Old 06-14-2021, 12:35 AM   #1
ondrej.par
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 7
Default Send program change on project load

Hi, I feel like I'm missing something obvious: is it possible to configure Reaper to send MIDI program changes (and maybe some CC changes) immediately after a project is loaded?

I currently have a MIDI item that starts with a PC event. When I load the project, nothing is sent to the MIDI device. It's only sent after I start playback.

"Reset all midi devices" action doesn't help.

Thanks for any advice.
ondrej.par is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2021, 06:31 AM   #2
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 11,028
Default

AFAIR, ReaPack -> Slider to Midi PS does something similar.

But I don't suppose it will work, as "immediately" supposedly is not what you want. You need the plugin to receive the Program Change message after it is fully functional and this might be a rather long time after the project is loaded.

Why do you think anything should be "sent" from a Midi item when loading befor "start" ?

Why do you think "Reset all midi devices" has anything to do with that ?

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2021, 08:31 AM   #3
ondrej.par
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 7
Default

I need to switch presets on external MIDI hardware before the playback starts. This is for live use. Each song is a separate project and I want to initialize everything during the gap between songs.

As for "Reset midi devices": Reaper finds and sends the last available program change on start of playback, looking back from the actual seek position. So it tries really hard to keep presets "in sync" and I kinda expected it will do that when resetting devices, too.
ondrej.par is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2021, 01:03 PM   #4
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 11,028
Default

Maybe Slider To Midi PS sends out a program change message when it's loaded, which always is done when loading a project. But maybe this might be too early because other stuff is not yet initialized.

AFAIR you can start a script on project load.
That script could do a delay and after that push a preset onto an instance of Slider To Midi PS. Same will output a Program change message (if the preset effectively modifies the Parameter (slider) ).
But maybe changing the project in fact os not the appropriate way to achieve what you intend.

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2021, 02:54 PM   #5
ondrej.par
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 7
Default

Ah... I just noticed there actually is "JS: MIDI Program/Bank Switch on Load" effect that does exactly what I need.
ondrej.par is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2021, 09:54 PM   #6
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 11,028
Default

Great !
-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.