Old 04-11-2019, 12:24 PM   #1
Seeds
Human being with feelings
 
Seeds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 7
Default Reverse rotary encoder? mapping

Hi, is there a way to reverse Relative mode 1 with midi learn?

it works but it is backwards and Relative 2 works but goes really slowly

Relative 3 doesn't seem to work and Absolute mode doesn't seems to work with rotary encoders (but does for potentiometers and faders/sliders)
Seeds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2019, 12:51 PM   #2
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 8,231
Default

You can put any cc action into a custom action with the a 'modify: negative' action before it to reverse the output. Welcome to the forums, btw.
__________________
Myyy Wyyyrd Musyyyck
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2019, 01:29 PM   #3
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6,313
Default

reverse should absolutely be an option in the learn box. I was thinking about that just last week
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2019, 07:28 PM   #4
Seeds
Human being with feelings
 
Seeds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 7
Default

gebus.... a month later, I'm still trying to figure out how to reverse a rotary encoder and I googled and this is the first google result =/
Seeds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 12:27 AM   #5
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 8,231
Default

Well it's still like I said last month: make a custom action, add the action you're trying to learn and put a "modify: negative" action before it. That reverses the direction of your encoder.

Assign the custom action the same way; Rel 1.

__________________
Myyy Wyyyrd Musyyyck
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 12:47 AM   #6
Seeds
Human being with feelings
 
Seeds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 7
Default

I don't mean making an action though

I am assigning midi controller knobs and in this case rotary encoder to the gui of a plugin... it works fine for potentiometers (the ones that stop moving) but rotary encoders (the ones that keep moving) don't seem to work right for me

although suddenly, it does seem to work now in Absolute mode with my Arturia Minilab MKII

but my Behringer CMD LC-1 encoders still don't work right in Reaper

I'm too much of a noob I guess to understand your answer maybe =/

in Mixcraft (checkbox) and in Ableton (switch 100-0 to 0-100) they have simple ways to reverse any control fader/potentiometer/encoder I just don't see how to do it with Reaper yet.
Seeds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 01:10 AM   #7
Seeds
Human being with feelings
 
Seeds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 7
Default

well, just tested again and Absolute midi learn mode with soft takeover does now work with my Samson Conspiracy and my Arturia Minilab MKII (could've sworn it didn't before)

So I'm happy with that, I can now use 28 more rotary encoders than I could before.

Still doesn't work right with my Behringer CMD LC-1 it reverse in Relative 1 and the others are even worse (slower or not at all)...but 2 out of 3 isn't bad so thanks I'm happy now :0)

and maybe now it is that the Behringer works differently and doesn't play well with Reaper I just won't use the 8 encoders
Seeds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 07:40 AM   #8
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6,313
Default

With the ReaLearn plugin you can reverse direction of links and more

there were two videos using it on the blog last month
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 08:46 AM   #9
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 8,231
Default

My bad, you'll have to use ReaLearn then. It's really useful though and not hard to use. I've always got it on a hidden track in my default project template just in case I need it.
__________________
Myyy Wyyyrd Musyyyck
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 09:20 PM   #10
kevnls
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 1
Default This isn't what he's looking for (or me)

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxAsteria View Post
Well it's still like I said last month: make a custom action, add the action you're trying to learn and put a "modify: negative" action before it. That reverses the direction of your encoder.

Assign the custom action the same way; Rel 1.

He's saying the controller is spitting out the wrong number at run-time (as we programmers call it). I did try your solution just to make sure and it's not what he's asking about. You're saying reverse it as you're doing the learn. It does nothing at run-time when you turn the knob. I also tried setting up a custom action with a trigger of turning the knob. No luck. I think we need Cockos to add a reverse option.

Last edited by kevnls; 06-10-2021 at 09:26 PM.
kevnls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 09:33 PM   #11
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 8,231
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevnls View Post
He's saying the controller is spitting out numbers with the wrong +/- at run-time (as we programmers call it).
I probably misunderstood the question. All the same, try ReaLearn. Much more powerful than years ago when this question was asked and can almost certainly do whatever it is that needs doing.

I used to use it on a hidden track, but now simply on the monitor fx chain, so it's always functioning in every project. Brought all my controllers to life.
__________________
Myyy Wyyyrd Musyyyck
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.