Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-04-2021, 03:41 AM   #1
leadstoner
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 1
Default $region(name) not getting exported into file name anymore

Hi!
Using REAPER 6.28 I experience that when rendering, the wildcard "$region (name)" is not exported into filenames anymore.
It used to be, but it must somehow got lost in-between.
Cross-checked with an older version (6.12) that still does it.
See attached screenshots.

Thanks.
w
leadstoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2021, 04:16 PM   #2
phoo
Human being with feelings
 
phoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Hampstead, NC
Posts: 137
Default

I noticed this today as well in V 6.31. $region(name) results in NOTHING where it should fill in text in the filename. $region alone is working as expected.
__________________
Experienced enough to know - Too old to care

http://www.phootoons.com
phoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2021, 04:21 PM   #3
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 12,073
Default

This seems to be working as expected here. I can't really make out the screenshots in the original post (which I notice is a couple of months old). It's possible you are misinterpreting what is supposed to happen with $region(name), which is different from $region.

schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2021, 07:00 PM   #4
phoo
Human being with feelings
 
phoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Hampstead, NC
Posts: 137
Default

What it's doing on my machine is that "$region" adds the region "name" while "$region(name)" adds nothing at all when used as a wildcard.

What should "$region(name)" add? How is it different than "$region"?

The project name is "somebody_acappella". This is the 9th region by number, and the region is named "honest_work".

Attached are two images that show what's seen in the render dialog. The resulting files are names as seen.
Attached Images
File Type: png Screenshot 2021-07-07 215133.png (9.3 KB, 12 views)
File Type: png Screenshot 2021-07-07 215230.png (10.9 KB, 14 views)
__________________
Experienced enough to know - Too old to care

http://www.phootoons.com
phoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2021, 07:06 PM   #5
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 12,073
Default

Under the wildcards button, select "wildcard help."

Code:
$marker(name) : marker name matching name=value
$region(name)  :  region name matching name=value
So if you have a region within the rendered time range named foo=bar, for example, $region(foo) will resolve to "bar".

A typical use would be to add several markers or regions with different identifiers, for example "sound=gunshot", "equipment=colt 45", "room=dry". Then you could use the wildcards $region(sound), $region(equipment), $region(room), which woudl resolve to "gunshot", "colt 45", and "dry" respectively.

If all you want is the full name of the region, just use the $region wildcard.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2021, 07:59 PM   #6
phoo
Human being with feelings
 
phoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Hampstead, NC
Posts: 137
Default

I totally see what your are saying. This is definitely not a bug, and is in fact working as is should (confirmed).

I don't understand the usefulness of having this, so time for a short lesson if anyone wants to indulge.

1) We can "name" a region by entering text in the box labeled "Name". The "&region" wildcard will pull out whatever is in the Name Box.

2) We can create a label for a region by putting text in the format of "foo=bar" in the Name Box. The Wildcard "$region(foo)" will pull out "bar".

Are these correct?

Assuming yes, why would someone choose to do "2" instead of the much simpler "1"? What scenarios makes "2" better?

Reaper is full of all kinds of good useful stuff. This is a new one to me.
__________________
Experienced enough to know - Too old to care

http://www.phootoons.com
phoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2021, 08:14 PM   #7
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,475
Default

It would be cool if the region could contain more x=y terms, possibly separated by ",", ";" or "|" characters.

Then it would make sense to name region like
region1: "equipment=moog | sound=bass"
region2: "equipment=moog | sound=pluck"
region3: "equipment=dx7 | sound=bell"

You could then render regions with name of your choice/need.
So e.g. $region(equipment) would name files by equipment, while for another application the $region(sound) would name them by sound type. (Or use both if needed).
akademie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2021, 04:52 AM   #8
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 12,073
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phoo View Post
Assuming yes, why would someone choose to do "2" instead of the much simpler "1"? What scenarios makes "2" better?
To let you create multiple identifier=value markers or regions and pull out the one you want with a wildcard, like this...

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
A typical use would be to add several markers or regions with different identifiers, for example "sound=gunshot", "equipment=colt 45", "room=dry". Then you could use the wildcards $region(sound), $region(equipment), $region(room), which would resolve to "gunshot", "colt 45", and "dry" respectively.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2021, 01:37 PM   #9
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,475
Default

Thank you schwa for expanding markers and regions naming convention in v6.32+dev0709 which allows multiple terms being used within one marker/region as suggested above.
Amazing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
v6.32+dev0709 - July 9 2021
+ Wildcards: support marker/region names consisting of separated name=value pairs using $marker(name)[separator] and $region(name)[separator] (see wildcard help)
For reference I'm pasting here a part of help info from render window dealing with these wildcards:
Code:
With a project marker named "first=john;last=doe" :
$marker resolves to "first=john;last=doe"
$marker(first) resolves to "john;last=doe"
$marker(last) resolves to nothing
$marker(first)[;] resolves to "john"
$marker(last)[;] resolves to "doe"

Last edited by akademie; 07-09-2021 at 07:13 PM. Reason: typo
akademie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.