Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Old 05-30-2020, 08:15 PM   #1
guitaruana
Human being with feelings

Default Can't get plugins to work

Absolute newbie here with very limited computer skills to begin with, unable to get plugins to work. All the youtube videos seem to gloss over a particular step or two that I just can't figure out. It's absolutely maddening. Are there any bettter instructions out there? I've read some of the reaper instructions but can't seem to find the right answers and I fear I don't even know the right questions to ask.

HELP

frustrated.
guitaruana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2020, 11:59 PM   #2
Softsynth

Watch Kenny's videos:
https://www.reaper.fm/videos.php
Softsynth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2020, 12:02 AM   #3
ivansc

Hi & welcome to the forums.
First step for any new user should be to check out the free user guide, which you seem to have done, AND check out the free video tutorials. Kenny Gioia`s in particular are excellent for helping you get your head around how DAWs in general and reaper in particular work.

Understanding the concept of HOW plugins work and more importantly HOW they should be installed & accessed is not that complicated but there are pitfalls. Kenny covers them all really well.
A couple of questions that may lead you in the right direction.

Where did you install your plugins?
One of the classic newb mistakes is to put third party plugins in the Reaper plugins directory, despite there being a warning message in that file that it is NOT intended for anything but reapers own native plugins, which are not vst or Au or any of the other formats.
Best idea is to let the plugins decide for themselves where they want to install, but if they give you the option, create folder(s) to take them. Typically, vst and vsti in a folder like C:\Program Files\vst plugins64 or \Program files (x86)\vst plugins32 for 32bit one.