Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Q&A, Tips, Tricks and Howto

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-25-2021, 07:18 PM   #1
ThomasDuy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 12
Default When using many CC channels, it's hard to manage them all in the MIDI Editor

When using some diversive VSTs like SWAM's, I tend to use many CC lanes, to achieve realistic sounds. It could end up opening many CC lanes in my MIDI editor, and they can take all the space of the MIDI Notes editor above.
And then when I switch to the tracks which don't use that much CC channels, the MIDI editor of them would still show all the other CC channels that I use in other tracks.
Can anyone provide me some tips tricks for this please ?

Last edited by ThomasDuy; 05-26-2021 at 03:27 AM. Reason: mistake CC lanes - CC channels
ThomasDuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2021, 08:39 PM   #2
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 13,393
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThomasDuy View Post
When using some diversive VSTs like SWAM's, I tend to use many CC channels, to achieve realistic sounds. It could end up opening many CC channels in my MIDI editor, and they can take all the space of the MIDI Notes editor above.
And then when I switch to the tracks which don't use that much CC channels, the MIDI editor of them would still show all the other CC channels that I use in other tracks.
Can anyone provide me some tips tricks for this please ?
Hi Thomas, there is something that I use where I can save & restore up to 20 different CC lane configurations. It's in Extensions ReaPack, called "Lokasenna CC Ryder". You have to have up-to-date SWS extensions for it to work.

It uses a toolbar for saving and restoring CC configurations. I love it because I've got it set up for my favorite VSTi plugins.

PS: Incidentally, I think what you call CC channels are actually CC lanes.
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2021, 03:33 AM   #3
ThomasDuy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 12
Default

Thank you Mr.Tod, I should call them CC lanes. I'm looking into this CC ryder now !
ThomasDuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2021, 07:21 AM   #4
mozart999uk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 819
Default

There's various actions for things like "show only used CC, hide all CC, show only cc lane under mouse" etc.

I've got my editor set up that when you double click it, it only shows used CC lanes. I've also set up shortcut keys to enlarge or shrink the CC lanes as a whole

Holler if you need any help with any of those :-)
mozart999uk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2021, 08:07 PM   #5
ThomasDuy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 12
Default

thankyou, Can you tell me more about those actions ?
CC ryder is very useful already but I wish to know more about your methods. Thank you
ThomasDuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 01:19 AM   #6
mozart999uk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 819
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThomasDuy View Post
thankyou, Can you tell me more about those actions ?
CC ryder is very useful already but I wish to know more about your methods. Thank you
Sure here's a few to get you started:

I've created a custom action to show only the velocity lane and to enlarge it to 400 pixels (see the attachment)


To hide all the cc lanes I use "SWS/FNG: Hide all CC lanes"


To show all CC lanes I use "SWS/FNG: Show only used CC lanes"


I've created another custom action to hide all the lanes except the one under the mouse cursor. See the attachment.

Hope that helps :-)
mozart999uk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 06:27 AM   #7
Fergler
Human being with feelings
 
Fergler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 4,576
Default

I prefer use a dedicated MIDI channel for CC messages for those large instruments, like channel 16, then generate that using ReaControlMIDI. Make envelope lanes for each of the desired CCs.

Now they show up on the arrange view instead of in the MIDI data, and you can easily hide all automation (I have this set to A key). You can either hop back and forth or use the inline editor.
__________________
Check out my hip-hop, funk-rock band Theatre Crisp

Last edited by Fergler; 06-10-2021 at 06:33 AM.
Fergler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 04:01 PM   #8
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 19,018
Default

Maybe this script will help: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=174826

__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.