Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-02-2021, 06:33 PM   #1
debarment
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 18
Default How do you use the MIDI humanizer plugin without causing overlapping issues?

I'm trying to use the MIDI humanizer plugin. This works great if the notes are spaced out, but if I have say two whole notes next to each other, it's 50/50 if the second whole note gets clobbered. (ie, somehow, for whatever reason, the second note simply doesn't play)

I'm looking for some sort of fix for the humanizer plugin that doesn't cause overlaps, ie, if you have two whole notes in a row, *both* whole notes should always be heard, regardless of the timing humanization amount.

I don't mind diving into the plugin code so if anyone has any ideas. Thank you!!

Last edited by debarment; 06-02-2021 at 06:54 PM.
debarment is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2021, 11:22 PM   #2
jrk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,885
Default

There's action
Correct overlapping notes
or even
Script: kawa_MIDI_ResolveOverLap.lua

Maybe one of those helps...
__________________
it's meant to sound like that...

Last edited by jrk; 06-03-2021 at 11:30 PM.
jrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2021, 11:37 PM   #3
zacki
Human being with feelings
 
zacki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 204
Default

It's easy to prevent overlapping MIDI notes. Check Automatically correct overlapping notes in the MIDI-Editor Options Menu. And as jrk mentioned, theres the Action, in case you forgot to set the Option.
__________________
Some of my favourite posts: 1 2 3
zacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2021, 09:42 AM   #4
ashcat_lt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,958
Default

All of the above actions work only on midi which already exists in an item on a track. JS Humanizer is a real time “live” process. One would have to render or record the midi output first, which is of course useless in the actual live performance case. Preventing overlap in real time is not exactly trivial.
ashcat_lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2021, 08:58 PM   #5
debarment
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ashcat_lt View Post
All of the above actions work only on midi which already exists in an item on a track.
This is exactly my issue.

However, luckily I'm not using this live.

Is it possible to render a midi track with the humanizer to another midi track? Then I can fix overlaps with the script?
debarment is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 06:13 PM   #6
debarment
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 18
Default

Still looking for a good solution here.

What do you suggest?
debarment is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 06:59 PM   #7
ashcat_lt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,958
Default

Sorry. As with many things in Reaper, there are a few ways to accomplish similar results, and which is best often depends on more specifics than we really have in this thread so far but also sometimes just personal workflow preference.

If the MIDI already exists as an item on a track, I kind of wonder why you’d use the JS rather than just the Humanize action in the midi editor, but...

From the Arrange windo you could right click the item and Apply Take/Track FX...(midi output). This will not put it on a new track, and will leave the JS on the track so that you would then want to bypass or remove it so that the now humanized new take doesn’t get humanized even more.

If you really want it on a new track, probably the easiest way is to duplicate the track first, then do the Apply FX, then bypass/remove the plugin, and maybe crop to active take. Or you could send from the existing track to a new track and set that new track to record Output (midi), then record while it plays through.
ashcat_lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.