Old 10-07-2018, 03:42 AM   #1
zookthespook
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: India Mumbai
Posts: 816
Default are lua scripts generic across softwares ?

HI
it may be a really dumb question but
as software like Renoise use Lua scripts as well , is it possible to use them across software ? just asking from the point does it have specific syntax for reaper or will be common for all DAWs ?

regrads
zook
zookthespook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2018, 04:07 AM   #2
Xenakios
Human being with feelings
 
Xenakios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 8,062
Default

No, Lua itself is just a very basic programming language that needs to be differently extended with function calls by each software using it, so there is basically no practically useful compatibility across softwares. (The language syntax stays the same but the available function calls to interoperate with the host software are different.)
__________________
I am no longer part of the REAPER community. Please don't contact me with any REAPER-related issues.
Xenakios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2018, 04:39 AM   #3
zookthespook
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: India Mumbai
Posts: 816
Default

Get it now
thanks Xenakios !

cheers
zook
zookthespook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2018, 02:16 PM   #4
Meo-Ada Mespotine
Human being with feelings
 
Meo-Ada Mespotine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Leipzig
Posts: 6,621
Default

You could, however, code stuff like

Code:
if software=="Reaper" then
  -- do the Reaper code
elseif software=="Renoise" then 
  -- do the Renoise code
end
where the variable software somehow holds the programname it runs on.


Depending on how much of the software itself is represented in the API-functions of Reaper and Renoise, you can code, that may do the same. Reaper gives you access to much of the stuff; if Renoise gives you the same amount of access, you may have a chance.
However, as soon as one thing is missing from one of the two programs, you're stuck.

And don't expect wonders. Some of the concepts of Reaper probably work totally different in Renoise or aren't existing at all.
I suppose AutomationItems should exist only in Reaper, so programming it in Renoise should be impossible(I suppose. I don't know Renoise).
__________________
Use you/she/her.Ultraschall-Api Lua Api4Reaper - Donate, if you wish

On vacation for the time being...
Meo-Ada Mespotine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2018, 05:56 AM   #5
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 4,031
Default

And there is hackey trackey and patterns for Reaper, so it could be a fun experiment, trying to connect renoise lua ideas with trackey and patterns ideas, where it makes sense. Another experimentation field for the future. At least it would allow thinking in more abstract non-application dependent ways. What is the connection between concepts available in reaper's hackey trackey and patterns and renoise for example?
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.