Old 06-12-2016, 05:22 PM   #1
KenB
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 77
Default New Interface ... Can't Stop Pops and Clicks

I'm configuring a new Windows 10 x64 computer and I replaced my old interface with an Audient iD14.

When I play my iZotope Iris soft synths (both version 1 and version 2) I get pops and clicks. The problem is that relaxing the interface latency and buffer settings to the max has virtually no effect.

Nothing complicated in the signal path ... just playing Iris with a midi keyboard and routing the audio through the interface.

Have hardly no idea how to ...

1. How to rule out the new interface as the cause.

2. How to troubleshoot the system if the interface is not the cause.

Need some ideas and pointers.

Using Reaper x64 5.201 ... system specs are below.

Thanks!

KenB
__________________
Windows 10 Home x64 v1809, Reaper x64 v5.980,
KenB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 12:10 AM   #2
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,436
Default

Have you tried different USB ports?

Also, try with ASIO4ALL as driver to rule out that the interface has bad native drivers.
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 01:14 AM   #3
KenB
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 77
Default

Well ... I think I might have found the problem.

I went into Control Panel > Power Options > Choose or customize a power plan > Preferred plans ... and changed the power plan from "Balanced" to "High performance". Since that change I haven't been able to coax out one pop or click.

Although I have an inkling I'm not clear on why this change seems to work ... though my theory is that when using the "Balanced" plan the system kinda got caught with it's pants down when midi notes were keyed in and it had to handle the audio output. Is kinda nonsensical given my hardware specs but yet changing the setting helped.

Will do more testing over the next couple of days before I conclude the power plan change worked.

Thanks Fabian ... and everyone else!

KenB
__________________
Windows 10 Home x64 v1809, Reaper x64 v5.980,
KenB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 04:17 AM   #4
bazsound
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 226
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KenB View Post
Well ... I think I might have found the problem.

I went into Control Panel > Power Options > Choose or customize a power plan > Preferred plans ... and changed the power plan from "Balanced" to "High performance". Since that change I haven't been able to coax out one pop or click.

Although I have an inkling I'm not clear on why this change seems to work ... though my theory is that when using the "Balanced" plan the system kinda got caught with it's pants down when midi notes were keyed in and it had to handle the audio output. Is kinda nonsensical given my hardware specs but yet changing the setting helped.

Will do more testing over the next couple of days before I conclude the power plan change worked.

Thanks Fabian ... and everyone else!

KenB
Power saving stuff causes havoc with realtime audio. frequency scaling for one can cause issues, as having to ramp up the frequency can interupt things.

I turn stuff like that off in the bios if i can, i remember on my older amd system i had to turn of amd cool and quiet otherwise it would be switching clock frequencies on demand.

For glitch free audio you need a constant stream of data, if the audio buffer becomes empty you get pops and clicks and in extr4eme causes bursts of noise.

So if your computer is having to wait for something like access to a USB drive or for the processor to ramp up to full speed, the audio buffer can empty and cause a pop or click.

with full performance settings, everything should stay on processor at full speed etc and thats less things to interupt audio.
bazsound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 07:41 AM   #5
dimbow
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 198
Default

Might also be worth opening task manager, clicking on Processes tab, and then on Size, so that the most intensive processes are shown at the top. When you get a pop, you can see what is causing it.
__________________
VOTE for temporary automation bypass in READ mode while touching a parameter.
http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=4924
dimbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 09:31 PM   #6
TheWhistler
Human being with feelings
 
TheWhistler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Deep in the pocket...
Posts: 1,056
Default

You may have a look here:
https://support.focusrite.com/hc/en-...-on-Windows-10

Good explanation of how to set up windows to work smoothly with audio.

If that is not enough. Here is an in depth manual to modify the registry and get rid of unwanted/disturbing processes.
http://www.blackviper.com/service-co...onfigurations/
TheWhistler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2016, 04:31 PM   #7
BrianL
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fabian View Post
Have you tried different USB ports?
+1 for this one. My Focusrite 2i2 has worked great since installed about 6 months ago. Just yesterday I started getting random pops (but not in renders). Tried other ASIOs and spent a lot of time killing processes, etc, to no avail. Changed USB port and- presto. Hope it sticks
BrianL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2016, 11:59 PM   #8
zacki
Human being with feelings
 
zacki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 132
Default

Also valuable info can be found here.

I recently tested a NI Komplete Audio 6 Interface. Although I implemted a lot of the mentioned tips, sadly I didn't get it to work without clicks/pops. I set it to high buffer values, disabled unused hardware in the device manager, stopped several services, stopped processes with process explorer (had only 36 running processes in the end on Win7 x64), swapped usb port, used a powered usb-hub, toggeld power management and tested it on 3 laptops... all with no success! The interface itself is of very high quality and it has all connectivity a dreamed of in small usb powered box. Very sad!
zacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2016, 10:32 PM   #9
BrianL
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 12
Default

I moved USB cables around a got the "pops" back, so this time I tracked down the source. I found that if I unplugged my Korg NanoKontrol2, the pops went away. I downloaded USBDeview utility from Nirsoft.net (VERY good free utilities here btw). This utility gives the details on ALL of your USB devices, even those that are not currently plugged in. The key information it provided was that my 2i2 audio interface and NanoKontrol were on the same USB HUB. Clearly the same hub could not handle the load of both devices.

It can be difficult to discover which USB ports on a PC share the same hub internally, so some trial and error may be needed. I had a spare PCI USB card on the shelf so I took the easy route and plugged it in to the motherboard. Once I was able to isolate my Focusrite 2i2 to it's own USB hub number (un-shared with any other USB devices), the pops are gone, and I can still use the NanoKontrol.

Maybe this is uncommon, as I do have a lot of USB devices, but I would suggest trying to eliminate all but the "popping" USB audio device from the ports early in the troubleshooting game.
BrianL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2018, 02:47 AM   #10
Pinthar
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Abu Dhabi
Posts: 23
Default Pops and clicks solved windows 10

I know this is an old post, but I had the same problem, and after about a week of troubleshooting, I finally found out what worked for me.

1. Changed power options to High performance.
2. Switched my USB port from 3.0 to 2.0.

No more pops, clicks or drop outs while playing high CPU demanding VSTs...

I also use the recommended ASIO drivers for my device...

Warning: Stay clear of ASIO4all...no good this.
Pinthar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.