Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER General Discussion Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-23-2018, 08:28 PM   #1
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,939
Default any idea why my rendering for insert subproject is empty?

like it happens here:



Gif show file->render working ok, but when clicking "insert new subpeoject" the render result is empty. Any tip what i am missing?

Thank you!
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2018, 01:23 AM   #2
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 579
Default

Because your subproject doesn't contain anything yet.
__________________
Magnus Lindberg Productions - VRTKL Audio - Redmount Studios
magnuslindberg.com
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2018, 06:53 AM   #3
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,939
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlprod View Post
Because your subproject doesn't contain anything yet.
ahh i see! Got it! Thank you! my interpretation was not good!. i thought the render would be a copy of the main signal to be used as reference in the subproject. Anyway! I wonder why it tries to render everytime i do "insert new" since it will always be empty.
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2018, 07:22 AM   #4
Xenakios
Human being with feelings
 
Xenakios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 7,455
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deeb View Post
I wonder why it tries to render everytime i do "insert new" since it will always be empty.
It needs an audio file rendered from the subproject. (The RPP-PROX file.) It probably could be optimized to not generate that silent file but generating a file containing just silence should not be taking a long time anyway. (Does it take for you...? edit : hmm, OK, for a new 10 minute subproject it actually takes a considerable time for me, with a subproject with 4 channel master output.)

edit2 : I made a feature request to optimize it :

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=211475
__________________
For info on SWS Reaper extension plugin (including Xenakios' previous extension/actions) :
http://www.sws-extension.org/
https://github.com/Jeff0S/sws
--
Xenakios blog (about HourGlass, Paul(X)Stretch and λ) :
http://xenakios.wordpress.com/

Last edited by Xenakios; 09-24-2018 at 07:41 AM.
Xenakios is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2018, 08:08 AM   #5
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,939
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xenakios View Post
Does it take for you...? edit : hmm, OK, for a new 10 minute subproject it actually takes a considerable time for me, with a subproject with 4 channel master output.)
Anything counts to be coherent and efficient! altho i don't use subprojects at the moment as i still didn't find a use for me.
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2018, 07:38 PM   #6
woogish
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 427
Default

check your hidden folders............
woogish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.