Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > MIDI Hardware, Control Surfaces, and OSC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-12-2021, 08:41 PM   #41
flipotto
Human being with feelings
 
flipotto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: VA
Posts: 885
Default

Is there a windows binary for this tool?
flipotto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2021, 10:10 PM   #42
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 14,694
Default

OSCIIBot ?

of course.

-Michael
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2021, 12:48 AM   #43
flipotto
Human being with feelings
 
flipotto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: VA
Posts: 885
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
OSCIIBot ?

of course.

-Michael
I mean JacksonBrown's modified version, I looked an maybe I missed it...
I'll look again.


I see it now, are there any x32 scripts?

Last edited by flipotto; 06-13-2021 at 12:57 AM.
flipotto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2021, 06:09 AM   #44
flipotto
Human being with feelings
 
flipotto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: VA
Posts: 885
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
OSCIIBot ?

of course.

-Michael
Do you have a script for the X32?
flipotto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2021, 02:26 PM   #45
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 14,694
Default

No.

But anyway, what should that script do ?

-Michael
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2021, 04:24 PM   #46
flipotto
Human being with feelings
 
flipotto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: VA
Posts: 885
Default

I want to send this message to the X32

Code:
/config/routing/routswitch ,t
Ideally, I would send it via a lua script for reaper to X32
however, I don't think it can?????
flipotto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2021, 05:03 PM   #47
EcBaPr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 402
Default

I'm still a novice with this stuff but maybe this will work for OSCii ?


@output ToX32 OSC "xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:10023"

@init

oscsend (ToX32,"t/config/routing/routswitch", 1);




also if you want to maintain the OSC connection to X32 you have to send /xremote every 10 seconds or less.. an earlier post in this thread describes how to do that..

Last edited by EcBaPr; 06-14-2021 at 05:24 PM.
EcBaPr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2021, 05:18 PM   #48
flipotto
Human being with feelings
 
flipotto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: VA
Posts: 885
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EcBaPr View Post
I'm still a novice with this stuff but maybe this will work for OSCii ?


@output ToX32 OSC "xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:10023"

@init

oscsend (ToX32,"t/config/routing/routswitch", 1);




also if you want to maintain the OSC connection to X32 you have to send /xremote every 10 seconds or less.. an earlier post in this thread describes how to do that..

Thank you.
This would connect to x32, send it once, after 10s it would disconnect?
How would I get osciibot to send the other message (ToX32,"t/config/routing/routswitch", 0);
Would that mean closing osciibot and opening it again with a different script with the 0 command?

I did try using x32 live toolbox and can send the message that way and it does do what I want, but that doesn't seem a good way to go...
I'm trying to get from a .lua script to toggle this state on the mixer.
I'm stumbling around in the dark...

I did find https://sites.google.com/site/patric...h.mhn8x1dr8s3w
x32midi2osc - but would still need to figure out how to generate and send a midi message in lua..

Maybe I'm in over my head...
flipotto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2021, 05:54 PM   #49
EcBaPr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 402
Default

I think you need to send the /xremote command first also...

@output ToX32 OSC "xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:10023"

@init

oscsend(ToX32, "/xremote");
oscsend (ToX32,"t/config/routing/routswitch", 1);



then it should send that command once when you load the script (I think).. it will disconnect after 10 secs unless you send /xremote again..

if you want to toggle routswitch from a midi message you also need to setup the midi input at the top of the script @input and then under @oscmsg query the midi input with another command which I think its match() ?

I don't use OSCii with midi only with OSC so I'm not sure how to do this but if you can find an existing script that converts midi input to output then you could probably just take the input query and use the oscsend line I listed for the output..

also if you just want to toggle a footswitch cant you save a snippet in X32 and then load it via midi ? I might be wrong but I recall seeing something that looked like you could load snippets from midi ?

also there is another program I saw a while back, Ive never used it but it looked like it might provide an easy node style interface..

https://www.luminosus.org/

Last edited by EcBaPr; 06-15-2021 at 06:43 PM.
EcBaPr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2021, 06:48 PM   #50
flipotto
Human being with feelings
 
flipotto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: VA
Posts: 885
Default

I have gone far off the OP, SORRY!
Thank you for thoughts.

The snippet idea is interesting.
I have not worked with them at all... perhaps that could work.
I need to look and see if I could just recall the routing only...
Do you know what midi cc will trigger a snippet?

I was just experimenting with
Code:
function Main()
  reaper.StuffMIDIMessage(0,    -- virt keyboard
                          0xBF, -- CC statusbyte midi ch 1-16 (0xB0 to 0xBF=16) 
                          88,   -- CC number 
                          127)  -- CC value
  end
Main()
I can get this code to send a midi cc to virt midi keyboard
(taken from https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=186540)
I can send this midi to I/O route to midi hardware out...
then try to use the x32midi2osc to convert the message to osc to trigger the change on the mixer.
Wow-that seems tedious and overly complicated. (aka a bad idea...)
Maybe - I could send the midi from my script above to the mixer to change the snippet...
This could be problematic because I use the x32 as daw remote control surface as an mcu with klinke's csurf plugin.
Hmm...

EDIT - does not appear that I can trigger a snippet from midi.
https://behringerwiki.musictribe.com...ementation.pdf
Scenes correspond to program changes, 1-100, however this is old firmware documentation...
I'll keep looking for v4 firmware.

EDI2 - Page 141 https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Snb...hbJpIpD0a/view
Program change 0-99 will - depending on midi channel change scenes or snippets
midi ch 1 = Scenes
midi ch 2 = Snippets
I should be able to save a snippet with routing, hopefully it will remember the PLAY/RECORD toggle - seems like it should.
Code:
--- Send out pc midi message to virtual midi keyboard ----
function Main()
  -- can use decimal or hex 
  midi_out    = 0      -- 0 = virt_keyboard (need to figure out how to send other midi)
  statusbyte  = 0xC0   -- pc statusbyte midi ch 2 (0xC0=1 to 0xCF=16)
  data1       = 0      -- 0-99, 1=2
  data2       = 0      -- not used in pc message - used in other messages
  reaper.StuffMIDIMessage(midi_out,    -- virt keyboard
                          statusbyte+1,-- midi chan 2 
                          data1+1,     -- program change # 1
                          data2)       -- not used in pc message
end
Main()
I have an experiment for tomorrow!
If this works, I won't need osc at all!
Thanks

Last edited by flipotto; 06-14-2021 at 08:01 PM. Reason: update information
flipotto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2021, 10:18 PM   #51
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 14,694
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flipotto View Post
I want to send this message to the X32

Code:
/config/routing/routswitch ,t
Ideally, I would send it via a lua script for reaper to X32
however, I don't think it can?????
ReaPack -> ReaLearn can send OSC messages and can be triggered by a huge lot of types of events that it detects in Reaper-.

Maybe this is an easier way to go than via some dedicated LUA script and OSCIIBot.
-Michael
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2021, 04:52 AM   #52
flipotto
Human being with feelings
 
flipotto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: VA
Posts: 885
Default

Thanks, lots of reading to do on Realearn!
flipotto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2021, 05:48 AM   #53
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 14,694
Default

Yep its very versatile ... and still growing even more very fast.
-Michael
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2021, 08:59 AM   #54
EcBaPr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 402
Default

the reference i saw previously is you can send midi out of the X32 when you select a snippet in the mixer (which doesn't help you)... I'm not sure if you can do the reverse and take a midi input to select a snippet..
EcBaPr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2021, 04:45 AM   #55
flipotto
Human being with feelings
 
flipotto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: VA
Posts: 885
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EcBaPr View Post
...
also if you just want to toggle a footswitch cant you save a snippet in X32 and then load it via midi ? I might be wrong but I recall seeing something that looked like you could load snippets from midi ?
I confirm this works! Thank you!
I toggle midi program change #1,2 on midi chan 2 (See reference to Patrick's awesome osc doc, link above, where I found that data), via lua script (written by cfillion - thanks!) to toggle X32 REC / PLAY routing.
I did need to disable the pop-up prefs for scene load on setup > config page.
I don't know if anyone else will every want/need to do this?

The point of script is one part of - toggle, easily, mix in box(reaper) / on the console. I will document the entire process and in another post, I will link it here once I finish. Working title - X32 - Toggle mixing itb / on console.

Last edited by flipotto; 06-17-2021 at 04:51 AM.
flipotto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2021, 06:47 AM   #56
EcBaPr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 402
Default

nice.. funny what I had seen originally was only for X32 sending midi with snippet changes not changing snippets from midi input.. cool that it still led to finding the solution.

Patricks OSC document is extremely helpful..

Last edited by EcBaPr; 06-17-2021 at 06:58 AM.
EcBaPr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.