Old 06-13-2018, 03:20 PM   #1
Muddy Tbone
Human being with feelings
 
Muddy Tbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Folsom, California, USA
Posts: 302
Default How to Transfer Reaper License to a New PC

Hi All,

I have a paid Reaper license on my old PC. I have a new PC and need direction on how to download Reaper on my new PC. I spent quiet a bit of time searching for a license number of Reaper on my other PC, to no avail.

Thanks all!
__________________
I wouldn't want to be a member of a club that would have me as a member of the club...Groucho Marx
Muddy Tbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2018, 03:44 PM   #2
Stella645
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 892
Default

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=189317
Stella645 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2018, 04:57 PM   #3
camerondye
Human being with feelings
 
camerondye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1,259
Default

It's not a license number, it's a file that has an ".rk" extension. Mine was named reaper-license.rk and you upload that file.
camerondye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2018, 07:25 PM   #4
Muddy Tbone
Human being with feelings
 
Muddy Tbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Folsom, California, USA
Posts: 302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by camerondye View Post
It's not a license number, it's a file that has an ".rk" extension. Mine was named reaper-license.rk and you upload that file.
Thank you, I will look for that. Where does one upload said file? Or place said file?
__________________
I wouldn't want to be a member of a club that would have me as a member of the club...Groucho Marx
Muddy Tbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2018, 07:44 PM   #5
Bill_T
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muddy Tbone View Post
Thank you, I will look for that. Where does one upload said file? Or place said file?
I just recently moved to a new computer. I copied the "code" into Windows Notepad from the email I received from Cockos when I bought Reaper. When I then started Reaper, it announced that it had noticed the code in the Clipboard and that I was good to go. Not all my music software was that easy.
Bill_T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2018, 10:47 AM   #6
camerondye
Human being with feelings
 
camerondye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1,259
Default

Have you contacted the powers that be and ask them to resend you your license, I bet they will help you get a new copy. I save mine permanently in my yahoo email account under a folder marked music stuff I want to keep and I would suggest you do the same with all your codes. It's very easy and space isn't a concern in email anymore.
camerondye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2018, 07:00 PM   #7
Muddy Tbone
Human being with feelings
 
Muddy Tbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Folsom, California, USA
Posts: 302
Default

All_ I really , really appreciate the responses and help.

The email acct that Reaper would have sent to is history, and I can not figure out how to communicate with the Reaper folks.????

Arggh. Help.

You all have been great so far and very helpful, thank you so much!
__________________
I wouldn't want to be a member of a club that would have me as a member of the club...Groucho Marx
Muddy Tbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2018, 10:52 PM   #8
CDS
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 64
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muddy Tbone View Post
Hi All,

I have a paid Reaper license on my old PC. I have a new PC and need direction on how to download Reaper on my new PC. I spent quiet a bit of time searching for a license number of Reaper on my other PC, to no avail.

Thanks all!
Just copy to usb stick and paste into new computer.
you will find it in the directory that you installed reaper in on the old computer. No need to wait for response from reaper people.
CDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2018, 11:46 PM   #9
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2,981
Default

On the old computer:

1) Go to Options > Show REAPER resource path ...
2) Copy the reaper-license.rk file to a USB-stick

On the new computer:

3) Import the copied reaper-license.rk license file into Reaper. Some options are:
  • Via the [Import license key...] button in the evaluation dialog shown at launch
  • Via the Help menu ('Help > Purchasing Information' or 'Help > About Reaper > Purchase')
  • By copying the file into the Reaper resource path folder and restarting Reaper afterwards
  • ...
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2018, 08:40 AM   #10
Muddy Tbone
Human being with feelings
 
Muddy Tbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Folsom, California, USA
Posts: 302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by solger View Post
On the old computer:

1) Go to Options > Show REAPER resource path ...
2) Copy the reaper-license.rk file to a USB-stick

On the new computer:

3) Import the copied reaper-license.rk license file into Reaper. Some options are:
  • Via the [Import license key...] button in the evaluation dialog shown at launch
  • Via the Help menu ('Help > Purchasing Information' or 'Help > About Reaper > Purchase')
  • By copying the file into the Reaper resource path folder and restarting Reaper afterwards
  • ...
Perfect description very concise. Thank you. Easy as can be.
__________________
I wouldn't want to be a member of a club that would have me as a member of the club...Groucho Marx
Muddy Tbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.