Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-30-2019, 02:34 AM   #1
Vasily
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 128
Default Command to arm and disarm track, not toggle arm

Hi,

I'm trying to write some Reaper macros and I'm surprised that on one hand I have `Track: Mute tracks` and `Track: Unmute tracks`, but for record arming all I could find is `Track: Toggle record arm for selected tracks`.

Am I overlooking some way to disable or enable track arm for selected track(s) in a macro that does not behave as toggle: just turn it off or on?

Thanks
Vasily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2019, 02:52 AM   #2
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,893
Default

Check out these Actions (part of SWS extensions):
  • Xenakios/SWS: Set selected tracks record armed
  • Xenakios/SWS: Set selected tracks record unarmed
__________________
ReaLauncher
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2019, 02:54 AM   #3
Vasily
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 128
Default

great suggestion, thanks. but if there is a way to do it without SWS, I'm all ears.
Vasily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2019, 02:58 AM   #4
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,893
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vasily View Post
great suggestion, thanks. but if there is a way to do it without SWS, I'm all ears.
Not that I know of, but it's probably best to post this question (also) into the Scripts section: https://forum.cockos.com/forumdisplay.php?f=3
__________________
ReaLauncher
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2019, 03:18 AM   #5
Vasily
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 128
Default

looked through the SWS function code and I actually doubt there is an easy way around it.

happily installed and using SWS functions, thanks again for pointing them out!
Vasily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2019, 03:31 AM   #6
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 7,443
Default

sws is the right arm of Reaper. Anyone using Reaper and not using SWS is missing out on another universe of tools that work great.
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 01:35 AM   #7
CEART
Human being with feelings
 
CEART's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Spain
Posts: 66
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by solger View Post
Check out these Actions (part of SWS extensions):
  • Xenakios/SWS: Set selected tracks record armed
  • Xenakios/SWS: Set selected tracks record unarmed
Simple but effective Actions! thanks. I am looking for some action for toggle on/off record arm at each new track selected with mouse click (not keyboard commands) Kinda same way Cubase implement by default. That is possible in Reaper?
Attached Images
File Type: gif Clickandrecord2.gif (60.3 KB, 16 views)
CEART is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 09:19 AM   #8
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,893
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CEART View Post
I am looking for some action for toggle on/off record arm at each new track selected with mouse click (not keyboard commands) ...
There's an option to auto-arm the selected track: https://www.reaper.fm/videos.php#WPE8CqcTBBE
  • This can be toggled on/off, for instance, via the Track > Set all tracks to automatic record-arm when track selected main menu
  • Or set as global default for new tracks by selecting Automatic record-arm when track selected in the Record config under Preferences > Project > Track/Send Defaults
__________________
ReaLauncher

Last edited by solger; Today at 09:28 AM. Reason: video link added
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 11:09 AM   #9
CEART
Human being with feelings
 
CEART's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Spain
Posts: 66
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by solger View Post
There's an option to auto-arm the selected track: https://www.reaper.fm/videos.php#WPE8CqcTBBE
  • This can be toggled on/off, for instance, via the Track > Set all tracks to automatic record-arm when track selected main menu
  • Or set as global default for new tracks by selecting Automatic record-arm when track selected in the Record config under Preferences > Project > Track/Send Defaults
Amazing, interestingly, I had tried that command previously from version 5, but now thanks to your response I could realize that I had blocked that command menu with a conflictive action, and I left it that way by carelessness. Now in Reaper 6 the conflict for some reason disappeared and the function worked immediately after enable it at your response.

Thanks! you make my day.
CEART is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.