Old 07-24-2015, 10:29 AM   #1
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 12,601
Default Windows-10, final thughts? Time is short...

So, to upgrade or not?

My biggest concern are a few drivers, like my Komplete Audio 6 drivers.

Only got 5 days, what do you all think.

Right now I've got Windows-7 Professional and I don't know much about setting up OS systems, is it possible to have both OS available on my SSD drive?

EDIT: Oh forgot to ask, if I reserve Win-10 can I install it when I want to, regardless of the date?

Just how does this work, I'm assuming they will put it on my computer, ready to install, but can I decide when to install it?

Aah, just found this in MS:

Quote:
You’ll get a notification after July 29, 2015 once Windows 10 is downloaded to your device. Install it right away or pick a time that’s good for you.
So I assume I can install it when I'm ready? Or not install if I decide not too?
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums -|- Elk Video Productions -|- Tod's Music

Last edited by Tod; 07-24-2015 at 10:39 AM.
Tod is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2015, 10:39 AM   #2
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,850
Default

you have to wait until tape op comes to interview you about the benefits of digital recording - they will come to your studio as you prepare to talk about the benefits of digital

and then windows will install
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2015, 10:41 AM   #3
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 18,941
Default

According to Them Wot Gnoe, it will download itself but not install unless you have auto-install enabled. I hope!

I will prolly put the net machine on 10 straight away since I know everything I use on that machine already works in 10.
Including my Babyface!
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2015, 10:47 AM   #4
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 12,601
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivansc View Post
According to Them Wot Gnoe, it will download itself but not install unless you have auto-install enabled. I hope!
Humm, so where is this "auto-install"? Heh heh, maybe a check box like "Portable Install"?
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums -|- Elk Video Productions -|- Tod's Music
Tod is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2015, 10:42 AM   #5
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 12,601
Default

Aah, heh heh, thanks Jason, I'll be waiting....
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums -|- Elk Video Productions -|- Tod's Music
Tod is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2015, 10:58 AM   #6
Guitarminator
Human being with feelings
 
Guitarminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 74
Default

The free upgrade offer is for a year so I won't be installing it until 11 months, 29 days, 23 hours and 59 minutes, give or take, unless everyone else (read: the guinea pigs) wholeheartedly endorse it before that.
__________________
An amateur practices until they get it right.
A professional practices until they can't get it wrong.
Guitarminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2015, 11:07 AM   #7
peter5992
Human being with feelings
 
peter5992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 9,472
Default

I reserved a copy for my Windows 7 / 8 computers but do not plan to install immediately after July 29, I'll wait and see what others say before making the jump.
peter5992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2015, 11:18 AM   #8
plush2
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Saskatoon, Canada
Posts: 1,827
Default

I've been using the preview of 10 for a few months now and it has been working well for me. In my experience so far, if it ran on windows 7/8 then it will run on 10. There has been one exception as for a short time Pace ilok did not work correctly but that was only briefly and months ago.
__________________
mymusic - http://music.darylpierce.com
mywork - http://production.darylpierce.com
plush2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2015, 10:46 AM   #9
sostenuto
Human being with feelings
 
sostenuto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: St George, UT _ USA
Posts: 2,686
Default

No help here, and only Windows user, BUT .... have been running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Insider Preview) for a few weeks. No issues so far with Reaper 4.78 and also ran a bit with V5.0xx. Also running all Spectrasonics (no NI), IvoryII, XLN, Jamstix3, and all seem solid.

Good luck with your timing and dual boots !

Thom B
sostenuto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2015, 10:51 AM   #10
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 12,601
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TFB37 View Post
No help here, and only Windows user, BUT .... have been running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Insider Preview) for a few weeks. No issues so far with Reaper 4.78 and also ran a bit with V5.0xx. Also running all Spectrasonics (no NI), IvoryII, XLN, Jamstix3, and all seem solid.
Thanks Thom, I didn't stop to think about NI, I wonder, will it work?
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums -|- Elk Video Productions -|- Tod's Music
Tod is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2015, 01:14 PM   #11
Aymara
Human being with feelings
 
Aymara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Ruhr Area, Germany
Posts: 941
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tod View Post
... is it possible to have both OS available on my SSD drive?
If your SSD has two partitions and you BUY Win10, then you can create a dual boot configuration.

If you upgrade Win7 to Win10 for free, your Win7 licence will be converted to a Win10 licence as far as I know. So no dual boot.
__________________
Greetings from Germany

Chris
Aymara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2015, 01:19 PM   #12
dea-man
Human being with feelings
 
dea-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6,131
Default

I love Tape Op.
__________________
Please check out my REAPER produced music here: http://soundcloud.com/dea-man
dea-man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2015, 02:48 PM   #13
babag
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,648
Default

Quote:
So no dual boot.
well, actually, dual boot should be fine if you, as stated, buy another license.

i had a reservation for w10 but cancelled it when i found out there'd be an iso available, supposedly, on the same day as the release. that would allow for a clean install.

one could, presumably, use their existing disk to fresh install whatever w/version they currently have and use the iso on another partition. or, they could resize their partition to free up space for a w10 partition. they'd have to sort out the activation on running things, though, as that would involve the licensing issue. i'd assume that, as long as you didn't try to use the old system, you could activate the w10 system.

there really shouldn't be any rush as there's an entire year allowed to watch others sort this kind of thing out before jumping in.

BabaG
babag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2015, 04:01 PM   #14
ReaperMadness
Human being with feelings
 
ReaperMadness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Great Lakes, N. A.
Posts: 1,798
Default

Accchhh... I hate this shit.
__________________
= Private Winter =
ReaperMadness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2015, 04:14 PM   #15
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 12,601
Default

Okay, thanks everybody.

So the consensus is to get it but don't install for a while, that sounds pretty good to me.
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums -|- Elk Video Productions -|- Tod's Music
Tod is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2015, 11:59 PM   #16
Aymara
Human being with feelings
 
Aymara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Ruhr Area, Germany
Posts: 941
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by babag View Post
that would allow for a clean install.
Yes, but I absolutely hate the prerequisites:

If you want to use the free upgrade and do a clean install of Win 10, you first need to do an upgrade install, then link your lokal user account to a Windows Live Account so that your Windows serial gets to that account.

After all that hassle you can do a clean install but need to use your Live ID as the first account on Win 10.
__________________
Greetings from Germany

Chris
Aymara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2015, 05:42 PM   #17
novaburst
Human being with feelings
 
novaburst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 337
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tod View Post
So, to upgrade or not?

My biggest concern are a few drivers, like my Komplete Audio 6 drivers.

Only got 5 days, what do you all think.

Right now I've got Windows-7 Professional and I don't know much about setting up OS systems, is it possible to have both OS available on my SSD drive?

EDIT: Oh forgot to ask, if I reserve Win-10 can I install it when I want to, regardless of the date?

Just how does this work, I'm assuming they will put it on my computer, ready to install, but can I decide when to install it?

Aah, just found this in MS:



So I assume I can install it when I'm ready? Or not install if I decide not too?
I cancelled my order, the very thought of my favorite software not loading give me shudders,

I have to much music software and have a very stable setup with W7 ultimate, yes I think would be nice to have W 10 but better to have every thing working when you boot up.
novaburst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2015, 11:07 PM   #18
Susan G
Human being with feelings
 
Susan G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Putnam County, NY, USA
Posts: 3,934
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tod View Post
My biggest concern are a few drivers, like my Komplete Audio 6 drivers
I'll be waiting until I hear something about this, too. There was nothing on their website about Win 10 compatibility as of a day or so ago.

Thanks-

-Susan
Susan G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2015, 10:57 AM   #19
godly
Human being with feelings
 
godly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Belgium - Gent
Posts: 687
Default

Hey guys,
here's a good tool to tweak W10 for music ! Even disable the updates
http://www.thewindowsclub.com/ultima...r-4-windows-10
godly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2015, 11:30 AM   #20
dea-man
Human being with feelings
 
dea-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6,131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by godly View Post
Hey guys,
here's a good tool to tweak W10 for music ! Even disable the updates
http://www.thewindowsclub.com/ultima...r-4-windows-10
This looks interesting.

Has anybody else had a successful experience with this?
__________________
Please check out my REAPER produced music here: http://soundcloud.com/dea-man
dea-man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2015, 11:45 AM   #21
richie43
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,555
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by godly View Post
Hey guys,
here's a good tool to tweak W10 for music ! Even disable the updates
http://www.thewindowsclub.com/ultima...r-4-windows-10
I am curious as to what the opinions are about this from a few of what I consider the deeply experienced Windows geeks around here. I am pretty PC savvy, and I have learned the hard way to distrust any 3rd party app that claims that it can safely tweak system-level things in a Windows OS.....Windows 10 has been awesome for me on 2 machines, one of which is my very busy "production rig". I would be very wary of this sort of app....
__________________
http://soundyaudio.com/ The Sounds of the Hear and Now
richie43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2015, 11:49 AM   #22
richie43
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,555
Default

Ha...warning #1 already...... on their download page they have a link that says "BEFORE YOU DOWNLOAD: Click here to scan Windows for issues causing speed loss"......This is crazy stuff.
__________________
http://soundyaudio.com/ The Sounds of the Hear and Now
richie43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2015, 11:55 AM   #23
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 24,743
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by richie43 View Post
Ha...warning #1 already...... on their download page they have a link that says "BEFORE YOU DOWNLOAD: Click here to scan Windows for issues causing speed loss"......This is crazy stuff.
I wouldn't touch that potentially spyware infested thing with a 10-foot pole. It's not the OPs fault though.
__________________
If it requires a null test to find it, it is by definition minuscule.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2015, 11:58 AM   #24
richie43
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,555
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
I wouldn't touch that potentially spyware infested thing with a 10-foot pole.
Oh, what could be wrong with a 3rd party app that can reach deep into your OS and disable and change things that the OS doesn't want messed with?!? Don't you know that Win10 is MS's tool to imprison our minds and take over the world?? I just re-fitted my tin-foil hat and re-supplied my bunker...I am ready for battle!!



Edit:
I am not attacking the OP......Sorry if it seemed that way. I am only trying to make a point...If you don't like Windows 10, don't use it. But it is very risky to think that an app like that can "fix" anything. Use an OS that you are ok with and one that works well with very little (or zero even) "tweaks". I used to tweak my OS very heavily, and when I had issues, it was always extremely hard (or impossible) to trace the problem. I have used little-to-no tweaks since Windows 7, and 10 is awesome for me so far.
__________________
http://soundyaudio.com/ The Sounds of the Hear and Now
richie43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2015, 11:51 PM   #25
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 18,941
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sickamorz View Post
I will be happy, esstatic when the time runs out, then I will not get there nagware anymore.
??? You get nagware?

I got one little "get Windows 10" flag icon on the toolbar, which said I could click on it and reserve Win10 if I wanted.
Since then, only the Windows Insider emails that I had subscribed to.
What nag screen are you getting?
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.