Old 04-27-2008, 12:00 AM   #1
op76
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 74
Default Sonitus plugins

Don't know if this is a right place to this question, but does anyone know, what are Sonitus effects? Should they come with Reaper, because I don't have them in my computer, but I've seen them on my friends computer. He don't know where it came from? Those are really great plugins, especially multiband-compressor and reverb.

One question about the Reaper license. If we make EP/LP of our own, personal license should be enought, right?
op76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2008, 01:01 AM   #2
jamester
Human being with feelings
 
jamester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 2,185
Default

The SonitusFX are excellent indeed, however they are not native to Reaper. They were made by a company called Ultrafunk, and are distributed by Cakewalk. They do come sandard in Sonar, but you can buy them from Cake's website and use them in Reaper.

They are excellent, my go-to plugs and I highly recommend them.

http://www.cakewalk.com/Products/Sonitus/sonitus.asp

As for licensing, the general rule is that if you make money from selling your work, then you should buy the commercial license.
jamester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 11:34 AM   #3
wendallsan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Oly, WA
Posts: 5
Default Sonitus??

I have the Sonitus bundle from my old Cakewalk Sonar 5 installer, but I'm unable to get them to work in Reaper at all. I've copied the 'shared plugins' directory made by the Sonar installer into my 'vst' folder that Reaper uses for my other plugins (which work fine). But when I start up Reaper the new effects are not detected. I can see numerous dll files in the shared plugins folder named 'sonitus-this' and 'sonitus-that', so I'm fairly certain that I'm working with the right files. What have others done to get this to work properly? I would love to use these effects in Reaper, as I'm already familiar with them and would like to recoup at least a little of the money I spent on Sonar while using Reaper. Thanks for any help.
wendallsan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 11:52 AM   #4
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 18,078
Default

... are they constrained to work only in Sonar?

I don't have Sonar but bought the FX pack separately and they load fine.

Can you look in your reaper-vstplugins.ini file, in C:\Documents and Settings\DarkStar\Application Data\REAPER here?

You should see lines like:
SonitusFXMultibandVST.dll=0097B538433FC401,1431134 771,SonitusFXMultibandVST
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 01:01 PM   #5
jamester
Human being with feelings
 
jamester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 2,185
Default

The native Cake Sonitus fx are DX, not VST. They will work in Reaper fine as DX's, once Reaper knows where they are.
jamester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 10:44 AM   #6
wendallsan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Oly, WA
Posts: 5
Default

Hi, thanks for the responses!

I do have the 'bundled with Sonar' version of these plugins, which may be 'locked' to Sonar, or may be DXi only. I don't think I can use DX effects or instruments because I'm running WINE on Linux to use Reaper, and I've heard that WINE's DirectX support isn't up for handling DX audio effects or plugins. I've tried this with some of my other old Cakewalk apps and plugins (like the Project 5 synths, Rapture and Dimension) but Reaper doesn't seem to know where to find them or what to do with them. If I'm wrong here, I'd love someone to correct me-- it'd be nice to have use of those synths again!

Darkstar I'll post my ini file shortly, I'm not in front of the right machine at this moment.

Thanks again!
wendallsan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 12:55 PM   #7
smueske
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,230
Default

I dunno, but you might try a DX to VST wrapper and see if that helps.
smueske is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 12:06 PM   #8
music_alchemy
Human being with feelings
 
music_alchemy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
... are they constrained to work only in Sonar?
I've got this Dxi's and vst's from sonar and everythink works well in Reaper.
music_alchemy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 11:02 AM   #9
RadioAction
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4
Default

I just did this the other night between Sonar and Reaper. I'm running Sonar 6 Producer Ed. and all I did was copy all of the Sonitus .dll's out of the Sonitus directory under Cakewalk and dumped them into the plugins directory in Reaper and they all worked fine.

One note: The very first time I add a Sonar/Sonitus plugin to a track in Reaper, I get this pop up nastygram about the plugins being licensed for Sonar only, but that doesn't stop them from functioning just the same.

Good Luck!
-Adam
RadioAction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 02:51 PM   #10
smallbutmighty
Human being with feelings
 
smallbutmighty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 64
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by music_alchemy View Post
I've got this Dxi's and vst's from sonar and everythink works well in Reaper.
Same here. I didn't have to jury rig anything...they just work.

sbm
smallbutmighty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 08:24 AM   #11
kirk
Human being with feelings
 
kirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Starship enterprize
Posts: 364
Default

I'm using them and all work,but I have sonar 6 installed on my laptop. It's not registered though ,just sitting there. I don't know if that makes any difference or not. I have the registered copy on a rack audio computer in the studio and I'm able to use more of the vsti plugs like EZDRUMMER but not all. V vocal won't work in Reaper like that registered or not..... Has anyone figured out a work around for these plugs?
kirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 03:38 AM   #12
357mag
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 638
Default

I use the Sonitus Delay. No problems.
357mag is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.