Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > ReaScript, JSFX, REAPER Plug-in Extensions, Developer Forum

Old 12-14-2017, 06:35 AM   #1
azslow3
Human being with feelings

Default Looking for hints concerning API (in Control Surface related part)

Hi,
I have joined the community not so long time ago, I am still learning how to use Reaper. But in parallel I try to understand what is needed to port my own project into Reaper, which new possibilities that opens, etc.
I slowly google and look at the source, but may be some experienced people can simplify my journey. Just a link (to docs or source) can be sufficient. I do not want take too much of someone's time.

1. IReaperControlSurface::Extended().
Is there any description for existing extensions? I mean 65538, 65548, 65550, etc. Is that in some recent versions of SDK?
I like "event driven" approach, so instead of parameters pooling I just can wait till Reaper informs me that the parameter is changed. That is already in the API, but only for a tiny subset of possible parameters (volume, pan, etc.). I hope there is some extension to required notifications for any (or just more) parameters (f.e. plug-in selected/GUI opened, parameter X from FX Y in the item Z of track T is modified, etc.).

2. All surface examples in SDK are for dedicated devices. So the approach to create separate IO is fine.
But there are many devices which use the same port for surface and keys/other "MIDI" controls.
2.a) what is the usual way to proceed in that case? Fe virtual internal MIDI loopers?
2.b) are there any "hooks" in the MIDI hardware input/output internal processing chains?
Ideally I would prefer to get control at the very beginning of input processing, to filter our surface related messages, transform some messages (think of Ableton Push scenario) or even inject new (f.e. to allow "MIDI Learn" from dedicated surface, injecting messages as coming from performance device). The same for output.