Old 11-22-2015, 03:26 AM   #1
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2,337
Default ReaPack: Package Manager for REAPER (developer thread)

This thread raised idea of creating common library of stuff, made by REAPER users.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cfillion View Post
ReaPack v1.0
Announcement thread at https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=177978
Official website: http://reapack.com/
X-Raym article about ReaPack
Video from REAPER Blog

-- old post --
If Cockos include JS from community members, why them not include scripts, extensions, etc. And which way including third-party JS in official release was in the past?
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts discussion | ReaPack | Donate

Last edited by mpl; 11-16-2018 at 06:46 AM. Reason: ReaPack related issues
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2015, 04:44 AM   #2
planetnine
Human being with feelings
 
planetnine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 7,585
Default

I suppose if a script exists to do something, it doesn't need to be added natively. A JSFX is not added like that, but just added to the distribution (and only particular, really good/useful JSFX achieve this).

Is there any point in adding scripts that are already available? Due to the complexity comparison and likelyhood of scripts being updated, it doesn't seem worth adding the potential management task of having scripts distributed. The really good stuff should be in SWS for the masses anyway -should that be your next step mpl..?



>
planetnine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2015, 05:19 AM   #3
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2,337
Default

SWS is C++ which I only started to learn, unfortunately. Yep, i guess it is next stage of getting work things I dream about (full mouse control, get/send OSC from script level, working with base64 etc until all of this currently not supported natively because of different reasons)

Good thing is SWS positioning itself this way:
Quote:
The SWS / S&M extension is a collection of features that seamlessly integrate into REAPER
I mean, this not says "SWS is C++ only" and it could contains scripts also.

I already talked with X-Raym about common scripts library, but we haven`t actually some kind of friendship beetween scripters as SWS have (because of donation reasons maybe). If spk77, HeDa, X-Raym, airon and you maybe say "Yes, we want to be a part a big thing", I could create a repo of our scripts in GitHub and give username/password to all of you guys (to give you possibility to edit your part of repo as you want + maybe create related thread in forum as SWS have + links for donation for each member + links to source repos or reaper stash links), so we will have awesome scripts library which can be a new SWS part if it will be OK for SWS developers OR to be a new "extension" (not C++, wide meaning), which I found better and more logical and independent than if it was part of SWS.

Quote:
I suppose if a script exists to do something, it doesn't need to be added natively.
Yes, if you know where to search. Imagine if every part of SWS was scattered across Internet. I guess, even cool things wouldn`t be popular like today. I didn`t mean to add it natively, but as a script (also editable as JS), sorry for bad explanation.

And I guess, Notation editor is schwa Lua script? If so, why not add at least simple scripts for learning basic things and for quick overview what scripts can do actions can't. This could be itemfft.lua from lol, some of X-Raym scripts etc. As Breeder says somethere (and I totally agree with him), scripts is future of Reaper. It is quickly editable, easy to learn, easy to build something from scratch even without closing Reaper and opening external editor.

So, I think, we must create a collaboration at least to have all we did in one place. Because if we will not, other people will do that, and I`m not sure it will looks good. I already saw these thoughts on russian forum and private talks with reaper users.
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts discussion | ReaPack | Donate

Last edited by mpl; 11-22-2015 at 10:55 AM.
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2015, 08:15 AM   #4
JHughes
Human being with feelings
 
JHughes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Too close to Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,271
Default

I hope you guys do manage to come together as a team.
__________________
You can only Reverse, Switch, Invert or Flip POLARITY, not "PHASE".
JHughes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2015, 10:55 AM   #5
planetnine
Human being with feelings
 
planetnine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 7,585
Default

If it starts as a common area in GitHub to put scripts for people to find easily, I'm up for it. Not all of my scripts ever make it out of beta but I create them for stimulation for other scripters or my own workflows anyway (I'm no great or even trained programmer). If all it takes is to set up a GitHub account at no cost, do it and count me in.

To keep this on proper formal Golgafrincham design committee guidelines, what shall we call ourselves and what colour will it be?



>
planetnine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2015, 11:12 AM   #6
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2,337
Default

Hmm, maybe this:
User ReaScripts collection
ReaScripts User Library
REAPER Scripts
User Scripts for REAPER

Though to have any script direct address as clear as possible I would name it just ReaScripts. I imagine this should looks like this:
mpl
  • FX
  • Items
  • etc
X-Raym
  • Color
  • Item properties
  • etc
planetnine
  • if there is no directory, leave files in folder
I first though it should be only one folder with categories without sorting by scripter name. But repo categorized by scripter name makes possible to quickly update from original repo (for example if someone wants to have own repo at previous place), and also it is better for user to see which one he wants to donate for mostly useful stuff.
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts discussion | ReaPack | Donate
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2016, 02:42 AM   #7
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 7,182
Default

This extension with scripts is just awesome.

One question:
When I've imported all the stuff,
are they automatically added to Action list?
I can't seem to find them,
but when importing action it says it's already there.

Note: I ran the mpl clean scripts
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
G-Sun.no - Music Blog - My music

Last edited by G-Sun; 03-01-2016 at 02:49 AM.
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2016, 09:41 AM   #8
semiquaver
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 4,909
Default

Mods please sticky this thread !!
semiquaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2016, 09:48 AM   #9
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2,337
Default

G-sun, when you enable repo in "Manage repositories" window, all scripts should be added to action list.

What do you mean by "clean scripts"?
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts discussion | ReaPack | Donate
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2016, 11:44 AM   #10
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 7,182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mpl View Post
G-sun, when you enable repo in "Manage repositories" window, all scripts should be added to action list.

What do you mean by "clean scripts"?
Hm.. strange

I ran "mpl_Delete non-existent scripts from Action List.lua"

When I eg. filter on mapping panel nothing shows up (main)
Then,
Reascript > new
navigate to it
double click
ah.. save as prompt
ok, should be "load"

But, still need to load one by one it seems.
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
G-Sun.no - Music Blog - My music

Last edited by G-Sun; 03-01-2016 at 11:55 AM.
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2016, 11:53 AM   #11
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 7,182
Default

Uninstalled all the packs,
but..
how do I get them back?

Tried new Reapack, but, all gone ??
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
G-Sun.no - Music Blog - My music
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2016, 12:01 PM   #12
zoreille
Human being with feelings
 
zoreille's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: In hell
Posts: 6
Default HELP!!

hi,

help !!! i get this message error !!

please
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Sans titre.jpg (33.6 KB, 113 views)
__________________
Haaaaaan !!!!
zoreille is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2016, 12:09 PM   #13
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2,337
Default

G-Sun, that is old script, it was done when we hadn`t action list related APIs, I just forgot to delete it from my repo.

__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts discussion | ReaPack | Donate
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2016, 12:16 PM   #14
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 7,182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mpl View Post
G-Sun, that is old script, it was done when we hadn`t action list related APIs, I just forgot to delete it from my repo.

Ok.
Thanks for the gif,
but when I uninstalled the entries in that list they disappeared..
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
G-Sun.no - Music Blog - My music
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2016, 12:28 PM   #15
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2,337
Default

G-Sun,
Quote:
when I uninstalled the entries in that list they disappeared
So what`s problem?

cfillion, I deleted "mpl_Delete non-existent scripts from Action List.lua", and now it is deleted from my github. I checked/indexed/commited to index. Now, is that possible to remove script when syncronising package (as deprecated)?
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts discussion | ReaPack | Donate
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2016, 12:30 PM   #16
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 2,542
Default

@G-Sun
Are you using REAPER v5.12 or more recent? The scripts cannot be added in the action list with older REAPER versions.
Since you uninstalled the repositories, you can bring them back (resetting ReaPack to its default settings) by deleting "reapack.ini" from REAPER's resource directory.

@zoreille
You seem to have installed build7 which used a slightly different data format. Delete "registry.db" from <REAPER resource folder>/ReaPack and retry (this won't be necessary in the future).

Last edited by cfillion; 03-01-2016 at 09:37 PM.
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2016, 01:16 PM   #17
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 2,542
Default

@mpl I plan to do a "Cleanup packages" feature to list and remove installed obsolete packages.

While obsolete files are automatically deleted on syncronization (eg. a png picture that is not required anymore), whole packages are not:
I would not want a script I'm using everyday to suddendly disappear after an update.

---

For some reason "mpl_Delete non-existent scripts from Action List.lua" was not deleted from your repository's index, looking into that...
EDIT: Did you run reapack-index after creating the commit that removed the script?

@daxliniere Thanks for the feedback, I'll take some time to think about that.

Last edited by cfillion; 03-01-2016 at 09:37 PM.
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2016, 01:44 PM   #18
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 7,182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cfillion View Post
@G-Sun
Are you using REAPER v5.12 or more recent? The scripts cannot be added in the action list with older REAPER versions.
Since you uninstalled the repository, you can bring them back (resetting ReaPack to it's default settings) by deleting "reapack.ini" from REAPER's resource directory.
v5.15
Ok, that will do the trick I guess
Thanks!
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
G-Sun.no - Music Blog - My music
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2016, 05:11 AM   #19
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 7,182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cfillion View Post
@G-Sun
Are you using REAPER v5.12 or more recent? The scripts cannot be added in the action list with older REAPER versions.
Since you uninstalled the repositories, you can bring them back (resetting ReaPack to its default settings) by deleting "reapack.ini" from REAPER's resource directory.
Worked excellent.
Now I see all the actions showing up as well.
Maybe I was just unlucky with some odd actions last time.
Thanks!
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
G-Sun.no - Music Blog - My music
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2016, 04:18 AM   #20
daxliniere
Human being with feelings
 
daxliniere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mpl View Post
This thread raised idea of creating common Library of scripts, written by REAPER users.

So we already have:[LIST=1][*]An awesome extension (beta) by cfillion - download/sync/add scripts[*]at least 3 github repos can be used with this extension
Hey Mikhail, can you please correct the first link in your first post?
Cheers!
__________________
Dax Liniere
London's newest premium studio complex! (Facebook)
[i7-4790K, 12Gb RAM, Win8.1x64, NVidia 9600, UAD2-OCTO, FireFaceUFX, REAPER x64]
daxliniere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2016, 05:23 AM   #21
daxliniere
Human being with feelings
 
daxliniere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

Hey Christian, with latest version I have this message:

Code:
ReaPack â€" Fatal Error
The following error occured while creating a transaction:

table entries has no column names author
I'm sure it's a local database version incompatibility, but I'm not sure how to fix it. (Perhaps ReaPack should automatically fix it?)


Also, some little things about that message:
-remove â€" from window title
-occurred has 2 Rs
-'has' should be 'have'
(-maybe 'names' should be 'named'??)


Thanks again!
__________________
Dax Liniere
London's newest premium studio complex! (Facebook)
[i7-4790K, 12Gb RAM, Win8.1x64, NVidia 9600, UAD2-OCTO, FireFaceUFX, REAPER x64]
daxliniere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2016, 05:28 AM   #22
IXix
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: mcr:uk
Posts: 3,353
Default

Okay, looking at this now. First question...

Can you install scripts to different sections? I tried installing the spk77 midi velocity tool but it ends up in the Main section so the midi editor won't let me put it on a toolbar button. Obviously I could manually set it up but that rather defeats the point of the extension.
IXix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2016, 05:36 AM   #23
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2,337
Default

IXix, it should be moved from "Various" to "MIDI_Editor" folder. Will be done later.
All scripts from "MIDI_Editor" automatically go to MIDI Editor section.
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts discussion | ReaPack | Donate
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2016, 09:10 AM   #24
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 2,542
Default

@daxliniere Looks like <REAPER Resource Path>/ReaPack/registry.db was created using v0.8's format. Delete it so it can be recreated for v0.9+ (compatible with latest v0.10 as well).

Quote:
Originally Posted by daxliniere View Post
Also, some little things about that message:
-remove â€" from window title
-occurred has 2 Rs
-'has' should be 'have'
(-maybe 'names' should be 'named'??)
Thanks! Fixed â€", the typo in occurred, and a big bug in string handling on windows (found while trying to figure out where the S in "named" could have come from)!

has -> That's SQLite's message, won't fix. EDIT: It's actually third person singular: "entries" just happens to be the name of the table.
names -> Scary mystery. Don't know where the D went. It's there in the code (sqlite's), and it displays fine on my computer (and here). It might be some kind of memory corruption bug...

Last edited by cfillion; 04-23-2016 at 10:56 AM.
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2016, 10:56 AM   #25
IXix
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: mcr:uk
Posts: 3,353
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mpl View Post
IXix, it should be moved from "Various" to "MIDI_Editor" folder. Will be done later.
All scripts from "MIDI_Editor" automatically go to MIDI Editor section.
Ah, okay. Thanks.
IXix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2018, 06:05 AM   #26
earhax
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 127
Default

Is there some way to manually install the ReaPack packages? I am able to load the xml files when I visit the links in my web browser (Chrome). But when ReaPack tries to connect to download the packages when using "browse packages", I see the following error:

earhax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2018, 06:46 AM   #27
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 2,542
Default

Does your network requires connections to go through a proxy server? You can tell ReaPack to use a proxy in Manage repositories > Options > Network settings.

Maybe try internet explorer or Edge since that's a bit closer than Chrome to how ReaPack connects to internet on Windows. (Otherwise yes you can still download the resources manually the old fashioned way by going to the various repositories' pages...)

Last edited by cfillion; 11-16-2018 at 08:02 AM.
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2018, 06:49 AM   #28
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2,337
Default

Updated name of thread (it was renamed long time ago, but now seems it is possible to rename threads without moderator)
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts discussion | ReaPack | Donate
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2018, 07:42 AM   #29
earhax
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 127
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cfillion View Post
Does your network requires connections to go through a proxy server (and/or VPN)? You can tell ReaPack to use a proxy in Manage repositories > Options > Network settings.

Maybe try internet explorer or Edge since that's a bit closer than Chrome to how ReaPack connects to internet on Windows. (Otherwise yes you can still download the resources manually the old fashioned way by going to the various repositories' pages...)
Eureka! Yes, the organization uses a proxy server. Once I entered that in network settings, it worked! Thanks!
earhax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.