Old 09-27-2019, 01:57 AM   #1
azslow3
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Heidelberg, Germany
Posts: 729
Default SF2 VST3i synth for Linux/Windows

(the second attempt to post, sorry if it is a duplication)

I have wrapped FluidSynth into VST3 format and compiled it for Linux and Windows.
This VST3i can play "normal" MIDI files or can be used for sketching, the functionality I was completely missing on Linux in REAPER.

Binaries are in https://github.com/AZSlow3/FluidSynt...ree/master/bin
(the source is also there, it is GPL3 plug-in based on GPL3 Steinberg SDK and LGPL2.1 FluidSynth library)

Do not forget to download some GM SoundFond2 and put it into the same directory as "default.sf2". The synth has no GUI at the moment, so it simply silent if it can not find the sound file.
azslow3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2019, 06:08 AM   #2
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 1,906
Default

No win32 bit? Thanks for sharing, so you wanted to create something like SY-XG50? Or there is farbrausch V2 if you want less standard (midi) sounds. Meaning just a quick way of getting various sounds to play with, a set of sounds, in an uncomplicated manner, so you can concentrate on the music or composition but not the sound selection process. Ideal would be a combination of both, SY-XG50 + V2. Piano (more natural) you could get from the first, some more crazy synth bass like (more electronic) sounds from the second. Natural + electronic, both quickly.
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2019, 07:05 AM   #3
Glennbo
Human being with feelings
 
Glennbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 4,040
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by azslow3 View Post
(the second attempt to post, sorry if it is a duplication)

I have wrapped FluidSynth into VST3 format and compiled it for Linux and Windows.
This VST3i can play "normal" MIDI files or can be used for sketching, the functionality I was completely missing on Linux in REAPER.

Binaries are in https://github.com/AZSlow3/FluidSynt...ree/master/bin
(the source is also there, it is GPL3 plug-in based on GPL3 Steinberg SDK and LGPL2.1 FluidSynth library)

Do not forget to download some GM SoundFond2 and put it into the same directory as "default.sf2". The synth has no GUI at the moment, so it simply silent if it can not find the sound file.
Very cool Azslow! I already had the largest of the Fluid soundfont files so I had it up and running in a matter of seconds. I created a track template for REAPER that has a REAPER midi control VST set to GM followed by your plugin with "FluidR3 GM.SF2" loaded, so I can now just insert the track template any time I need to play a GM file.

Thanks for creating this and making it available for Linux!
__________________
Glennbo
Hear My Music - Click Me!!!
--
Glennbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2019, 08:17 AM   #4
azslow3
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Heidelberg, Germany
Posts: 729
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonE View Post
No win32 bit? Thanks for sharing, so you wanted to create something like SY-XG50? Or there is farbrausch V2 if you want less standard (midi) sounds. Meaning just a quick way of getting various sounds to play with, a set of sounds, in an uncomplicated manner, so you can concentrate on the music or composition but not the sound selection process. Ideal would be a combination of both, SY-XG50 + V2. Piano (more natural) you could get from the first, some more crazy synth bass like (more electronic) sounds from the second. Natural + electronic, both quickly.
Win32 I can compile, if needed. For other platforms (Apple,Arm) someone else can do it.

From intentional functionality it is like Yamaha SY-XG50 / Cakewalk TTS-1 / Roland Hyper Canvas / Creative SB MIDI / Microsoft MIDI. So something to play MIDI files prepared for GM (and extensions) sound set.

But technically it is different. SoundFont 2 is in fact a collection of presets for waveform based synth. The (well described) engine has some weak places, f.e. there is no round-robin. But it has filter, envelopes, LFO, etc. So SF2 files, unlike SY-XG50, do not have fixed set of sounds. There are several editors for that format. So it is more toward V2 you have mentioned.

F.e. see https://musescore.org/en/node/268237
309MB samples sound a bit more natural for me then 4MB (well, probably compressed and with professional processing, but still) SY-XG50 bank.

So far I have noticed a bit dis-balanced for some patched volumes and a need for compression, in direct comparison with TTS-1.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glennbo
Thanks for creating this and making it available for Linux!
Thanks for testing!
azslow3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2019, 08:48 AM   #5
Glennbo
Human being with feelings
 
Glennbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 4,040
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by azslow3 View Post
F.e. see https://musescore.org/en/node/268237
309MB samples sound a bit more natural for me then 4MB (well, probably compressed and with professional processing, but still) SY-XG50 bank.

So far I have noticed a bit dis-balanced for some patched volumes and a need for compression, in direct comparison with TTS-1.


Thanks for testing!
Grabbed the "SGM-v2.01-NicePianosGuitarsBass-V1.2.sf2" file from the link you provided and did a couple quick A/B tests playing some GM files. Sounds better than the 150MB FluidR3_GM.sf2 file I tried earlier. I don't need GM very often, but this will be a great way to deal with it in Linux. Thanks again!
__________________
Glennbo
Hear My Music - Click Me!!!
--
Glennbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2019, 10:24 PM   #6
s wave
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Colorado
Posts: 216
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by azslow3 View Post
(the second attempt to post, sorry if it is a duplication)

I have wrapped FluidSynth into VST3 format and compiled it for Linux and Windows.
This VST3i can play "normal" MIDI files or can be used for sketching, the functionality I was completely missing on Linux in REAPER.

Binaries are in https://github.com/AZSlow3/FluidSynt...ree/master/bin
(the source is also there, it is GPL3 plug-in based on GPL3 Steinberg SDK and LGPL2.1 FluidSynth library)

Do not forget to download some GM SoundFond2 and put it into the same directory as "default.sf2". The synth has no GUI at the moment, so it simply silent if it can not find the sound file.
very nice I have been running fluidsynth/qsynth as a separate set up. 1st of all thanks for doing this.. what is your process to set up for Linux Reaper? Just add it to where the VSTi files go? thx
s wave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2019, 12:56 AM   #7
azslow3
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Heidelberg, Germany
Posts: 729
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by s wave View Post
very nice I have been running fluidsynth/qsynth as a separate set up. 1st of all thanks for doing this.. what is your process to set up for Linux Reaper? Just add it to where the VSTi files go? thx
Yes, if your Linux is compatible, just put into some VSTi folder. And make a symbolic link "default.sf2" in the same directory, pointing to some sf2 file (if you are using fluidsynth there must be some already).
If it does not appear in the VST3i list, probably you need to recompile.
azslow3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2019, 04:18 AM   #8
horn
Human being with feelings
 
horn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cologne
Posts: 26
Default That's great

Quote:
Originally Posted by azslow3 View Post
I have wrapped FluidSynth into VST3 format and compiled it for Linux and Windows.
This VST3i can play "normal" MIDI files or can be used for sketching, the functionality I was completely missing on Linux in REAPER.
Wow, that's cool. I have always used VST Synthfont for this task. It works quite well, but under Linux/Wine you have to use an old version, the new ones don't work anymore. With your tool this workaround is no longer necessary. Thank you very much.
__________________
Käptn Horn

Last edited by horn; 10-18-2019 at 04:44 AM.
horn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2019, 09:37 AM   #9
Tobbe
Human being with feelings
 
Tobbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Backe, Jämtland, Sweden
Posts: 379
Question

I must be completely stupid. I don't get it where to put my sf2 files. Is it in my .vst3 directory or where? I have tons of sf2 on external hardrive.

"Put it as "default.sf2" into the same directory" does it mean that every sf2 file has to be named default.sf2?

I have the synth here: /home/tobbe/.vst3/FluidSynthVST/ and it showing up in Reaper.

Thanks
__________________
OS: Linux Mint XFCE 19.01, Reaper For Linux (64Bit) and native linux-vst plugins (16GB RAM) LSP-Suite, Drumgizmo, TpL-Plugins, LinuxSampler/Fantasia, Behringer U-PHORIA UMC22.
Tobbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2019, 09:53 AM   #10
Glennbo
Human being with feelings
 
Glennbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 4,040
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tobbe View Post
I must be completely stupid. I don't get it where to put my sf2 files. Is it in my .vst3 directory or where? I have tons of sf2 on external hardrive.

"Put it as "default.sf2" into the same directory" does it mean that every sf2 file has to be named default.sf2?

I have the synth here: /home/tobbe/.vst3/FluidSynthVST/ and it showing up in Reaper.

Thanks
The idea is to put *one* General Midi soundfont in the same folder as the synth and the name of the soundfont needs to be default.sf2

Then when you add the plugin, it will load with the General Midi soundfont ready to go, which makes it a General Midi VST.
__________________
Glennbo
Hear My Music - Click Me!!!
--
Glennbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2019, 10:52 AM   #11
Tobbe
Human being with feelings
 
Tobbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Backe, Jämtland, Sweden
Posts: 379
Talking

Got it! Thanks GlennMan
__________________
OS: Linux Mint XFCE 19.01, Reaper For Linux (64Bit) and native linux-vst plugins (16GB RAM) LSP-Suite, Drumgizmo, TpL-Plugins, LinuxSampler/Fantasia, Behringer U-PHORIA UMC22.
Tobbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2019, 01:32 AM   #12
azslow3
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Heidelberg, Germany
Posts: 729
Default

Current version support soundfont selection, but all of them should be in the same folder as this vst3. That works fine with symbolic links on Linux.

On Windows there are some issues. I have not managed to make working symlinks and on one computer the plug-in does not pickup correct file/restore set file. To be solved.
azslow3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2019, 04:33 AM   #13
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 8,018
Default

In Win10, hence off-topic here:

I don't see anything but the naked (Reaper generated) parameter UI, and even after moving an appropriately renamed sf2 file in the VST3 folder I don't get a sound, either.
I moved FluidSynthVST and the sf2 directly in VST3. Should I use a subdirectory ?

How is FluidSynth to get a GUI ? Is that part to the sf2 file ? Are there such files publicly available for testing ? Hopefully such GUI will not only show parameters but activity, as well...

-Michael
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2019, 08:58 AM   #14
azslow3
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Heidelberg, Germany
Posts: 729
Default

EDIT: all up to the moment bugs are fixes, plug-in should be able to load different sound fonts as desired (on both platforms)

For GUI: there is no GUI.

PS. Many MIDI files sound better with Timbres Of Heaven font. But some old MIDI, written for SoundBlaster and alike output, sound more authentic with PRO7USE-GM-Basic

Last edited by azslow3; 10-19-2019 at 02:06 PM.
azslow3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.