between the MacBook Air or the Pro. I am on a budget so im looking into the MBA, would it suffice 15 track metal recordings? it would be just for music production. Would i need the 8gb and i7 processor options? or would the i5 do the job? i dont do massive track projects, just a good ol metal recording. just not trying to rush into a purchase because they arent upgradable.

THANKS IN ADVANCE!
Cheers
A4Flyers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2014, 12:33 PM   #2
Gates of Horn & Ivory

They are slightly upgradeable. You can add new RAM cards.

(I would answer your question, but I have no experience of macbook airs)
Gates of Horn & Ivory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2014, 12:43 PM   #3
Repetition Compulsion

I bought the current base model macbook pro, 13" non-retina, has a 2.5ghz i5 (dual core). I bought it stock and then put 16gb of ram and a 128gb SSD in it. I haven't tried to record more than 2 simultaneous tracks...I program all my drums so all I do is record a wet & dry signal for guitars & bass, but it does fine for that.

I HAVE pushed it to a point where it started a bit of the click & pop though. It was when I had two sets 8 tracks set up for drums (duplicated VST's) and like 9 bass tracks (although only 3 were active) and I was recording dry bass being processed by all three of those tracks at the same time with a bunch of VST's. But in general (i.e. not doing all that dumb shit) it never skips a beat. Reaper usually reports 11-40% cpu use and around 1gb of ram depending on whats going on. Does jump up to like 85% cpu for rendering though.