Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > Dstruct's Casa De Nitpicks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-13-2021, 11:32 AM   #1
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3,588
Default This is really bad behaviour on envelopes, or i am missing something? (FIXED)

I want to select automation points and move them all at once, and when i try to this in one way this happens:

1) Multiple Segments are selected but just one is changing




2) in another way, The shape is altered if i drag the points to try to achieve the same




Am i missing something? :/
__________________
Some of my Requests : Pre Chain and Post Chain : Midi input reaching take instrument : Alias names for sends : Hide Specific sends on Sends Panel : please take care of the small workflow details ...

Last edited by deeb; 06-21-2021 at 06:48 AM.
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2021, 12:20 PM   #2
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 2,470
Default

Try dragging a point,
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2021, 12:32 PM   #3
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3,588
Default

thank you Edgemeal, that is what i have done in second gif, i think :|


here is another (i do undo after each operation)

__________________
Some of my Requests : Pre Chain and Post Chain : Midi input reaching take instrument : Alias names for sends : Hide Specific sends on Sends Panel : please take care of the small workflow details ...

Last edited by deeb; 06-13-2021 at 12:40 PM.
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2021, 04:12 AM   #4
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: [REDACTED]
Posts: 3,059
Default

i can't reproduce that right now, but it looks very familiar to behavior i've experienced in the past. what are your snap settings, deeb?

edit: check this out, once i move over the halfway point to the next snappable grid line, i get that diagonal envelope curve. it looks to me like your grid is set to snap at a much smaller interval than mine, and that you have a much smaller vertical hit area over which to move your dragged envelope points?

__________________
** the bugs that bite the hardest - one crustacean's compilation.
my repo - [action-based razor edit control]
automation "return speed" is unwanted envelope modification
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2021, 05:58 AM   #5
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 11,850
Default

This is a bug, that is triggered when vertically moving multiple sets of selected envelope points with no transition time to unselected points. Fixing for the next build, thanks for the report.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2021, 06:16 AM   #6
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3,588
Default

mccrabney. Thank you! now i see i had grid lines disabled. So it's all about Reaper odd behaviour of changing everything randomly (in user perspective).

This is terrible, i could bet this behaviour has no use for anyone, unless they want random envelopes:



I wonder:
1) What is the benefit of this automation movements? they are totally random, in a place which by it's nature is already very detailed and deep and tiring, and reaper makes them even more by making all this strange things :/
Could we have it simple? i mean - normal?

2) why Multiple Segments which are selected don't change together !
It's frustrating.

__________________
Some of my Requests : Pre Chain and Post Chain : Midi input reaching take instrument : Alias names for sends : Hide Specific sends on Sends Panel : please take care of the small workflow details ...
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2021, 07:23 AM   #7
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: [REDACTED]
Posts: 3,059
Default

nice - thanks, schwa.

Quote:
2) why Multiple Segments which are selected don't change together !
agreed here, i think that "move envelope segment / (&+ ignoring time selection)" should move all selected envelope points when multiple points are already selected.

for comparison, it's similar to selecting several audio items and pulling down 1 volume handle -- it's expected for this action to have results on all selected items.
__________________
** the bugs that bite the hardest - one crustacean's compilation.
my repo - [action-based razor edit control]
automation "return speed" is unwanted envelope modification
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2021, 07:53 AM   #8
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3,588
Default

^^ yes thank you schwa.

as far i am experienced this could be the default, and still it doesn't exist in reaper? i know reaper is a complex ecosystem and i don't know how you can deal with so many details .. Big big respect .. but maybe this is missing?

__________________
Some of my Requests : Pre Chain and Post Chain : Midi input reaching take instrument : Alias names for sends : Hide Specific sends on Sends Panel : please take care of the small workflow details ...

Last edited by deeb; 06-14-2021 at 08:03 AM.
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.