Old 07-18-2018, 10:10 AM   #1
Mordi
Human being with feelings
 
Mordi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 402
Default Add button to reinitialize audio driver

Sometimes I forget to turn on my audio interface before starting Reaper. This leads to the "Error initializing audio driver" window appearing. The only thing that works is to restart Reaper, it seems.

This is just a small nitpick, but it would be cool to have a button that says "Reinitialize driver" either in that little window or in the upper right corner where the driver info is.

Mordi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2018, 11:04 AM   #2
Aeolian
Human being with feelings
 
Aeolian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Somewhere PRO
Posts: 928
Default

There is such a button, and its usually labeled "Restart Computer"

I think reaper has built in protection for when the interface driver crashes, or isn't connected... Reaper simply disconnects, and doesn't crash with it.
In my experience, almost all other daws will instantly crash hard if you do this.

Launching reaper without the interface connected (esp USB1 or USB2) seems to invoke reaper to ignore it ... and the only fix is a hard reboot.
__________________
Resistors are futile, you will be simulated ...
Aeolian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2018, 02:49 PM   #3
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Axis Mundi
Posts: 4,510
Default

Strange. All i have to do to initialize the driver after turning the device on is hit play, and I regularly switch between several ASIO devices.
__________________
TwilightMysterySchool

Last edited by foxAsteria; 07-19-2018 at 03:33 PM.
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2018, 01:44 AM   #4
Masi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 447
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxAsteria View Post
Strange. All i have to do to initialize the driver after turning the device on is hit play, and I regularly switch between several ASIO devices.
I have to restart Reaper as a well.

Masi
Masi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2018, 12:06 PM   #5
Mordi
Human being with feelings
 
Mordi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 402
Default

foxAsteria: Huh, that actually works. I never knew.

Anyway, the retry button seems to be coming in the next version. Super cool!

v5.94rc1

Last edited by Mordi; 07-31-2018 at 12:14 PM.
Mordi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2018, 11:50 PM   #6
sievr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 112
Default

i requested that also
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=204043
sievr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.