Old 09-09-2012, 02:18 AM   #1
jonbash
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 69
Default Hydrogen to Reaper using JACK

Hello; I'm hoping someone else has done this or something similar and can shed light onto whether or not it's actually possible.

I'm attempting to run Hydrogen, a standalone drum sequencing program, in conjunction with Reaper. Ideally, I would be able to program drums in Hydrogen as I recorded synths and vocals and guitars and other such things in Reaper, and when I pressed play in Reaper, Hydrogen would play as well. As I have it set up now, I'm able to get audio from Hydrogen to Reaper at least using JACK. However, there isn't any sort of transport syncing. Is this even possible with JACK or with anything else? I don't believe Hydrogen has any Rewire functionality.

Is there a free replacement for Hydrogen that might do, possible a VST/AU instrument? I know there's ReaDrum, but it's a little bit 'meh' on a couple of (mostly non-practical) fronts. Anyone have any thoughts about any of the above?
jonbash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 07:05 PM   #2
Smurf
Human being with feelings
 
Smurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,173
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonbash View Post
Anyone have any thoughts about any of the above?
I hate Jack, in windows and linux...sorry, not helpful I know....
__________________
Yep's First 3 Years in PDF's
HP Z600 w/3GHz 12 Core, 48GB Memory, nVidia Quadro 5800, 240GB SSD OS drive, 3 480GB SSD Sample/Storage drives, 18TB External Storage, Dual 27" Monitors
Smurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 08:38 PM   #3
shanabit
Human being with feelings
 
shanabit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 316
Default

Have you tried the IAC Driver thats available in the AMS setup? If you enable it you can run midi through that
__________________
Reaper 4.78,OSX 10.13.6, Steinberg MR816X
shanabit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 04:13 PM   #4
rcl
Human being with feelings
 
rcl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Bahia,Brazil
Posts: 627
Default sync Hydrogen to Reaper with IAC

I was able to get Hydrogen Jack and Reaper to be friendly as well. I am trying to use the IAC to control the transport of Hydrogen. I set a track to generate MTC, sent it out of midi hardware Bus 1 (IAC). I set the Hydrogen midi to core midi and the input to bus 1 channel to all. no go....also the space bare still seems to start hydrogen. Any ideas?

Macbook pro 2.26 intel dual core
Reaper 4
hydrogen 0.9.6 beta
Jackosx .89
rcl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.