Old 09-21-2019, 02:07 AM   #1
monty
Human being with feelings
 
monty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 171
Default VST xruns since wine upgrade

Since a wine-staging upgrade I have problems with Xruns for all VST plugins, I am using LinVst-2.7 deb package I have also tried w/ earlier versions, nothing changes.
I had to add a package source from opensuse.org because of the previous updates and dependencies:
active sources for wine:
Code:
deb https://dl.winehq.org/wine-builds/ubuntu/ bionic main  
# deb-src https://dl.winehq.org/wine-builds/ubuntu/ bionic main 
deb https://download.opensuse.org/repositories/Emulators:/Wine:/Debian/xUbuntu_18.04/ ./ 
# deb-src https://download.opensuse.org/repositories/Emulators:/Wine:/Debian/xUbuntu_18.04/ ./
installed packages:
Code:
dpkg --get-selections | grep wine
libkwineffects12                                install
wine-staging                                    install
wine-staging-amd64                              install
wine-staging-i386:i386                          install
wineasio                                        install
wineasio-amd64                                  install
wineasio-i386:i386                              install
winehq-staging                                  install
winetricks                                      install
with the previous wine-staging (4 months ago from winehq.org) and LinVst-2.4.1-Debian-Stretch.zip there were no problems with xruns ...
__________________
KDENeon (5.0.0-31-lowlatency) AMD FX-8350, 16GB, GT 630 (nvidia-435), Multiscreen (2x 22", 1x 15"), Reaper (latest) Theme: iLogic Next, Interface: Tascam US-16x08, ControlSurface: Tascam US-2400, Monitors: JBL 4412A, Tascam VL-S3 & Alesis Elevate 3 mkII
monty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2019, 03:50 AM   #2
monty
Human being with feelings
 
monty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 171
Default

really strange, just tested again w/ the older LinVST version (LinVst-2.4.1-Debian-Stretch.zip) and the problem continues. I have about 50 xruns for midi instruments and less for VST effects, all in all the xruns adds up with every VST plugin you start.
It seems to have something to do with the wine version or wineasio ...
__________________
KDENeon (5.0.0-31-lowlatency) AMD FX-8350, 16GB, GT 630 (nvidia-435), Multiscreen (2x 22", 1x 15"), Reaper (latest) Theme: iLogic Next, Interface: Tascam US-16x08, ControlSurface: Tascam US-2400, Monitors: JBL 4412A, Tascam VL-S3 & Alesis Elevate 3 mkII

Last edited by monty; 09-21-2019 at 04:06 AM.
monty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2019, 07:19 AM   #3
monty
Human being with feelings
 
monty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 171
Default

If I use a higher buffer size > 2048 I see less (sometimes none) xruns but it's slowing down (latancy).
I have always used a sample rate of 48000 Hz wit a buffer size of 1024 samples, but now it seems the VST needs 2048 ...
__________________
KDENeon (5.0.0-31-lowlatency) AMD FX-8350, 16GB, GT 630 (nvidia-435), Multiscreen (2x 22", 1x 15"), Reaper (latest) Theme: iLogic Next, Interface: Tascam US-16x08, ControlSurface: Tascam US-2400, Monitors: JBL 4412A, Tascam VL-S3 & Alesis Elevate 3 mkII
monty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2019, 08:35 AM   #4
monty
Human being with feelings
 
monty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 171
Default

some more details:
Code:
a2jmidid -e
JACK MIDI <-> ALSA sequencer MIDI bridge, version 8 (7383d268c4bfe85df9f10df6351677659211d1ca) built on Thu Jan  1 01:00:00 1970
Copyright 2006,2007 Dmitry S. Baikov
Copyright 2007,2008,2009,2011,2012 Nedko Arnaudov

Bridge starting...
Using JACK server 'default'
Hardware ports will be exported.
Cannot connect to server socket err = No such file or directory
Cannot connect to server request channel
jack server is not running or cannot be started
JackShmReadWritePtr::~JackShmReadWritePtr - Init not done for -1, skipping unlock
JackShmReadWritePtr::~JackShmReadWritePtr - Init not done for -1, skipping unlock
ERROR: a2j_jack_client_create: Cannot create jack client
ERROR: a2j_start: a2j_new() failed.
__________________
KDENeon (5.0.0-31-lowlatency) AMD FX-8350, 16GB, GT 630 (nvidia-435), Multiscreen (2x 22", 1x 15"), Reaper (latest) Theme: iLogic Next, Interface: Tascam US-16x08, ControlSurface: Tascam US-2400, Monitors: JBL 4412A, Tascam VL-S3 & Alesis Elevate 3 mkII
monty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2019, 12:55 AM   #5
monty
Human being with feelings
 
monty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 171
Default

I was able to solve the VST xrun problem ... I guess my cadence config files were corrupted (by system crash) so I deleted all stuff inside .config/cadence/ completely & created a new configuration.
sample rate of 48000 Hz
buffer size 1024
and under tweaks > winasio > buffer size > 2048

now the xruns happens only with a few VST and only when starting the plugin, (1-4 xruns max.)
__________________
KDENeon (5.0.0-31-lowlatency) AMD FX-8350, 16GB, GT 630 (nvidia-435), Multiscreen (2x 22", 1x 15"), Reaper (latest) Theme: iLogic Next, Interface: Tascam US-16x08, ControlSurface: Tascam US-2400, Monitors: JBL 4412A, Tascam VL-S3 & Alesis Elevate 3 mkII
monty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2019, 09:44 AM   #6
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 1,847
Default

What is best or simplest way of installing wineasio in ubuntu 16.04?
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.