Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Q&A, Tips, Tricks and Howto

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-26-2021, 12:35 PM   #1
sjs94704
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Berkeley, CA USA
Posts: 1,336
Default How Do I .... Set ITEM volume to specific volume easily...??

I can see that when I open the item properties that there is a volume fader to adjust the item volume, BUT maybe I'm just not seeing it, but for example, I imported several stems that make up the song I want to mix and I want to set the item volume of each stem to -5.6. BUT, I just don't want to keep messing with the fader until I get to that exact number.

How can I do this?
__________________
Bayside Studios, Berkeley, CA - Music That Brings People Together
Steven Schuyler, Singer
sjs94704 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2021, 02:11 PM   #2
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 3,913
Default

Select all the items you want to change, then open the item properties, holding down Control key will allow you to fine adjust the volume fader.

Or else you could try this Lua script. Created long time ago from various forum posts, if item has multiple takes then I think I'd have to update it to loop through each take also, otherwise seems to work OK on selected items...

Code:
local vol_dB = -5.6 -- set item volume

reaper.PreventUIRefresh(1)
for i = 0, reaper.CountSelectedMediaItems(0)-1 do
  local item = reaper.GetSelectedMediaItem(0,i)
  local take = reaper.GetActiveTake(item)
  if take then 
    local vol = 10^(vol_dB/20)
    reaper.SetMediaItemTakeInfo_Value(take, "D_VOL", vol)
  end
end
reaper.UpdateArrange()
reaper.PreventUIRefresh(-1)
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2021, 07:19 PM   #3
sjs94704
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Berkeley, CA USA
Posts: 1,336
Default

Hmm ...

I was just watching a guy demonstrating gain staging and he was demonstrating that he had got some stems of a song from someone and before he did anything I guess Pro Tools has the ability to set a specific item volume vs having to play with the fader.
__________________
Bayside Studios, Berkeley, CA - Music That Brings People Together
Steven Schuyler, Singer
sjs94704 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2021, 10:02 PM   #4
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 3,913
Default

Hmmm, they just added this to the newest pre-release, sounds like what you're asking about?
Quote:
+ Media item properties: support entering numeric values for take volume/pan
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=255944

Good luck!
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.