Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-15-2018, 05:36 AM   #1
net147
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 17
Default [5.941] Audio dropouts with 8 instances of Europa VST at 48 KHz/24-bit [SOLVED]

Steps to reproduce:
1. Install Europa by Reason VST from https://www.propellerheads.se/downlo...ropa-by-reason
2. Launch Reaper
3. Configure to use ASIO driver with 48000 Hz, 24-bit, 128 samples buffer size
4. Add 8 instances of Europa VST with Record Armed for all 8 instances
5. Mash the MIDI keyboard with your hand repeatedly pressing down 10 notes at a time.

Expected result:
No audio dropouts.

Actual result:
Audio dropouts. If you do the same thing in Ableton Live 10.0.2, Bitwig Studio 2.3.5 or Propellerhead Reason 10.2.2d1 you don't get any audio dropouts.

Software:
Microsoft Windows 10 64-bit Version 1803 (OS Build 17134.191)
Reaper 5.941 64-bit

Hardware:
Intel Core i7 7700HQ CPU
32GB DDR4-2400 RAM
RME Babyface Pro (driver version 1.164)

Last edited by net147; 08-16-2018 at 03:17 AM.
net147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2018, 06:11 AM   #2
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,159
Default

Check out Reaper's performance meter, what's the RT CPU on it?

Record arming tracks places them all on one CPU core for processing, I am assuming you're probably pushing that one core over the edge. Do you have live FX multiprocessing enabled in Preferences->Audio->Buffering?
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2018, 06:17 AM   #3
net147
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 17
Default

Performance Meter
cur/avg: 8.77/3.78% range: 0.2-13.3%
Total CPU: 8.8%
RT CPU: 62.5%
9 FX: 8.08% CPU
Europa by Reason 1.04%
Europa by Reason 1.01%
Europa by Reason 1.01%
Europa by Reason 1.00%
Europa by Reason 1.00%
Europa by Reason 1.01%
Europa by Reason 1.00%
Europa by Reason 1.01%

Allow live FX multiprocessing was unchecked (default).
After checking it, it works fine.
net147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2018, 06:57 AM   #4
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,159
Default

There you have it.

Also IIRC 7700HQ is a laptop CPU, do you have laptop's power options set to High Performance, disabled core parking, disabled SpeedStep so that frequency of the CPU doesn't change dynamically (that one REALLY kills audio performance of the machine)?
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2018, 06:58 AM   #5
net147
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 17
Default

Yes I have done all that.
net147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2018, 07:52 AM   #6
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,159
Default

In any case pretty weird to start getting crackles before RT CPU is at over 90%...
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2018, 03:24 AM   #7
net147
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 17
Default

Intel HD Graphics tends to interfere with USB when rendering graphics due to it using the system RAM and there is nothing you can do about it on most laptops (it is always enabled when NVIDIA Optimus is present as the LCD and monitor ports are connected to it).

USB also has CPU overhead compared to PCI/PCIe/Thunderbolt/Firewire which can use DMA for transferring data without using up CPU resources.
net147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2018, 07:54 PM   #8
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,667
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
In any case pretty weird to start getting crackles before RT CPU is at over 90%...
Not necessarily, the RT longest-block indicator is a better predictor of crackles...
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2018, 10:11 PM   #9
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,115
Default

Just curious:
What easts that much RT CPU, if all FXes are that low % ?

-Michael
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.